9/14 Toby's AMS=365+6=415+9=396PMS=379

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Toby ams are still running high 365 does this mean he's still in a bounce? He still doing good . Hope his bg comes down more
if not he is feeling a lot better . We'll go with that for now. Have a good day, Peg and Toby PS neg. on the ketones.
 
Re: 9/14 Toby's AMS=365

Good morning, Peg. I'm so glad to hear that Toby is feeling better...and no ketones, too. Yay! :-D

I'm not the most experienced person when it comes to analyzing ss's, and I can only recognize bounces when I see lots of numbers. ohmygod_smile Sorry I can't answer your question, but I'm hoping others will be able to.

Have a great day!
Shelly
 
Re: 9/14 Toby's AMS=365

hard to say because he's only staying for a minute when he comes down. it's possible he went lower the night of 9/12 after that 240. i don't know.

in any case, today is the 3rd day following the 89 and if you don't seen a green number by pmps, i'd increase by 0.25u. I'm looking at his ss and seeing most days he's having nadirs over 200. That one green number isn't enough to hold longer when there were ketones in the recent picture, in my opinion.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 9/14 Toby's AMS=365+6=415

I don't understand it he started out so good now we started lower in the ams and raise up after like today at +6 he's 415 when he started out at 365. Any answers ? Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/14 Toby's AMS=365+6=415

i don't know the exact answer to your question. i don't think any of us could answer it - but i think the bottom line is that Toby needs to have a little more insulin. There's not going to be a green today, as far as i can see, so i'd increase to 4.25u tonight.

One possibility is a bounce from some unseen low number on the night of 9/12. but i'm not convinced of that because he only dropped 60 points in 3 hours (from the 302 to the 240), and that wouldn't suggest he got very low after that before yesterday morning.

We also know that absorption rates can vary from one shot to the next by as much as 50%. So .. . . perhaps he's absorbed less.

My brain will hurt if i try too hard to figure it out, :lol: but the bottom line is that cats are somewhat erratic when they are unregulated. His cycles will improve as we get his blood sugar under better control and the overall range comes down.
 
Re: 9/14 Toby's AMS=365+6=415

Do you think he will do better on the levermir than he did on the PZI? We never really got him regulated on the PZI . Just wish we could see some improvement. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/14 Toby's AMS=365+6=415

absolutely! I've seen amazing results on both Lantus and Lev, although i have to say I don't have experience to comment on PZI. Punkin started on ProZinc for 2 months, but i was just following vet orders and really didn't know anything about it at that point.

It just takes a while to move up incrementally (ie, safely, following the TR guidelines). Toby isn't to a good dose yet, but he'll get there. really. just keep posting & keep asking questions.

In general, you want to re-evaluate his dose every 6 cycles. we can help you do that - but it helps if you say something so we know it's time to re-evaluate. I always look first for the ? post icon or a question "dose?" in the subject line when i scan the board. Then i visit all the new member's condos to see if they have questions in their posts.

Holding a dose too long that isn't getting him into good numbers will just make him get more used to high numbers and it doesn't help anything.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top