Re: 9/15 Tigger AMPS 323
Have you considered holding, or even reducing the Lantus dose and upping the R?
I can't speak to the Acro side of things, however with the IAA it's important to remember that one day it will break.
My concern is that 18u ofo Lantus has created a shed the size of Lake Michigan. As an example, BK was at about 13.5u of Lantus in Oct. 2008. At that time my R scale was very aggressive-
400+ >>> 6.5u AM /PM PS, AM+6 -6.0u
375-400 > 6.0u AM /PM PS, AM+6 -6.0u
325-375 > 5.5u AM /PM PS, AM+6 -5.5u
250-325 > 5.0u AM /PM PS, AM+6 -5.0u
200-250 > 4.5u AM /PM PS, AM+6 -4.5u
180-200 > 4.0u AM /PM PS, AM+6 -3.5u
160-180 > 3.5u AM /PM PS, AM+6 -none
Under 160 - No R
Around the end of October 2008 things started changing. Because R does not have a shed, by not shooting R at that point I had an instant decrease of ~12u (based on the above scale) and less of a concern about any shed action keeping him too low. The ability to eliminate the R left me with just the Lantus dose/action to monitor and adjust. Had I been using a different Lantus to R ratio at the time the IAA broke It may have been a very different story.
With IAA the insulin binds to the antibodies. When it beaks, whatever antibodies happen to be around release the insulin that was bound to them - resulting in an increase of insulin of unknown quantity . Under those circumstances even if you skip a Lantus shot altogether, shed action from a huge shed plus the release of insulin from the antibodies could spell big trouble.
I want you to be aware of the potential consequences of a large shed at the point when the IAA breaks, which unfortunately is an unknown.
You said it yourself a while back, Hope for the best, plan for the worst.