9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181;+2=90;+3=81;+4=64;+4.5=63;+5=67,+6= 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Last night I noticed there was quite a bit of insulin left in the syringe after I shot Zeke. cat(2)_steam

Is today's PS due to that or MC I had to leave him last night while we were out?

Still seeing > 200 and today > 300. Time for an increase?

Here's yesterday's condo : Zeke 9/14
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - AMPS = 316, +2=367, +4=334

Sorry, I don't have any dosing advice, but I'm bumping you up...
I hope you guys are having a great day! :-D
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - AMPS = 316, +2=367, +4=334

I wouldn't increase yet. This looks like a bounce to me....even without the possibility of not giving a full dose or eating some MC food, the lower numbers you got during the PM cycle on the 13th and the AM cycle on the 14th are enough to cause a bounce.

I think I'd hold the same dose for several more cycles and make sure he'd cleared the bounce before thinking about an increase.
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181; +2 = 90

Just fed him 1 tsp LC. Will test again in 1 hour.
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181; +2 = 90

A little nervous because he dropped so much by +2. Feed him an additional tsp of 4% & %5 mix. OK to wait an hour and test at +3 do you think?
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181; +2 = 90

I might do a 2.5 or a 2.75, that's quite the drop. Good job on the LC but want to make sure it slowed him down some.

Looks like Zeke heard that threat about an increase. :lol:
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181; +2 = 90; +3 = 81

Thanks Marje. I'm looking over the directive you provided the other night to help guide me. I'm not doing the 30 minute testing yet. Sticking with just 1 tsp of food for now. Eager to see his +4 reading coming up in 20 minutes. Flat, drop or increase?
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181; +2 = 90; +3 = 81

If it's a drop, should I stick with the 1 tsp 4% LC? Of course if it's a considerable drop, 5% or 11 %?
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181; +2 = 90; +3 = 81; +4 = 64

I just gave him 1 tsp @ +4 = 64. Do you think that's enough food?

Should I do a +4.5 or is +5 ok instead?
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181; +2 = 90; +3 = 81; +4 = 64

Well, he laid down next to his bowl after the 1st tsp so I gave him another.
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181; +2 = 90; +3 = 81; +4 = 64

Sorry...had to test Gracie who also took a similar drop.

I'd give him a couple of tsp of LC and retest in 30. Maybe somewhere between a normal and heaping tsps.
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181; +2 = 90; +3 = 81; +4 = 64; @4.5 =

:-D :-D :-D so nice you have a carb sensitive kitty.

I think you could give him another tsp of LC and test in a hour. What do you think?
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181; +2 = 90; +3 = 81; +4 = 64; @4.5 =

I held back @ +4.5 and only gave 1 tsp. I'm thinking I'll test @ +5 and feed him another tsp with some salmon and then test @ +6. What do you think? Would that be ok?

BTW - If Zekey is carb sensitive then does that mean that we really, really, really need to keep the carb % of the food we regularly feed him as low as possible? Currently is the Wellness Turkey which is at 4%.
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181; +2 = 90; +3 = 81; +4 = 64; @4.5 =

THats good bcsuse I only wanted you to give him 1 tsp at +4.5 :-D

Your plan sounds food.

I think the WN 4% foods are great and what I feed Gracie routinely. Sometimes they need some carbs.
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181; +2 = 90; +3 = 81; +4 = 64; @4.5 =

Wow...guess Zeke was looking over your shoulder this morning when you were considering increasing!!

You're doing great and couldn't be in better hands than Marje :-D
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181;+2=90;+3=81;+4=64;+4.5=63; +5 = 67

Yes, Zeke and I are very grateful. Thanks Marje!

animated_cat_funny.gif
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181;+2=90;+3=81;+4=64;+4.5=63; +5 = 67

Very cute! I think he's in for a nice surf, you can feed him and give him an hour.

Please just be sure you get a rising number or two without food before you go to sleep.

You did great again, Laura. You should be proud of how far you have come in a short time.

Good night Laura and Zekey!
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181;+2=90;+3=81;+4=64;+4.5=63;+5=67,+6=

The progress I've made is largely due to you Marje. Thanks for being such a great teacher.

Well, looks like Zeke may be on the way back up. Gosh, I really tried to limit his food to just what I thought he needed to not drop too much. Do you see something I could have done differently for next time?

I'll be getting up at 4:30 AM to feed Zeke before his 2-hour PS fast. Do you think I could just take another reading @ +6.5? He hasn't eaten since @ +5.
 
Re: 9/15 Zeke - PMPS=181;+2=90;+3=81;+4=64;+4.5=63;+5=67,+6=

Laura....I'm sorry....I fell asleep :oops: :oops: don't worry...I never do that when kitties are low :-D

You were only feeding him LC so I don't think there is anything you could have done differently as we are gathering data. Next time, though, once we get him flat, we could try to hold out the food a little although we want to be sure he eats what he needs, right?

One way to do this is to figure out how many calories/day he needs to maintain his weight (if he's at a good weight). Normally about 20 calories/pound is a good place to start. Weigh him, feed him that a week, weigh...if he gained weight, cut back; lost weight, add food. Adjust if needed.

Or, if he's maintained a nice weight already, just calculate how many calories /day you are giving him and divide it into two portions....one for the morning cycle and one for the evening. Try to have all his food in him prior to nadir if possible because feeding after nadir slows down the effects of the Insulin.

It's trial and error on when and how much to feed. Some kitties free feed; this might work for him with his numbers. My goal has been to teach you how to handle dropping numbers and you've learned super fast. It will be interesting to see what foods he needs when his depot gets really full :-D hopefully just LC.

Thank you... :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: paying it forward :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top