9/15 Ivy AMPS 400, +3 278, +6 274, +9 289, Pmps 305, +3 146, +5 56 L Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
9/13/26
AMPS 400 Libre (Ugh Bouncing!)

Yesterday Ivy did some diving on the Libre in both cycles to Libre greens and limes (which correlate to green/blue numbers on a handheld device) BUT they can cause the darned Libre to fail if she's in that range for many hours in those ranges.
So in both cycles I had to feed her some carbs to bump her up a bit to keep the Libre reading and transmitting actual data or it would fail.
It was a long night...takes her until around +7 until she finally bumps up into non dive numbers (around 1:30 am)

Soooo that was fun 😬

I spoke with both vets yesterday and they seem to agree that giving oral B12 isn't really helping so we should continue with just weekly B12 shots for now.
As of today I stopped the oral B12.
I also stopped ondansetron since she doesn't seem nauseated after her GI bout last Friday night (really hope this is not a mistake to stop giving it).

We are doing labs next Tuesay 9/22 and will send B12 and test MMA (Methylmalonic acid), which supposedly shows if B12 is being absorbed at a cellular level and not just in their system. Hoping that gives us some clues as to do what next (bring sent to TAMU).
There is some discussion of using hrdroxocobalamin injections, which supposedly can give better absorption of that form of B12 than B12 does in cats who seem to have a harder time absorbing the B12 well (like Ivy).
But, it's hard to get this other form and may have to be compounded etc. So more research to be done if that's what we learn.
Sigh.
@Briana + Binx wanted to keep you updated ❤️

So our next B12 shot will be this Thursday, paws crossed she stays stable and it works well for her for a week at least.

Since she was having a low cycle last night I slept on the sofa and fed carbs. My reward was many cuddles through the night :bighug:

I gave her a tiny reduction back down to 2 units again, to try to stop the extreme diving and resulting bouncing. Sadly I do need some sleep.
She's peeing a lot today, I hope it's just that she bounced sky high as a bounce both last night and this morning after her diving episodes.

Wishing you all a calm day for everyone 🐈🐈‍⬛:cat:
Waiting impatiently for breakfast today 😻
IMG_6244.jpeg
 
Good luck on resuming the B12 shots! I hope Ivy gives you some calmer cycles s, 🤞🐾
Thank you! We actually haven't stopped the B12 shots, we had just added oral pills for the last week or so to see if that made a difference.
So far she's had 6 B12 shots over 6 weeks, #7 will be on Thursday! :bighug:
 
We are doing labs next Tuesay 9/22 and will send B12 and test MMA (Methylmalonic acid), which supposedly shows if B12 is being absorbed at a cellular level and not just in their system. Hoping that gives us some clues as to do what next (bring sent to TAMU).
There is some discussion of using hrdroxocobalamin injections, which supposedly can give better absorption of that form of B12 than B12 does in cats who seem to have a harder time absorbing the B12 well (like Ivy).
But, it's hard to get this other form and may have to be compounded etc. So m

I'm learning some useful and interesting details about B12 from you, Staci! Thank you for sharing them.

I hope she remains stable 💓 and that it works for a week or so. The solutions will keep coming 🙏🏼🌿

I like it so much when her numbers are that great, in such good range. But I get the whole point with the Libre situation.

Hopefully she will pee less soon, too! It should be temporary, right?, due to the last events 🙏🏼

I hope you can sleep better tonight!

🤍🤍🤍
 
I'm learning some useful and interesting details about B12 from you, Staci! Thank you for sharing them.

I hope she remains stable 💓 and that it works for a week or so. The solutions will keep coming 🙏🏼🌿

I like it so much when her numbers are that great, in such good range. But I get the whole point with the Libre situation.

Hopefully she will pee less soon, too! It should be temporary, right?, due to the last events 🙏🏼

I hope you can sleep better tonight!

🤍🤍🤍
Hi Clarice, I’m so glad you find the B12 information helpful.
I’m trying to get more answers and I feel like the more we talk about it here, the more we can share information and help each other along 💞

I agree, I like her numbers so much better when she’s lower and she’s definitely bouncing from two back to back lower cycles yesterday.

Plus, I took a smidge of a reduction.
I hope you’re right, that the peeing will reduce once her numbers come back down a bit. She’s also drinking a bit more than her normal so it does seem to be glucose related.

I hope you and sweet Mami Cat are doing well today.
We send you both many hugs and healing energy ❤️‍🩹🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃
Positive thoughts for making it to my bed for a full 7 hour night tonight 🤍🤍🤍🤍🤍🙏
 
Ivy is incredible pretty 🥰 I really hope her bounce will be over soon and you get your full 7 hours of sleep!


May I ask you what B12 pills you have for Ivy? Regs started having a bit neuropathy and the vet told me to give B12, and I got something with methycobalamin or so but I wonder if there are better ones that I can ask the vet for
 
Great job getting her back up! I know how the Libre likes to go off on you for long stretches of hours, which is absolutely no help!! Hopefully the reduction can keep her surfing nicely and no big dives!

Thanks for the B13 update!! Good to know about the oral pills, the injections seem overall simpler too, which is nice. Does this mean you’ll stay on the weekly for now? I remember you said you wanted to test at the 2 weeks off point.

Also curious about this other test you’re getting and what it might indicate for absorption! I know you’ll keep us posted, and in the meantime, enjoy some sleep and cuddles! 🤗
 
Ivy is incredible pretty 🥰 I really hope her bounce will be over soon and you get your full 7 hours of sleep!


May I ask you what B12 pills you have for Ivy? Regs started having a bit neuropathy and the vet told me to give B12, and I got something with methycobalamin or so but I wonder if there are better ones that I can ask the vet for
Hi Britta, thank you 😊 she is a cutie
She definitely broke her bounce tonight. It’s looking like I’m on the sofa again tonight 🤦‍♀️

For neuropathy you do want methylcobalamin. Many here use Zobaline or Vitacost B12 (which is much less expensive).
I’m not sure if the correct dose, but it comes in a 500 mcg capsule you can empty into their food.
I tried it for Ivy’s neuropathy in the past, it didn’t help. But other kitties have had good success. It’s definitely worth a try.

I hope it helps Regs! 🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃
 
Great job getting her back up! I know how the Libre likes to go off on you for long stretches of hours, which is absolutely no help!! Hopefully the reduction can keep her surfing nicely and no big dives!

Thanks for the B13 update!! Good to know about the oral pills, the injections seem overall simpler too, which is nice. Does this mean you’ll stay on the weekly for now? I remember you said you wanted to test at the 2 weeks off point.

Also curious about this other test you’re getting and what it might indicate for absorption! I know you’ll keep us posted, and in the meantime, enjoy some sleep and cuddles! 🤗
It was a struggle last night. I was so tired and had to stay awake so late just to keep her up a tiny bit. It’s so hard sometimes. The carbs don’t shoot her up high at all.
And I hesitate to give her canned food foreign to her system or Karo. Since her stomach and GI system are so shaky, I don’t want to give her stuff that could upset it and cause more vomiting or diarrhea. Makes it extra challenging.

Yes at the moment we will give a weekly B12 shot. Will see what the labs show and go from there I suppose.

We won’t be at the 2 week point to test, it will only be about 5 days past her shot.
But nothing we can do.
I don’t expect her levels to be high since she’s not really staying stable even with the shots.

They have helped, but she’s having break through GI episodes 😫

I’ll let you know what happens.
I hope Binx is feeling well. Please give him some cuddles from us 🐈‍⬛💞😻
 
Hi Britta, thank you 😊 she is a cutie
She definitely broke her bounce tonight. It’s looking like I’m on the sofa again tonight 🤦‍♀️

For neuropathy you do want methylcobalamin. Many here use Zobaline or Vitacost B12 (which is much less expensive).
I’m not sure if the correct dose, but it comes in a 500 mcg capsule you can empty into their food.
I tried it for Ivy’s neuropathy in the past, it didn’t help. But other kitties have had good success. It’s definitely worth a try.

I hope it helps Regs! 🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃
Oh no, sorry to hear you might have a night on the couch ahead. But good for Ivy that her numbers will go down 🥰

Thanks so much for the information about the B12. I absolutely will try one of those and hope that they help my little wobble walker. And do a little research what dose he might need
 
Back
Top