9/15 Need Help With Dosing Toby at +11=150

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Went up On Toby's insulin to 4.25. He started out at 379 at + 3 went to 399 at +7 went to 406. Seems like anything I do doesn't help. Will it take a few cycles for this to work? Am getting discouraged have been at it for over a year and haven't got him regulated yet. He has had good numbers at time on the other insulin then high again. I know he's on the pred. But I see other cats on Pred have done alright on insulin. Is there something That I am doing wrong? Can it be the uti that he had? he's still on the antibiotics he still has 3 days to go. He is eating and acting like nothings wrong. Am at my wits end. When I got my insulin they told me to swab the top with alcohol. I did the same with the PZI vial. Hope this doesn't ruin insulin. The insulin is clear and looks fine. I use a new needle each time. When I first got it I pulled to much insulin in my syringe and injected it back in the
bottle but read you weren't supposed to and haven't done it since. I keep it upright in the fridge wrapped in a paper towel standing in a glass. Toby free feeds all day except about 2 to 3 hours before preshots. He had lost a lb.when I took him to the vets last week from a couple of weeks before Guess he is trying to make up for it because he eats all the time. I know they do this when not regulated. He's not drinking a lot of water now and only pees about 2to 3 times a day and not an excessive amount. Don't know what I could be doing wrong. He gets his shots within minutes the same time every day 6am to 6pm.
If you see anything I,m doing wrong please tell me. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/15 Toby"s PMS 379+3=399+7=406

Toby's AMS started out at 405 stayed high and flat last night. Gave 4.25 again this morning. Will test for ketones.
Have a good day. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/15 Toby"s PMS 379+3=399+7=406

There really isn't a difference in Toby's numbers. Just because the color changes on your SS, it helps to remember that there's 20% that you can attribute to meter variance.

It''s hard to know how much insulin Toby may need. I wouldn't get overly focused on the dose -- the kitty needs as much insulin as s/he needs. I would keep adjusting the dose every 6 cycles if Toby's numbers are above 200. Also keep in mind that with every dose increase, new dose wonkiness (NDW) can be a factor.
 
Re: 9/15 Toby"s PMS 379+3=399+7=406

Just got a ketone test it was neg. I am so worried he will get them again where his bg is so high. Hoping it will start to come down soon. At least see some progress. Will try to be more patient. I'll think positive at least got a neg. ketone today.
Have a good day. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/15 Toby"sAMS=405 +4=337

At last seeing bg going down instead of going up. Guess Toby will do it in his own good time. Not my terms. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/15 Toby"sAMS +4=337+6=268+8=182

Finally a little action today. Even seeing a little blue. Great!!!! Go Toby. Feeling better about it now. Thanks Everyone, Peg and Toby
 
Toby Just went up to 4.25 Units last night and this morning and now at +11 he at 150. What do I give for a dose tonight? Do I give the same dose or reduce it back to 4.0 Units. Peg and Toby
 
Hi Peg - great to see Toby wearing the blues! :-D Normally we don't reduce the dose unless kitty goes under 50. The one thing you'll find about Levemir, is that often their nadir can be around or at preshot time. Let's see what he is at +12 but if he's about the same or higher, I think you are good to shoot. If you have high carb food available, plenty of strips, and can monitor tonight, I'd shoot his normal dose of 4.25U. The first time you shoot your lowest ever, we also recommend getting a +1 and a +2 test. That'll let you know if he's still dropping and what sort of food spike he gets from his meals.

Here we "shoot low to stay low" and kitties will often have nice flat cycles when you do so. With Levemir, you still have some time before onset for his numbers to come back up. You might want to review the Shooting Low Numbers Sticky.
 
Did +12 and it was 185 guess I shoot. Just nervous used to using PZI. Got to learn all over again. Peg and toby
 
it'll get easier! i only used Lantus, but i have seen a lot of nadirs on Lev be at preshot - which is a little mind-challenging to shoot the lowest point of the cycle. Remember that in most cats, Lev doesn't onset (begin its action) for about 4 hours after the shot is given.

Great to see Toby in these healthier numbers!
 
Darn gave Toby his shot and think it was a fur shot. could smell insulin and fur was wet. Thought for sure I Went through the skin. Probably mess him all up again. Just my luck. We'll have to see how he does. Thank for the help. Peg and Toby
 
I agree with Julie...sometimes "furshots" are "partial furshots" and some juice actually makes it in. We're often surprised to see how kitties do when the bean thinks they gave a furshot!
 
At 7.00 pm which is +1 his bg is 317 after he ate his supper will monitor tonight to see how he makes out. Peg and Toby
 
Darn on the possible furshot. He could also be bouncing from all that time in lovely blue. You might just get a good sleep tonight. It's good to get rest when you can.
 
Just tested Toby at + 3 and got a hi reading. Probably between the fur shot and bouncing. Darn I was so happy to see the blues today. Probably won't see them for a few more days now. Just came off a three day bounce. No wonder they call it a sugar dance. Seeing more blues and yellows on the levermir than did on the PZI. Good night guess I don't have to worry that Toby will go to far down tonight. Peg and Toby
 
probably a combination of a bounce + the furshot. don't worry about it - this happens. get a good night's sleep tonight and enjoy it!

the good news is that bounces will shorten in duration and intensity as he sees green numbers more and more often. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top