? 9/15 need help plz Bella AMPS 313, + 272, +5.5 180, +10 159, PMPS 192, +3 144

Bellas_mom_2020

Member Since 2024
First I just need to say that Iโ€™m at a loss I really am. 313??? She hasnโ€™t been this high in over a year and it was when she was first diagnosed. I just feel like crying ๐Ÿ˜ข I know that high number is making her not feel that great.

She was 125 last night and sheโ€™s 313 this morning. Like what the heck is happening?? Why are her numbers jumping up so much?

Sheโ€™s been bouncing so much especially since she had that low AMPS on 9/7 and we gave her insulin anyways and it took awhile to get her in safe numbers.

I reached out a week ago asking about a similar issue because we were noticing low nadirs and she was low +3 PMPS but higher AMPS + PMPS. Never really got much advice. I donโ€™t feel an increase is the right thing because she still getting lower numbers +6 AMPS.

Sheโ€™s acting fine and showing no signs of any distress. She did throw up while I was trying to give her meds last night but she also is scared of the meds and recently anytime we give it to her she shakes and trembles (breaks my heart) but she needs the medicine to avoid blood clots (sheโ€™s a stroke survivor).

Iโ€™m just looking for some guidance/advice. And I know we need to test at other times but we both work and thatโ€™s hard.

Update: went down to 272 a little less than an hour later after I got the 313.
 
Last edited:
I see she had a check-up at the vet in July... was everything in order there? Did they look at her teeth? Just wondering if an unrelated health issue could be causing her sugars to go up.
 
I see she had a check-up at the vet in July... was everything in order there? Did they look at her teeth? Just wondering if an unrelated health issue could be causing her sugars to go up.
Yes teeth were fine. Everything was good at the vet appointment. The only thing I really brought up that I was concerned about was that I was noticing she was a little anxious - getting jumpy over a few things that she normally never did.

So the vet had recommended getting the pheromone and plug-in for the wall, and I did that and it seem to ease some of her anxiety, but it ran out so I need another one.
 
Stress can increase BG. Are there any environmental changes that could be causing it, like moving houses, noisier neighbors, etc.? (We love the Feliway plugins too, but I know they're pricy. I get boxes of six from Chewy and I think its a bit cheaper than the singles they have at like Petsmart or whatever.)
Another thing I would be wondering about--how old is Bella? I wonder if an increase in anxiety/jumpiness could be due to losing her sight or hearing as she gets older?
 
Stress can increase BG. Are there any environmental changes that could be causing it, like moving houses, noisier neighbors, etc.? (We love the Feliway plugins too, but I know they're pricy. I get boxes of six from Chewy and I think its a bit cheaper than the singles they have at like Petsmart or whatever.)
Another thing I would be wondering about--how old is Bella? I wonder if an increase in anxiety/jumpiness could be due to losing her sight or hearing as she gets older?
I will check out chewy. Honestly, idk where the anxiety increase case from. Sheโ€™s always been an anxious cat since we adopted her but Iโ€™ve just noticed an increase. Recently they were doing work to our building at that was scaring her.

Sheโ€™s 10 1/2. Her hearing and sight is fine. She responds to her name, hears the bag of treats without no issue ๐Ÿ˜‚ she sure loves her treats.
 
If I recall correctly you canโ€™t get a later test at night. All I can think of is she might drop later last night and is bouncing. I know itโ€™s frustrating.
 
If you see a big drop to +3 like the PM of the 13th, I'd leave a little extra higher carb food out so she stays safe.

At what times of the cycle are you feeding her now? Those big drops can also cause bounces and maybe you can feed to slow those drops.
 
If you see a big drop to +3 like the PM of the 13th, I'd leave a little extra higher carb food out so she stays safe.

At what times of the cycle are you feeding her now? Those big drops can also cause bounces and maybe you can feed to slow those drops.
So we usually give her a snack at plus 3 PMPS, and she doesnโ€™t always eat it so I put it in the auto feeder and she has until 3:30 AM to eat it. We normally give her a snack right before we go to bed, sometimes she doesnโ€™t finish her dinner so sheโ€™s hungry.

So you think I should feed her like I normally do at +3 (a snack) and then leave another snack in the auto feeder? Like what time? And what kind of food because sheโ€™s so picky. Can I leave her a note carb snack or would that not do anything for her?
 
Both preshots, I'd feed the same for both if you can. At what point has she finished her first meals?
 
Both preshots, I'd feed the same for both if you can. At what point has she finished her first meals?
Well it all depends on how much she likes the food we give her, sheโ€™s been picky lately. Iโ€™ve had to put some freeze dried food on top to get her to eat.

But in the morning Iโ€™m not exactly sure because Iโ€™m at work but the days Iโ€™ve been around it can take her like 2-3 hours sometimes. In the evening it takes around the same, sometimes she doesnโ€™t always finish her food. She sometimes leaves a few bites.
 
If she's a grazer, then that's good. Before bed I'd just make sure she has food to snack on. Maybe a slighly higher carb value if she's dropped a lot.

I wonder if she needs a dose increase. You've been at this dose a long time.
 
If she's a grazer, then that's good. Before bed I'd just make sure she has food to snack on. Maybe a slighly higher carb value if she's dropped a lot.

I wonder if she needs a dose increase. You've been at this dose a long time.
Sheโ€™s definitely a slow eater when itโ€™s not a preferred food. And if sheโ€™s being stubborn she just wonโ€™t eat it.

She has been on 1 unit for a little while but her numbers were doing good and on 9/7 she had a 60 at AMPS - I just feel like more insulin will make her go lower and then wouldnโ€™t she bounce even more.
 
First I just need to say that Iโ€™m at a loss I really am. 313??? She hasnโ€™t been this high in over a year and it was when she was first diagnosed. I just feel like crying ๐Ÿ˜ข I know that high number is making her not feel that great.

She was 125 last night and sheโ€™s 313 this morning. Like what the heck is happening?? Why are her numbers jumping up so much?

Sheโ€™s been bouncing so much especially since she had that low AMPS on 9/7 and we gave her insulin anyways and it took awhile to get her in safe numbers.

I reached out a week ago asking about a similar issue because we were noticing low nadirs and she was low +3 PMPS but higher AMPS + PMPS. Never really got much advice. I donโ€™t feel an increase is the right thing because she still getting lower numbers +6 AMPS.

Sheโ€™s acting fine and showing no signs of any distress. She did throw up while I was trying to give her meds last night but she also is scared of the meds and recently anytime we give it to her she shakes and trembles (breaks my heart) but she needs the medicine to avoid blood clots (sheโ€™s a stroke survivor).

Iโ€™m just looking for some guidance/advice. And I know we need to test at other times but we both work and thatโ€™s hard.

Update: went down to 272 a little less than an hour later after I got the 313.
..see if its the pen. have u tried this? ๐Ÿ’– (we've had new pens fail before; I told the vet also and she said that can happen.. sometimes their affected/less efficacy for whatever reason.. and numbers drop off. maybe try another pen and see how she does? โœจ..)

what happened other night? she went really low? sometimes apparently body can take some time to recover.. tho how long I can't say.

๐Ÿ’œ..
 
..see if its the pen. have u tried this? ๐Ÿ’– (we've had new pens fail before; I told the vet also and she said that can happen.. sometimes their affected/less efficacy for whatever reason.. and numbers drop off. maybe try another pen and see how she does? โœจ..)

what happened other night? she went really low? sometimes apparently body can take some time to recover.. tho how long I can't say.

๐Ÿ’œ..
We just started a new pen today so weโ€™ll see how they goes. I feel like weโ€™ve been having some issues with the insulin pens. Iโ€™m hoping using a new pen will be the fix we need.
 
We just started a new pen today so weโ€™ll see how they goes. I feel like weโ€™ve been having some issues with the insulin pens. Iโ€™m hoping using a new pen will be the fix we need.
u see how that is ๐Ÿ’– think we got another bad one just a few days ago.. money right down the tubes, outside of some annoying process to get refunded... I'm seeing how this other new pen is from the Walgreens.. might not be going back to the Walmart.. or maybe it just happens w the pens.. but most of the time they work well. but yes see! โœจ..
 
u see how that is ๐Ÿ’– think we got another bad one just a few days ago.. money right down the tubes, outside of some annoying process to get refunded... I'm seeing how this other new pen is from the Walgreens.. might not be going back to the Walmart.. or maybe it just happens w the pens.. but most of the time they work well. but yes see! โœจ..
A few months ago we had a bad batch and it messed Bellaโ€™s sugar up really bad because we didnโ€™t realize the insulin had floaties and it sat her so far back. She was on 0.25 and getting great numbers so so close to a reduction and then it all got messed up and now sheโ€™s on 1 unit having issues with blood sugar. Itโ€™s so frustrating.
 
A few months ago we had a bad batch and it messed Bellaโ€™s sugar up really bad because we didnโ€™t realize the insulin had floaties and it sat her so far back. She was on 0.25 and getting great numbers so so close to a reduction and then it all got messed up and now sheโ€™s on 1 unit having issues with blood sugar. Itโ€™s so frustrating.
yes!!!!! the worst...... omg im so sorry to hear that.. ๐Ÿ˜ญ (we had lots of garbage happen this year too and now he's almost double his dose.. fortunately things looking better now.. but boy was that devastating for a long time if im honest.. I was encouraged tho they need what they need.. but its double the work now.. just sad.. anyway...)

I noticed that too earlier this year, got a new pen, and his numbers went whomp, not too bad, but noticeably.. and had to increase him but I was like.. his numbers have been consistent all this time, something aint right... changed the damn pen, numbers went right back.. imagine. ๐Ÿ˜•๐Ÿ˜•๐Ÿ˜•๐Ÿ˜•๐Ÿ˜•๐Ÿ˜•...

me, I check the caliper every time.. and I check the pen every time, make sure its clear. takes a little more time.. but never know. ๐Ÿ’–.. sorry to hear on floaties yikes... ugh god.
 
yes!!!!! the worst...... omg im so sorry to hear that.. ๐Ÿ˜ญ (we had lots of garbage happen this year too and now he's almost double his dose.. fortunately things looking better now.. but boy was that devastating for a long time if im honest.. I was encouraged tho they need what they need.. but its double the work now.. just sad.. anyway...)

I noticed that too earlier this year, got a new pen, and his numbers went whomp, not too bad, but noticeably.. and had to increase him but I was like.. his numbers have been consistent all this time, something aint right... changed the damn pen, numbers went right back.. imagine. ๐Ÿ˜•๐Ÿ˜•๐Ÿ˜•๐Ÿ˜•๐Ÿ˜•๐Ÿ˜•...
Itโ€™s definitely the worst. She was so close to remission and now sheโ€™s back at square one.
 
She has been on 1 unit for a little while but her numbers were doing good and on 9/7 she had a 60 at AMPS - I just feel like more insulin will make her go lower and then wouldnโ€™t she bounce even more.
Yes, she has been on 1 unit a long time. Holding a dose that's not doing it for a long time doesn't get you anywhere. She gets used to higher numbers. TR says to hold a dose getting green nadirs for 10 cycles/5 days, unless tightly regulated. She's not there. The idea is that more insulin will bring her nadirs down but also take down the higher numbers too. She should be getting consistent green nadirs.
 
Back
Top