9/15 Nelli AMPS 255 +2.5 212 +5 159 +8.5 215 +11.5 212 PMPS 212 +2 192

9/14 condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-13-nelli-pmps-196-3-121-4-113.203116/#post-2253708
I used same meter ReliOn, two separate strips, one minute apart... 10:31a 111 & 10:32a 212? Wondering why? Which reading would you use?
I think it might depend on how much blood got into the test strip? That’s actually why I stopped using that meter- I would get results like that. (I might be going back to it though for financial reasons). Maybe those who use this meter consistently could advise further.
 
I use the Relion Prime and I have not had any real different readings like that. The point spread might be 6 -10 points different on the 2nd test.

It could be like Ana said the blood sample could have been too small for the lower reading?

Were there any test last night? Nothing is on the SS , I went to look to see what transpired last night to see which of those two readings made more sense.
 
I use the Relion Prime and I have not had any real different readings like that. The point spread might be 6 -10 points different on the 2nd test.

It could be like Ana said the blood sample could have been too small for the lower reading?

Were there any test last night? Nothing is on the SS , I went to look to see what transpired last night to see which of those two readings made more sense.
Yes. PMPS, +3, +4
 
Ok, I am back- no more interruptions :).
Good Lord. Happened again at +5 :(
One minute apart: 108 then a 159?
I (was!?!) on the last 10 ReliOn. I am wondering could it be the end of the bucket ones or... have the readings been incorrect throughout :nailbiting:?
Any advice or suggestions o_O
 
Yes. PMPS, +3, +4
Thanks for filling in the SS. With that information, my money is on the 212 being the correct number you got at +2. Looks like you went with that one on the SS so good reasoning power, Krystina. :) Sometimes we have to be detectives and see how the number fits in with the numbers preceding it and after it since these dang meters can be off by 20% + or -
 
Thanks for filling in the SS. With that information, my money is on the 212 being the correct number you got at +2. Looks like you went with that one on the SS so good reasoning power, Krystina. :) Sometimes we have to be detectives and see how the number fits in with the numbers preceding it and after it since these dang meters can be off by 20% + or -
Nelli Nadir was 159 today, the only blue showing so far :-\
I just went and bought more ReliOn strip this afternoon. I’m going to write off what happened over past 24 hours with strips- I want to stay with meter I’ve been using and not switch.
 
Correct me (plz :)) if I am wrong...
We are going to shoot 30 minutes earlier tonight, 7:30.
If I’d like to get a +11 I can do so now and record as such. In 30 minutes more I will do PMPS
THANKS
 
Correct me (plz :)) if I am wrong...
We are going to shoot 30 minutes earlier tonight, 7:30.
If I’d like to get a +11 I can do so now and record as such. In 30 minutes more I will do PMPS
THANKS
Oh Gosh, I can't tell by your SS. If you shot 30 minutes earlier this AMPS, then yes you would shot 30 minutes earlier tonight. I can't tell by your SS.

What is your regular time to shoot? And what times zone?
 
Correct me (plz :)) if I am wrong...
We are going to shoot 30 minutes earlier tonight, 7:30.
If I’d like to get a +11 I can do so now and record as such. In 30 minutes more I will do PMPS
THANKS
Did you shoot early this morning? You should only shoot 30 min early once a day. It actually looks to me like you shot late from your normal shot time.

If you are shooting early tonight to get back on your regular shot time, just record the early shot as ‘XXX @ 11.5” with XXX being the BG.

Normally on the SS, instead of having the actual time you shot, it helps to have it in hours since the last shot because we don’t really know what your normal shot time is....7:20, 7:40, 7:10, etc. If you need a column to keep track of when you shot in your local time, I can add a column for you but, for us in advising you, it helps us if the PS is recorded with the number of hours since the last shot unless it is at +12 or pretty close to it (I’d say 10 mins either way).

Just to let you know: we are getting to that dose (6u) where we recommend you have her tested for acro and IAA. I just want to put that out for you to think about. We can see how she does at 5.5u and 6u but then you might want to consider whether you want to have the tests done. It might be beneficial, especially with IAA, because if she has only IAA, it can be treated and broken through. It’s also self limiting after about a year.
 
Thanks Marje.
Yes, if you’d please add a column for me on time I shoot.
My life is profoundly tough right now. Nelli is my focus and gets, even if a sliver more, than any other- fires I’m trying to put out and hurdles to overcome.
I do not understand why she spent a good day in low blue then one green and now flat yellow again?
 
I do not understand why she spent a good day in low blue then one green and now flat yellow again?
She just might be hitting her dose. Marje gave you the heads up on "what if" she doesn't respond any better to this dose. Then there is the possibility to get her tested for IAA. BUT, she just might respond to this dose and start heading down. Let's see what happens. :)

I am thinking about one in particular, @Rob W. & Emmett . Look at his SS.
 
She just might be hitting her dose. Marje gave you the heads up on "what if" she doesn't respond any better to this dose. Then there is the possibility to get her tested for IAA. BUT, she just might respond to this dose and start heading down. Let's see what happens. :)

I am thinking about one in particular, @Rob W. & Emmett . Look at his SS.
You are TRULY a breathe of fresh air :).
 
Hi Krystina, I use the Relion Confirm - and have had really crazy results some times. I bought a second one - and I keep it in the drawer when things look odd - and while I've got that blood drop (on her ear)...I load up a test strip and try again - usually the number is more like her other numbers. Also have gotten weird results when I didn't get a big enough drop or a drop that's too big...those strips tend to be touchy like that - don't overload, make sure to get the right sized drop (whatever that is)...just enough for the strip to 'slurp' it up.

Luci is struggling with her dose now too...don't feel alone :)
 
Hi Krystina, I use the Relion Confirm - and have had really crazy results some times. I bought a second one - and I keep it in the drawer when things look odd - and while I've got that blood drop (on her ear)...I load up a test strip and try again - usually the number is more like her other numbers. Also have gotten weird results when I didn't get a big enough drop or a drop that's too big...those strips tend to be touchy like that - don't overload, make sure to get the right sized drop (whatever that is)...just enough for the strip to 'slurp' it up.

Luci is struggling with her dose now too...don't feel alone :)
Thanks Sue, I appreciate your words. Have been feeling very alone.
I appreciate the “lift up”... how did you know I really needed this :)?
Thanks again.
 
Thanks Bobbie. I understand completely, Marje words. I appreciate your sensitivity to my becoming deflated. R.e.A.l...
I don’t mean to deflate your spirit or to be insensitive but I also think it’s important to acknowledge a potential reality. There are others....maybe Nelli has been FD a long time and just feels comfy in yellow numbers and it’s going to take more insulin to get her back down; I have seen this happen a few times. My main purpose is to just get you to think about what you might want to do so that, if she gets to 6u, that it doesn’t go to 7u and 8u without your consideration. Some people choose to not test for high dose conditions, and that’s totally fine.

Let’s hope she starts to see a lot more green soon.
 
Yes, if you’d please add a column for me on time I shoot.
Done :):):):)

You’ll just need to move the times over that you recorded in the AMPS and PMPS column and then indicate in those columns, on the date you shot early or late, the correct annotation. For example, if you shot 30 minutes early, you would show it as “XXX @ 11.5” or if you shot an hour late, it would be “XX @ 13”.
 
I’m thinking about what I should test tonight. I really am not sure. Nelli and I are both very tired - I am at least... don’t think she is feeling very well :( so am inclined to do no test until +10or +11?
What would you do?
 
I don’t mean to deflate your spirit or to be insensitive but I also think it’s important to acknowledge a potential reality. There are others....maybe Nelli has been FD a long time and just feels comfy in yellow numbers and it’s going to take more insulin to get her back down; I have seen this happen a few times. My main purpose is to just get you to think about what you might want to do so that, if she gets to 6u, that it doesn’t go to 7u and 8u without your consideration. Some people choose to not test for high dose conditions, and that’s totally fine.

Let’s hope she starts to see a lot more green soon.
Key word... SOON.
 
I’m thinking about what I should test tonight. I really am not sure. Nelli and I are both very tired - I am at least... don’t think she is feeling very well :( so am inclined to do no test until +10or +11?
What would you do?
She's lower at + 2 than the PMPS so that indicates the possibility of an active cycle. You need to get at least before you go to be tonight. If she is lower yet you might need to test more depending on that number. Unfortunately, there is not a one size fits all for this.
 
just tested. 248... suspicious? Tested again within minute, 209?!?

That's totally normal....remember, EACH time you have to figure in the 20% variance, even if you're using the same drop of blood fractions of a second apart.

Those are both basically the same number

248 - 20% = 198
209 + 20% = 251

So if you could get a "perfect" number, it'd probably be somewhere between 198 and 251

Don't get wrapped up in the numbers.....look more for "trends" than individual numbers.

Both 198 and 251 (and everything in between) are "too high".....we're hoping for numbers that average in the 50-120 range
 
That's totally normal....remember, EACH time you have to figure in the 20% variance, even if you're using the same drop of blood fractions of a second apart.

Those are both basically the same number

248 - 20% = 198
209 + 20% = 251
I am not following you?
And also, she was 192 an hour earlier? +2 192?
So which do I record as the +3... 248 or 209?
 
I am not following you?

Each time you test, the result you get can be 20% higher or lower than the "perfect" number (if there was a way to get one….Like what you'd get on professional lab equipment)

The home meters can't get as exact as professional lab equipment can and the FDA allows them to be up to 20% off.

So if you get a result of 200, the "exact" number could be 20% higher or lower....so anywhere from 160-240

That's why it doesn't do any good to concentrate too much on individual numbers, but look for "trends"

So which do I record as the +3... 248 or 209?

I'd just put the first number you got
 
Each time you test, the result you get can be 20% higher or lower than the "perfect" number (if there was a way to get one….Like what you'd get on professional lab equipment)

The home meters can't get as exact as professional lab equipment can and the FDA allows them to be up to 20% off.

So if you get a result of 200, the "exact" number could be 20% higher or lower....so anywhere from 160-240

That's why it doesn't do any good to concentrate too much on individual numbers, but look for "trends"



I'd just put the first number you got
Thanks Chris. Isn’t this somewhat scary… What if someone gets an 85 but it’s realistically 20% less?
 
Back
Top