? 9/15 Boris OTJ Day 13 - Looking for input

learjetta

Member Since 2019
Took Boris off of insulin 13 days ago. His numbers haven't been very consistent, and a little higher than what would be considered remission, according to the protocol page:

"Remission is reached when kitty can go 14 days without insulin. Most cats will remain in the range of a healthy cat 50 - 80mg/dL (2.7 - 4.4 mmol/L) with only sporadic higher or lower BG numbers."

With insulin these would be very good numbers though, so I'm not sure... are these numbers good enough to keep him off of insulin? Is it not a very solid remission? I'm feeling pretty comfortable with this, but I want to make sure I'm not missing something.

Thanks!
 
His numbers are a little high for a cat in remission, if using a human meter. Normally we do a 0.1 unit dose after the 0.25 units. Or maybe fat drop was the same?
 
Essentially yes, I believe it was the same. We were pulling insulin in until we just grazed the 0 line on the syringe.
 
I agree some of the numners are a bit high for remission
Maybe try feeding him a small meal about +9 overnight to see if that brings down the AMBG.
Are you also feeding several smaller meals during the day and night?
 
We are feeding them every 6 hours, and trying to keep the meal sizes similar. We tried smaller meals in between shot times, but that didn't seem to work for him... his BG was more erratic that way.

I can't be sure he's eating every night either... if he doesn't feel like getting up to eat, he may not. The other 2 cats would be more than happy to eat his portion.
 
Well, today he threw up his mostly undigested breakfast about 4 hours later. Now his lunchtime +6 BG is 227. Hopefully he's just percolating a hairball. Fingers crossed.
 
Actually, after looking back through his spreadsheet, it appears he pukes most often after eating the Merrick Surfin' & Turfin'. I wonder if he has a sensitivity to that food? He doesn't enjoy eating it, that's for sure.

Luckily that was the last can, so hopefully that will help.
 
I hope it's just the stress of puking/being sick that's made his number higher. I don't think I'd give him any more of that food...and hopefully it'll ease his tummy troubles - no more puking = better numbers. Fingers and paws crossed for you both!
 
Back
Top