9/16 Durielle AMPS 200, +10 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Durielle

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=103974

I have kept Durie's dose a constant .05, even though some people feel it needs to be increased. The reason I have not upped it is due to low scores that Durie gets once every few days. For example, 54 at PMPS Sep 10 (no shot given), and 37/49 at AMPS Sep 13 (also no shot given).

Tonight, 2 hrs before pm shot, she's at 91. Ideally, she's gonna rise up to +130 by 8:30pm... but if she's low again, she'll have to skip the shot.
 
If I am recalling correctly, your situation was where you couldn't monitor a lot due to work.
I can see where Durielle needs a tad more juice but of course, needs you there to bring her up when she does her low thing.
It's a difficult predicament. So I start wondering what is holding her up.....

Are you still feeding ff chicken exclusively? Is there another cat who she could be stealing from or dog? ( mine will steal dog kibble if we leave it down)
 
Re: 9/16 Durielle AMPS 200, +10 91, PMPS 101

Hi there,
I guess what people are saying is that I should dose her higher, and risk that she may go low but hope that I'll catch it in time to carb her back up. That's a risky approach, which I'm not sure I can take on but I'll think about it. My notion was that, if the dose was correct she should not be going too low or too high... but that isn't quite happening.
As for feeding time, there has been no change in diet and no one steals food from her nor does she steal from others. I make sure to watch all my cats and I pick-up plates once they're done eating.

This PMPS her score was 101. I'm supposed to wait until she gets to 130 to shoot, but I can't keep delaying her shot-time. So instead of skipping it, I dosed literally 1-drop (even less than the .05 she's been getting). I'll see how she does by +3/+4.

I will definitely think about upping her dose, but it's a scary risk... if she drops while I'm out and I can't help her, she may be worse off.
 
hi jorge! i can imagine that would make you nervous. i know you have limited strips through DCIN, but i'm wondering if it's ever possible for you to catch the nadir? if you're gone for work during the day, can you ever get a night test in?

without that it's really hard to know what's going on with the dose.
 
Re: 9/16 Durielle AMPS 200, +10 91, PMPS 101

My testing strips are limited, but I can do a little more testing 1 day this week. I'll pick either Wed or Fri, and do testing every 3-4 hours to see what's happening. Thanks.
 
if i had limited strips, instead of doing a curve once and using (for example) 3 strips, i'd try to get one test, say a +4, +5 or +6 three nights in a row. it's just impossible to know how low the dose is taking her without the low points in the cycle and Lantus dosing is based off of the low point rather than the preshot.

the preshot test is important because it tells us that it's safe to shoot, but the low point or nadir is important because it tells us if the dose is appropriate or not.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top