9/15 Charlie PMPS 306+2 256+4 85+5 65+5.5 50+6.45 48.6 +7 50

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/15 Charlie PMPS 306+2 256+4 85+5 65+5.5 50+6.45 48.6 +

Jill --

Please slow down and think. Please take a look at the sticky on handling low numbers. You feed small amounts -- 1 - 2 teaspoons of food and re-test in 20 - 30 min. Again, the point is to steer the cycle not slam on the brakes. You want to use food to bump up the numbers and not cause a huge food spike.

Also, it would be hugely helpful if you could keep all of the test numbers in their respective cell on Charlie's SS. Please see Gabby's SS for an example. Having to go read a foodnote is not efficient if you are needing help.
 
9/15 Charlie PMPS 306 +2 256 +4 85 +5 65 +6.45 48.6 +7 50 +8

Recap:

PMPS = 306 (Dose increase to 1.5 units). Fed LC.
+2 = 256
Fed LC
+4 = 85
+4.5 = 72
+5 = 65
+5.5 = 50
+5.75 = 58
+6.25 = 58
+6.75 = 48.6
Fed Gourmet gold beef (5.5% carbs? Not exactly sure if LC, MC or HC).
+7 = 50
+7.5 = 97
+8 = 97

Charlie has had 3 rising numbers and it is now 3am. Since we need to be up at 7am, I will sleep now and let my partner pick up morning duty so I can sleep an extra hour. Need to be out of the house by 9am for our appointment so I guess it will be another day of little sleep.

Thankfully though, my Charlie girl over here looks real good. She is again cleaning herself and seems real stable.
I do not think I will leave any food as she'll get more food in 4 hours. I read your theory earlier about not feeding after +7 and that makes sense to me since she's on the rise anyway.

Goodnight all,
Jill
 
Re: 9/15 Charlie PMPS 306+2 256+4 85+5 65+5.5 50+6.45 48.6 +

Goodnight Jill, sleep well. :smile:

Tomorrow when you have few minutes to digest it all, go back and read over all the information in this condo, because there was a lot of information being tossed to you all at once!

Carl
 
Re: 9/15 Charlie PMPS 306+2 256+4 85+5 65+5.5 50+6.45 48.6 +

k. hope you get a little rest.
I'll pm someone to come tell you what dose for sure since you asked earlier and I don't remember any direct answer.
Especially since you won't be there to watch tomorrow.
 
9/15 Charlie PMPS 306+2 256+4 85+5 65+6.45 48.6+7 50+8 97

Thanks Sienne. I will have a look at that example spreadsheet and refine our SS for the future. Sorry about that. We're making progress step by step but not everything gets done at once. I am doing my best at all this.

Tonight when I made the call to feed 1/2 can of gourmet gold, I do think I made an informed decision:

- My analysis (perhaps wrong... still don't know for sure) was that "gourmet gold beef" was about 5.5% carbs. This is not the highest carb food I had in the house. I did have maple syrup to add to LC, and I also have a "critical care" wet food that is considered HC. I went with the gourmet gold beef as compared to what we usually feed (1-2% carbs) this is already a step up for Charlie. I did not give maple syrup tonight (almost did, but quickly took it away when I saw that Charlie didn't take to it and I read your first message about "steering and not slamming on the brakes"). I think this was the right call.

- Giving gourmet gold beef rather than maple syrup seemed like "steering" to me. I thought 1/2 a can was the way to go because at +6.75 Charlie's numbers had fallen back to below threshold (48.6). That is technically below 50 so I assumed this was the "risky" zone. Therefore, I did not see a problem in putting out half a can and letting Charlie decide how much to eat to control her cycle.

I think, in the end, my decision making on this was good. Even though Charlie increased, it has not been by too much. Still now, she's at 97. This is pretty good for a girl who has never had 5 green numbers in a row YET since we began this journey.

I will go to bed now but I still will need to decide in the morning what to do with Charlie's dose.
Per protocol, I guess I COULD decrease to 1.25 again since Charlie went to 48.6, right? However, I am leaning towards sticking with the 1.5 units and leaving out food while we are away tomorrow (just to try and see progress on this dose, which may be the good dose for Charlie at this stage)?

What do you think?

Thanks for your input along the way, and you're right that I need to calm down. These days have been stressful for me and I am doing what I can to find peace with all of this. Easier said than done sometimes though, I must admit. I'm getting there with all your help. :smile:

Thanks for being there tonight everyone,
Jill
 
Re: 9/15 Charlie PMPS 306+2 256+4 85+5 65+5.5 50+6.45 48.6 +

Jill

I've read your condo thoroughly. IMHO, you should decrease the dose to 1.25u. Two reasons: (1) she earned a reduction with the 48 and (2) you will be out tomorrow. I know 48 seems like 50 and, with meter variance, it could have been but we don't look at it that way. If she has skyrocketed into high yellow or pink by AMPS, you could shoot through the bounce one time with the 1.5u but then take the reduction tomorrow night. However, I always am cautious because I know how fast cats can (and Charlie has) clear bounces. If I was going to be gone all day, even if she was high, I'd probably take the reduction and know positively that she is safe.

You did a great job tonight...so did Charlie (who is so incredibly gorgeous....I love tuxedos and she look sooooo soft!). I think the prudent thing to do is to follow the protocol and reduce.

Hope you got some rest.
 
Re: 9/15 Charlie PMPS 306+2 256+4 85+5 65+5.5 50+6.45 48.6 +

Your balcony is gorgeous! Does the cat use it more than anyone? Probably so, hee hee. Congrats on the great numbers!
 
Re: 9/15 Charlie PMPS 306+2 256+4 85+5 65+5.5 50+6.45 48.6 +

Good morning, Jill!

Wow, quite some excitement you had there!! Congratulations on the dose reduction :mrgreen: If I may, I thought I'd recap some of the central points made in this condo, starting with the question of the dose for the next shot:

(1) I agree with Marje on being cautious in Charlie's very specific case. She has cleared bounces rapidly, and (especially if you don't get a (+11) before your AMPS) you may be inadvertently shooting a bounce-clearing, dropping number, which can be dangerous, and even more so if no one is home to watch/test the cat. I would take the reduction this morning and shoot the 1.25u to be as safe as you can be.

(2) Sienne referred to a way in which you can keep numbers together in one cell - that's what she does on Gabby's SS, and what many others do, also. Here is an example from Gabby's SS for what Sienne meant, showing how it is then faster to see several numbers stacked in one "+Hour-Cell" than it is to go back an forth between the cells and the remarks section:

524486_10100311988390173_1026756940_n.jpg


(3) You did a great job in a scary situation - that second dip, then truly to sub-50, did surprise me too as I read through your condo! The remarks about the way one can use food to steer numbers without aborting a cycle's natural course were, I think, just meant to remind you that next time, you can feed a bit less than you did when the numbers are close to but not below 50, and re-test in 20-30 minutes to see whether a small amount of food does enough work to stabilize the BG. All of have seen and most of us have experiences situations when we were caught off guard and reacted a little too aggressively, and that's a normal part of learning how to navigate the sugary waters of FD :smile: You did great. (If you like, come over to Karre's New Caturday Condo and have a read through Lisa/Leo's Summary Condo, linked in the LL Highlights - you'll see thought processes that also explain the kind of before-and-after thinking with regard to steering cycles with food and whatnot.)

When you have had some rest and have some extra time, just read through your condo again - if you have any follow-up questions, we'll be here to answer them!
Many hugs!!
Jane
 
Re: 9/15 Charlie PMPS 306+2 256+4 85+5 65+5.5 50+6.45 48.6 +

Thanks everyone. We shot 1.25 this morning.
Jill
 
Re: 9/15 Charlie PMPS 306+2 256+4 85+5 65+5.5 50+6.45 48.6 +

Good:-) And the bounce wasn't too drastic either. Meant to say earlier - outside of mine, your avatar pic has to be my favorite to look at:-) The pose is perfect and I love the look on her face. I chuckle every time I see it :lol:
Carl
 
Re: 9/15 Charlie PMPS 306+2 256+4 85+5 65+5.5 50+6.45 48.6 +

I hope you got some much needed rest after the adventure last night - I agree - I've missed stuff in my condo too, in the heat of the moment! :smile:

I'm not sure what anyone else's experience is, but when I tried to strain the gravy out, I had this notion that the grave would flow right out. I have a wire-mesh strainer so there's a lot of room for draining.

Nothing happened.

I had to get a spoon and push and mash and scrap gravy of the bottom. :shock: I'm glad I didn't have to do that in the heat of the moment (because I'd already given tsp WITH the meat in it. It took a bit of work, but I got most of the gravy out. This was a variety that had smaller chunks of meat, so it may be easier with a "sliced" variety. Just thought I'd through that out there, because it wasn't as straightforward as I assumed it to be!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top