9/15 Klinger AMPS 462; PMPS 428

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think I'll start increasing his dose on Friday when I'm home. Any suggestions for how much to increase? I have pretty much a full box of the 100u needles (hope that's the correct term).
Thanks!
Marcy
 
Correct term. Do you have the conversion chart printed out? I have it hung on the fridge and check it with every shot.

I would go by .2u and hold 3 to 5 cycles to let it settle. Your #'s might jump around some with each increase so you need to wait for that to settle down.

You're doing great.
 
Yes, I have it printed and posted on the fridge. So, 3.2 would be 8 units on the conversion and then do I post it as 3.2 or 8 units on the ss? I don't want anyone to freak out when they see that I went from 3u's to 8u's. That would be bad. :lol:
 
That would be very bad :lol:

Yes 3.2 would be 8 in the U100 syringe.

Post it as 3.2units or peeps will freak out. Someone else just did than and almost gave me a heart attack.
 
Hi Marcy,
My name is Patti and I was asked by nancy to come take a look at your Klinger. My Merlin was an earlier kitty with acromegaly and used PZI idexx (no longer around but similar to prozinc).

REading thru your post some red flags went up for me. Merlin was diagnosed in 2006 and I've been involved with helping get acro more recognized since then. some of my concerns for your kitty are:

He's a big cat
He's male
He has a pot belly
incredibly hungry all the time
he has wonky numbers - one minute hi - next minute low - on similar doses - for no reason - this is soooooo typical of an acro cat on a pzi type insulin. It's one of the telltale signs we found on these kitties. It's not your meter! It's NOT rebound and you can test a million times - it's NOT rebound. I repeat that as us original acromoms went thru that a million times and that is what we fight against - the constant retesting for rebound!

Acrocats do NOT have to be on incredibly HUGE doses of insulin. You have already been up to 6 units bid tho and that is high enough. And the above symptoms/notes play into this too. We have been keeping notes/track of acro issues now more closely since 2006 and have more documentation. Your vet has probably never seen an acrocat and is only going by what she has read/learned. Please I mean no disrespect here. It's just what we've all learned in our experience of caring for our own kitty.

Just from what you've been going thru - I would strongly suggest you might want to get an IGF1 and IAA blood test drawn. It may give you peace of mind to find out what is happening and allow you to dose without second guessing yourself about the doses.

The Acro sticky has all the links for the blood tests for your vet. We also have the catacro site with even more info. Again - here are the links:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... f=12&t=375
catacro:
http://catacromegaly.com/index2.html

please let us know how us hi dose moms can help - we've all been thru a similar story to yours. IF you have any questions to what we are suggesting let us know. Nancy, myself and some of the others will check back in or c'mon over to the acro/iaa/cushings group too - we'll be watching for you too.
 
Marcy,
His numbers are so... well "red", I would bump on the very next shot, especially if its only going to be a .2 bump. You know Klinger "survived" 7u for over a month, wasn't it...? If you bump tomorrow, it will have "settled" a day for you to get mid cycle data on friday.

I dont know if you saw Joanna's post from yesterday, but she suggested maybe .5 bump. In either case, IMO he needs more insulin before he gets into other trouble, like ketones or kidney infection, or other organ damage from the high blood glucose.
 
Thanks for checking in on Klinger, Patti. I was just on the cataromegaly website and took a look at the photo gallery. Is spikey fur a possible sign?
Does he have to fast prior to the blood tests? I have a lot more reading to do, but those two things popped into my head.
Thanks,
Marcy
 
Hi Marcy,

I know some people have noticed "spiky fur". Carolynn's Fletcher was one of those and Merlin had some of it. But I think it's not just with acro - it might be more from the diabetes. Not sure on that.

As far as the IGF-1 - fasting is not necessary. Please let me check on the IAA to be absolutely sure. another test that you might think about too is the Growth Hormone test. It goes along with the IGF-1. I'll find out quickly for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top