9/15 Muffin Pmps +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48 +11 64

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Last Post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=74969

Good Morning LL! I've been away for a while.

Muffin asked for a drink of water again this morning. I checked her bg - 348!! Re-tested and got 337. She did get into some chicken strips yesterday, but I find it hard to believe they would do this to her. When she had pancreatitis 2 months ago, her bg was only 113. She's eating well, not acting sick at all, so I do not suspect another CP flare. I'm pretty good at recognizing those quickly. She's only 6 weeks away from her 2 year OTJ annifursary, and I'm terrified that she's fallen off the wagon. Have a vet appt in 10 mins to get some BW done and see what he thinks.

PLEASE send her "stay OTJ vines"! I'm worried sick.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Ambg 348

STAY OFF THE JUICE MUFFIN!!! Do you hear me? Don't give your mama a scare like that, just come on back down and be a good green kitty.

So sorry to hear about the medical issues - I hope this is just a transient and things settle down.

((hugs))
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Ambg 348

Muffin, Muffin, Muffin... remember how proud Mama was when you went OTJ?!?! Come on baby girl, bring those darn BGs down!!

OTJ vines ~~ OTJ vines ~~ OTJ vines ~~ OTJ vines ~~ OTJ vines ~~ OTJ vines
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Ambg 348

We love you Muffin but we do not want to see you back here even to rent a condo. STAY AT THE FALLS!!!!!

OTJ VINES on the way. Please keep us posted.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Ambg 348 Dose Advice pls

Thank you all so much for the vines and the visits! Back from the vet - we're running BW and checking for UTI, but won't have results until Monday. So in the meantime, we're going back on the juice :YMSIGH: I just can't let her sit at levels that high for any length of time, and I don't truly know how long they've been there already. So tonight will be our first injection nailbite_smile I'm a bit nervous - it's been a long time since I've given a shot! Vet suggested starting dose of 1u, but I don't feel comfortable starting that high, especially for a pm dose. I'm thinking .5u, which he agreed to, at least until Monday when they'll be open again in case something goes wrong. What do you all think?
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Ambg 348

Hi Anne.
I have no advice. As much as I love seeing you and Muffin again, I really hope this is a temporary thing, and she isn't staying.
I do hope her bloodwork is good, and she has something simple to fix.

Barb
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Ambg 348

Sad to hear Muffin is back on the juice hopefully just for a bit. I've never visited Muffin's condo, as we're pretty new here. I certainly can't advise on dose but 1u after the amounts Muffin was on on the SS ... I can agree with your thought you'd like to start lower. But that's just me being an engineer, and not someone with expertise with the kitties and diabetes. I hope someone chimes in with real advice. Sending vines...
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Ambg 348

Hi Anne - Well, I have to agree. I have missed you, love it when we hear from you, but sure hope Muffin can retain her OTJ status, an that this is just a temp thing, that all is well. Paws crossed.

I think a .5 start is a good one. Not too sure I'd want the 1U either. A good move I think to get her out of those 300's. You'll know soon enough if it is a good dose or not. Wishing you guys much luck! I hope a dosing person will chime in too. I'm just not in that category....
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Ambg 348 Dose Advice Plz!

I'd lean toward 0.25u or 0.5u. Did your vet check Muffin's teeth? The need for a dental can also throw a cat out of remission. Please also check for ketones just for the sake of an ounce of prevention.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Ambg 348 Dose Advice Plz!

Thanks Sienne, I will be on the lookout tonight so I can test for ketones. Vet did not check her teeth, that I remember, I wish I'd have remembered to ask him to. On the plus side, tho, she's always had outstanding teeth. I think I'll go ahead and start with .5 then, as she has to build a shed and her numbers are pretty high. I'm meeting a friend for coffee shortly, so that will help me to stay up and monitor. I do still have karo on hand, and Muffin is still wonderful about getting tested. Now the last thing to decide on is the best shot time! :lol: Thanks for your help, I'll keep posting.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Ambg 348 Dose Advice Plz!

Hey Anne & Muffin,
We love to see you, but we don't want you to set up shop here!! Hope that this is just a momentary glitch and that Muffin will be back in "normal" numbers right away.

Hugs!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Ambg 348 Dose Advice Plz!

Jeez - I did a double take when I saw this condo confused_cat

Muffin, Muffin, Muffin .... you're just temporarily sub-leasing this condo, right?
Get back to the falls ASAP !
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Ambg 348 Dose Advice Plz!

Anne:

I've seen Jill tell caregivers whose kitties are returning from the Falls (e.g. Binks) that you want to be aggressive with the dosecreases. You want to get her back into normal numbers as quickly as possible. Check out Alex's 2009 SS when she came out of remission the first time.

I think .5u is a good starting dose but if she doesn't come right down in the first four cycles, I would raise her on the 5th cycle. How much? Depends on her nadir....if she's above 300 the whole time, I'd increase by .5u but if she's below, I'd increase by .25u.

Here's what Jill told Celi:

Jill & Alex said:
i'm so glad you increased the dose! binks was started at a lower dose than suggested in the TR protocol to begin with because of the contraband in his system, but it should be gone now. if i had been around the past few days i would have been whispering in your ear to take the dose up after the first 48 hours:

"Cats that have a tendency to get ketones and/or who are getting relatively high flat curves after the switch should have their dose raised earlier (after 24-48 hours)." http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm (under "Starting dose")

when kitties return from the falls, you want to be as aggressive as safely possible. you're an experienced caregiver.
don't let any pink grass grow under binks' paws:

"However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose)." http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm (under "Increasing the dose")

good luck with the new dose!

If you want to read the Binks entire condo, it's got good info.

Hoping for a very quick return to the Falls for Miss Muffin!!! Gracie sends big hugs.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Ambg 348 Dose Advice Plz!

Sending best wishes to you! Hopefully just a slight snag......and Muffin will be back to OTJ !
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Pmps 286 Shot .5u

Ok, shot went off without a hitch! \M/ (I really need a "phew!" smiley) Pmps 286 and I shot .5u.
Thank you so much Marje! I need some hand-holding here, and to be reminded of some of the ins and outs of this dance. That's great advice about being aggressive, and I will definitely do that.
Had ~O) ~O) earlier, so I can stay up and monitor. Is a +2 early enough for first test or should I get a +1 also?

Thank you Sandy and Chris - I hope this is just temporary too. Muffin really seems to be feeling fine, which is actually worrying me more, but keeping paws crossed!
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Pmps 286 +2 207

I'd just get a +2 Anne. hopefully it won't take much and she will be back where she belongs!

Did the vet have any idea what caused this? We will be here to help as much as you need us.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Pmps 286 +2 207

+2 207 She hasn't eaten much today, maybe something is going on after all. She still doesn't act sick tho, other than not eating much. I keep finding her in the kitchen, prowling for contraband ohmygod_smile I don't feel like the ~O) is working very well, I'm getting tired already :roll:
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Pmps 286 +2 207

Are you checking ketones?

You'll have to get used to those late nights again :smile: ;-)
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Pmps 286 +2 207

Marje, I was going to try to catch her on the potty pad tonight, and then realized my ketostix are 2 yrs old... ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile And I found the potty pad already used. She got a little on the floor, so I dipped a stick in that, but it was not fresh urine (already cold) and well, it showed trace ketones, but don't think that's very reliable. Tomorrow morning I'll go out and get new test strips.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Pmps 286 +2 207

Good idea. I think they generally expire 6 months after you open them. But I'd be sure and get some and test her every day.

Hope she eats.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin UH OH! Pmps 286 +2 207 +3 147

+3 147 Way to go Muffin! She finally ate a decent amt at +2.5, and she's eating again now. I think she finally realized there were no more chicken strips to be found :lol: I hope I can get at least one more test tonight.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps 286 +2 207 +3 147 +5 47

Hi Jane! Thank you, we hope so too.

I sooooo wanted to go to sleep, but I get a 47 at +5 :o I fed this (LC) because I really want to sleep, but I'll check again in 30 mins and see where we're at. I guess I should have started with .25u. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps 286 +2 207 +3 147 +5 47 +5.5 43

+5.5 43 She's eating again. I'm feeling really bad for her poor ear - it's so not used to this anymore. Been putting neosporin on, but it doesn't make ME feel any better. :cry:
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps 286 +2 207 +3 147 +5 47 +5.5 43

Wow, a 45! Great catch, Anne! I'll look out for the next BG!

Even though it's dramatic - it's great to see Muffin in those greens! I hope that she won't need much time at all until she's back at the Falls :smile:

Hugs
Jane

EDITED to add
: Hmm, surfing the 40s... Muffin, a bit higher would be nice, please! Anne - you say she's eating - how much? Maybe not *too* big a snack would be good, in case you have to lather, rinse, repeat? Re-test in 30, right? Hang in there! (((Anne))) Muffin will be fine, and hopefully soon her ears will be poke-free again for the most part!

Jane
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps 286 +2 207 +3 147 +5 47 +5.5 43

Hi Jane - she's probably eaten a little more than a tablespoon over the last 2 tests. Next test in 5 mins.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps 286 +2 207 +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48

+6 48 and I only have 3 lancets left! Fed another teaspoon LC. AM dose will be .25u.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps 286 +2 207 +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48

Yikes, lancet shortage! Will you be able to get more before your AMPS?

Still surfing the 40s... How carb-sensitive is Muffin? I'm wondering whether you might want to consider mixing some MC in with the next LC-snack, to bump her up a tad more?

Jane
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps 286 +2 207 +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48

No, I probably won't be able to get more before amps, especially after this never-ending night :lol: Wellness Chicken is the ONLY canned food Muffin will eat, so the only way to up the carbs would be to add karo. I'm hoping we're far enough in the cycle where that won't be necessary.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps 286 +2 207 +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48

Ah ok, good to know!

I'm a little concerned how you'll be able to make sure she's in safer numbers and get the AMPS (or maybe a +11 before then as well to see where she's coming from) without extra lancets... Any thoughts on what your plan is?

Jane
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps 286 +2 207 +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48

+6.5 52 Well, there is an all-night drug store very close - I could run out and get lancets, I'm just not too comfortable going out at 3am :lol: It's times like this I wish I had a man around to do it for me :lol: :lol: Or I'll use the last 2 and go then, since I guess I'm not sleeping tonight. Maybe 4am will be preferable to 3am? Who knows. She refused food this time and just went back to bed instead.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps 286 +2 207 +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48

She's surfing rather than dropping, which is great of course :smile: Maybe you could take a taxi to the chemist?

I don't mean to bug you about this - I just hate the idea of you being stuck without a way to test, you know?

Let me know what you decide to do, if you can. I worry :mrgreen:

Personally, I probably wouldn't go to bed yet either - I'd want to see the cat in, say, the high 60s or the 70s, especially if she's not wanting to eat anymore right now.

Jane
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps 286 +2 207 +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48

Next test is 15 mins from now. I'll do that one and then go to the store. It's looking like I'll just stay up all night, so it's maybe a good thing she's not eating anymore now, as I'll need her to eat at amps. She's definitely not used to being fed all night long. And thank you so much, Jane, for being here with me, I really appreciate it.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps 286 +2 207 +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48

+7 48 She did eat a couple of bites 15 mins ago, but it looks like she's decided to keep surfing here, so I'm off to the store for more lancets. I'll be back in time for +7.5!
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps 286 +2 207 +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48

+7.5 48 Got lancets and ketostix, and nearly ran over a possum on the way :shock: But I made it home safe and sound and without harming anyone else ;-) Offered more food, but she's not interested right now. At this point, I'm not worried, she seems to be surfing very nicely, I just wish it was a bit higher.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps 286 +2 207 +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48

Thank you Jane. I certainly wasn't expecting this for a first cycle, but maybe it's best this way - Almost feels like we never left :lol:
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps 286 +2 207 +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48

You're welcome, Anne!

I'm thinking, get a test at, say (+9), and rest until then :mrgreen: I would think about getting at (+11) just to see where she's coming from for her AMPS. Congrats on the dosecrease!!

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps 286 +2 207 +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48

Morning Anne - holy carp - what a way to welcome yourself back. What a night for you. I bet it does seem like you never left. I hope you can get some rest today. And Muffin - well done!
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48 +11 64 Advice!

Morning Michelle - yep it's been a crazy night!

+9 was 45, +11 is 64. Just needing a little advice and reassurance here - Do people think it's ok to shoot this morning? And .25u as a dose?
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48 +11 64 Advice!

Standard catalogue of questions, Anne, bear with me, k?

--- Do you have plenty of test strips?
--- Can you stay home to monitor?
--- Are you ready to be vigilant on a possibly dramatic cycle?
--- Does Muffin actually *eat* the LC-karo mix, in a pinch, should you need it?

I'd re-assess the dose at pre-shot, but tentatively: If Muffin keeps rising until pre-shot, and you will be home, you should be ok to shoot the 0.25u I hope. It's a little tricky to advise, since the last time she was on inslulin was almost 2 years ago, and these are her very first cycles back on the juice, so it's not really possible to say for sure how she will respond. She seems to be reacting very well to the insulin boost (which makes me hopeful she won't need insulin help for long) and her pancreas is likely helping out too, but beyond that, I'm wary of making predictions :mrgreen:

Got your PM too, and thought I'd answer in-condo!

What are your thoughts on all of the above?
Jane
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48 +11 64 Advice!

I have enough strips for now - I can get more easily enough. I will be home to monitor. I've never had to use the karo mix before, so I have no idea whether she'd eat it or not. But I could rub it on her gums if she didn't.

My concerns are that, as you said, she's new to this after almost 2 years, so I'm not certain I can count on past data being accurate this time around. I've shot low before, but only on the .1 or 1 drop doses. So I'm a little nervous. But yes, I will be here all day.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48 +11 64 Advice!

I just read through the condo and looked at your ss. I think her pancreas might have helped her to come down as you said in your comments section that she finally ate well at +2.5.

I think depending upon her AMBG number, you may be safe to shoot the 0.25. How long before +12?

Good job, last night. You must be so tired.
 
Re: 9/15 Muffin Pmps +5 47 +5.5 43 +6 48 +11 64 Advice!

Ok we have 71 10 mins before shot time. I feel comfortable shooting that, but I'm still not sure if I should shoot .25 or less than that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top