9/15 Copernicus AMPS=222 +3=211 +6=195

Krista & Copernicus

Member Since 2026
PP
If i inject insulin in 2 different spots (because he moved on me) does that end up being equivalent to if I put it all in one injection site?

Also, I gave his first Adequan and it's acting like a steroid in way that he seems hyper. Did anyone else experience this? I am supposed to keep him from jumping since his ligaments are injured, but there is something to jump on in every room. He has stairs and bins but he doesn't use them. Someone suggested a kennel, but carpal hyperextension isn't treatable without surgery so he would be spending his last days in a kennel and that's NOT quality of life.
 
Last edited:
If i inject insulin in 2 different spots (because he moved on me) does that end up being equivalent to if I put it all in one injection site?
I would say generally yes, although theoretically (emphasis on theoretically) it could impact the BG numbers.

My favorite IM vet and I had a discussion about whether intentionally splitting a Lantus shot could impact BG and whether it could be done tactically to improve the numbers. I believe a few people with higher dose cats have tried it but with mixed results as to whether it actually made a difference.

Lantus creates a microcrystalline structure under the skin so theoretically two shots would create two “pools” of insulin and thus more surface area from which the insulin to precipitate.

As for the Adequan, is it possible he was feeling better or having an exceptionally good day? It would be interesting to see if that reaction is repeatable. Another idea to help arthritis is acupuncture. I saw some pretty remarkable results (my vet used laser instead of needles). I know other acro folks have done acupuncture as well.
 
I would say generally yes, although theoretically (emphasis on theoretically) it could impact the BG numbers.

My favorite IM vet and I had a discussion about whether intentionally splitting a Lantus shot could impact BG and whether it could be done tactically to improve the numbers. I believe a few people with higher dose cats have tried it but with mixed results as to whether it actually made a difference.

Lantus creates a microcrystalline structure under the skin so theoretically two shots would create two “pools” of insulin and thus more surface area from which the insulin to precipitate.

As for the Adequan, is it possible he was feeling better or having an exceptionally good day? It would be interesting to see if that reaction is repeatable. Another idea to help arthritis is acupuncture. I saw some pretty remarkable results (my vet used laser instead of needles). I know other acro folks have done acupuncture as well.
Thanks for the reply. Maybe a good day with BG and adequan. But he needs to slow down on good days. They said they can tear ligaments and break bones easily with his carpal condition. His rehab consult is tomorrow. I love acupuncture for myself. I think I would need someone to come to house for this.
 
Last edited:
I hope he was having a good day, if only we could explain to them why they need to be mellow when they feel well!
Good luck at the consultation tomorrow, keep us posted, Krista.
Hugs to Copernicus 🐈‍⬛ 🥰 :bighug:❤️
 
I get it, but this made me smile. For so long it was all about how lethargic he was and how he slept all the time and felt so poorly. So I kinda like the image of him needing to slow down. :)
All smiles over here until he bolted off the bed this a.m. onto the hardwood floor bypassing all steps. 🤦🏻‍♀️ I noticed after good days, he will sleep and limp more. There's a big difference between arthritis and carpal hyper extension in both front legs. If ligament tears, it's plates and screws major surgery. But he's been watching cat TV too. 😍
 
Last edited:
Back
Top