Re: 9/15 Morgaine AMPS 163 Advice welcome
Marjorie, are you saying you might test more before increasing the dose?
Rosalie...I'm sorry. I didn't mean to confuse you. I think my comment (that was not very well stated) is that on the current dose, we have an "idea" of what she is doing but not fully because of only having spot checks. BUT she hasn't gone really low on the f3.00 and so there really is no need to poke her just for the sake of poking unless you wanted to do a mini curve some time and see if this dose is getting her any lower. I'm not sure that is necessary.
I can understand you wanting to increase her to get some more green in and yes, with that comes the
possibility that she will go much lower. Remember...you have to shoot low to stay low and that is the goal in TR. I understand your concern about her dropping but you control that with testing and you'll have to see how much and how fast she drops and test accordingly. Some cats here drop down but bring themselves up. Some, like Gracie, don't. But
you are in control and you can bring Morgaine up if you see her coming down too fast or too low.
I know you have limitations and that plays a big role here. Tight regulation may or may not be your goal because of that. So by going slowly on the increases, perhaps you can find a nice dose that will keep her safe but allow her to get into the 70s. I know you are amazingly diligent.
I wish I could give you step by step instructions but I think you'll have to find out how Morgaine reacts and remember....there's usually someone around in LL if you need some support on what to do when. Julie and I are often up late our time. Consider at what BG she starts, how fast she is coming down, where she is in the cycle and test accordingly. I find that, normally, testing every 30 mins works for us especially if I have fed her....the food needs a little time to work. But you might feel more comfortable testing every 20 mins the first time she comes down more.
I have been using a OT Ultra Mini since we started....and have one as my backup. I have a Contour as my second backup. I bought a Freestyle lite and sent it back. I didn't like it....it read much lower than my OT Ultra Mini and Contour and it was inconsistent. But the strips are a lot more expensive for the OT.