9/15 Obie Amps 252, +7 47 ,+9 42, +10 58 Dosing ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Obie

Member Since 2014
I have no idea where he was at today, if he went lower or not.
I imagine I will either see a pretty blue number at shot time, or red and a high number.
The numbers above are from the Relion Confirm
The Numbers below are from the alphatrak 2
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... LSFE#gid=0
The Pet Meter reads like this 50,72,93 the 50 was between the 47 and 42 on the relion numbers.
He appears to be out of danger for now. Question: At what number should I skip his next shot at?
I was planning a .25 reduction since he went wacky with the numbers.
 
Re: 9/15 Obie Amps 252, +7 47

Congratulations on the dose reduction to 1.50.

I would test again 30 minutes after that 47 to make sure he's surfing or rising.
 
Re: 9/15 Obie Amps 252, +7 47

Awesome!
I am going to test him again at +8
He isn't showing any signs of hypoglycemia.
 
Re: 9/15 Obie Amps 252, +7 47

Just for your information, I would always test in 30 minutes with a number below 60, even though it is late in the cycle.
A cat can show no signs of hypoglycemia in the 30s or even 20s, but higher carb food should be given at that time, to get them up into the 50s or higher. Did you give him some food at +7?
 
Re: 9/15 Obie Amps 252, +7 47

Yes. He ate half a can of fancy feast.
I am going to test him in 10 minutes since he ate so much at 1:30 when I tested him.
I will post the numbers.
 
Re: 9/15 Obie Amps 252, +7 47

I couldn't get a relion reading, but I did get one on the Alphatrak2. He was at 50. The alphatrak 2 low is supposed to be 70.
I gave him some nutrical
 
Re: 9/15 Obie Amps 252, +7 47

Well, Mr. Obie, you are certainly on a mission!

Slow your roll buddy, we got lots of time!

It is hard to tell when/if he is gonna bounce from this one....I would suspect he will bounce, but he has been seeing the greens a bit more.....I will be curious to see where he goes....

I agree with Darin, you can't get complacent with a 47 even if he is not showing signs of a hypo, doesn't mean he isn't falling further down....once they get under 50 we want to be working to get them above 50 and staying above 50.....

Congrats on your newest reduction!
 
Re: 9/15 Obie Amps 252, +7 47

I will.
I am not used to seeing green. Red and pink seem to be his favorite colors.
 
Re: 9/15 Obie Amps 252, +7 47

You will learn to LOVE the greens soon enough......I have a feeling the red and the pink are things of the past for Mr. Obie (antijinx)
 
Re: 9/15 Obie Amps 252, +7 47

he was at 42 with the pet one and 72 with the Human one.
Should I skip his dose tonight?
 
Re: 9/15 Obie Amps 252, +7 47 ,+9 42

I have tons of strips and No plans to go anywhere.
He just ate some gravy heavy fancy feast and he is 3 hours away from his evening shot
 
Re: 9/15 Obie Amps 252, +7 47 ,+9 42

Test again at +9.5. If he's still in the 40s, give him some (a little) more food.
If he's in the 50s by +10, keep testing, but try to see how he does without food. Hopefully, he's rising by then.
 
Re: 9/15 Obie Amps 252, +7 47 ,+9 42

Focus on getting him above 50....I would say testing every 20-30 minutes at this point would be best as he is not going up....

I would get a +11 on him, regardless of any and all other testing you get in and then post with a ? icon and adding in the subject line DOSING ADVICE NEEDED....I would add a recap of all your testing per the ReliOn in the post (easy access) and see what the more experienced members have to say.....

Our motto is to shoot low to stay low....however since you are struggling to get him to get above 50, not sure if that would apply or if more than a .25 reduction would be in order as he is so close to the 30s mark.......
 
Re: 9/15 Obie Amps 252, +7 47 ,+9 42

he was at 58 on the relion and 93 on the Alphatrak 2.
 
Could you take a test at 11.5 and post it? That'll help us determine what to do tonight. Normally his new dose would be 1.5U.
 
I could but his poor ear is so sore and the other one doesn't bleed well. I am putting neosporin on it. I have to test him at the top of the hour and poke his ear again.
My vet told me to shoot him at anything over 100. I will get a 1.5u shot ready and post on here before I give it to him. I figure within 15 minutes with a 911 alert that you guys could help me.
if he is over 150 I will probably give him a big meal and shoot him up with the reduced shot.
Something tells me he will be in the upper 400's within a few hours.
 
You can always give him a higher carb meal if you want to boost him a bit.

Great day for Tobie today, lots of time in healing numbers. :mrgreen:
 
are you putting neosporin ointment with pain relief on his ear? that stuff is amazing and it will help immensely for a day like today.

You definitely want to reduce tonight to 1.5u because of the 40's. If you can gear your head up to shoot low, and you can monitor him, you are probably ok shooting on time. See how he does at pmps. Did you get a chance yesterday to read the link and look at the spreadsheet on the cats who have had their shot given on time, full regular dose, into normal numbers?

Here is your post from yesterday.

You may be right about him bounding - it wouldn't be a surprise if he were high by pmps.
 
I couldn't get the relion to read, but the PMPS was 244 on the alphatrak 2.
I gave him 1.5u
 
yea. I'm putting neosporin on his ears.
:) I re read that post about shooting low.
Thank you for that!
 
AT 244 is going to be about 170ish on the human meter. sometimes when cats start clearing bounces quickly, they'll go right back into green numbers again quickly. I'd get a +2 and see where he's headed tonight.
 
I'm at +3 right now and I fed him a pretty big meal about 20 minutes ago. I'll set my alarm and get up in an hour to see where he is at.
:) Thanks you again for your help and advice.
I am having a hard time staying awake right now.
 
go by what you see at +2, and you may be ok to call it a night. if he's still going up, it's probably the start of a bounce.

you can always leave plenty of food out, especially if you have any doubts about staying awake or waking up with your alarm. i know i've slept through more than one!

have a good night! great job today! :mrgreen:

i just reread your "it's already +3" comment - if he's higher now, before you go to bed, even if he's eaten, he's probably starting a bounce.

if his +3 is lower than preshot, then you have to pay more attention.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top