Re: 9/15 Tibbs amps 433 pmps 363 detox? pls read amy's pos
Hi,
You don't know me from Adam, and I never used Lantus. But I wanted to point out a couple of things that other people have already mentioned in this thread.
First, the link to DCC -
That site advocates "detoxing", usually before insulin is started, or before going to a "TR" protocol. The key to me is the TR protocol they follow. It IS NOT the Roomp/Rand TR protocol that Lantus people use here. It is the Hodgkins TR Protocol. Dr. Hodgkins is a vet who recommends using Prozinc insulin rather than lantus or levemir. In fact, she claims (I don't agree) that Prozinc is the best choice, and she doesn't seem to put too much stock in the study that led to the creation of the R/R TR Protocol. The protocol on their site is primarily for Prozinc cats. IMHO, it's actually a lot more aggressive than the R/R protocol is.
The detox process they advise:
Depending on what your cat's current situation is; whether or not insulin has started, or what insulin dose your cat is currently receiving, and your cat's current health condition, you will either withhold insulin completely for up to 24 hours, or give significantly reduced doses for the first 24 hours, starting at the same time you change your cat over to an all wet, low carb diet.
It takes a short amount of time for carbs to completely leave the system.
24 hours is what they say it takes to detox the high carb food carbs. The other important thing - because they use Prozinc primarily, the 24 hours might be logical because Prozinc is NOT a depot insulin. There is no "shed" that needs to go away or drain.
Dr. Pierson says this about how long the carbs take to go away:
If you change your diabetic cat's diet to one with lower carbohydrates, he will, in all probability, IMMEDIATELY (not days or weeks later) require a reduction in his insulin dosage. He may also immediately go into 'remission' and not need any insulin at all.
So Dr. Lisa seems to agree that the carbs go away very quickly.
I agree and disagree with what Kay said:
I am not sure, because I've never seen it, that it can take a week or two for the carbs to disappear.
But I agree strongly that the only way to proceed safely when changing to a low carb diet is to test frequently in case the bottom does drop out all of a sudden on the BG numbers. And if you decide to stop or significanly lower the dose at any time, testing for ketones is pretty much a "must do".
I think what I would suggest is to keep doing what you're doing. It looks like you are using the "SLGS" protocol? I would probably let the numbers you get direct your next step(s) based on the guidelines set forth in SLGS.
Just my opinion. Like I said, I've never used Lantus. I do however get antsy whenever I see someone thinking about withholding or severely reducing insulin dosage because of ketones. Bob was DKA and on his way to a 2nd episode when he crossed the bridge last year.
Carl