9/14 Tiggy AMPS 353+7 304 PMPS 266

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous post

STILL bouncing?!? :( But he still has a ton of energy too - i was in the bathroom and I hear him coming. I see his little head peek round the door and I move toward him and he runs off really quick all excited. Runs up and down the stairs as fast as his little feet will carry him. Maybe I shouldnt get too caught up in numbers when he is feeling good.. but i do miss those greens and blues.

Wendy
 
Re: 9/14 Tiggy AMPS 353

There may be NDW on each increase (back up the scale) but it may be hard to tell that from continued overall failure of the reduction(s).

Once Chip starts the harsh bouncing, he seems to lose most/all progress.

I'm interested to hear what Wendy thinks since Neko seems to be able to linger longer after failed reduction(s) without losing everything.
 
Re: 9/14 Tiggy AMPS 353

Yikes - that definitely isn't a Tiggy number, although it is the same as Neko's usual mid morning +4.5 bounce. :roll: It's great to hear how much energy he has though, you think he'd be feeling off in these numbers because they are unusual for him.

Dale - I'm currently only doing microdose decreases for Neko. So I'm going up or down by .125 units (thank you calipers!). She seems to be sensitive to the small changes and it's what works for her. So by not going down by as much, I'm not losing as much if the reduction fails. Her working pancreas sometimes picks up the slack as well. There's also a different physiology at work. As an acrocat who's undergone SRT, decreases are happening because tumor cells are dying off without reproducing. There is also probably still some affect of the variable output of the tumor cells that are still kicking around and that can mean increases.
 
Re: 9/14 Tiggy AMPS 353

So where might Tiggy fit into that with his big doses? Can we make any guess? Or might he be more like Chip?

BTW what I see that went wrong with the reductions wasn't the skipped shot, although it didn't help things.

I suspect it was the 3 reductions in 6 days which allowed the dose to get too far below the (still holding) depot. So when the depot from the higher doses finally wound down, the reduction(s) failed.
 
Re: 9/14 Tiggy AMPS 353+7 304

So what does that mean now? He is bouncing hard for a long time but when he does come down its into low greens ie 59. I might be able to increase a bit to get the low lower, but its not going to help the bouncing.

Wendy
 
Re: 9/14 Tiggy AMPS 353+7 304

Good question. Hopefully Wendy has some ideas. :-D

Personally I don't think Tiggy behaves that much like an acro.

The standard Tilly protocol (which is the basis for Chips dosing) doesn't allow unbridled bouncing.

Instead you keep increasing at least every 7 days (even with somewhat regular mid-green nadirs) as long as they go over 200 for any reason, including bouncing.

If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is >200mg/dL (11 mmol/L) : Increase every 5-7 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on
if cat on low or high dose of insulin
 
Re: 9/14 Tiggy AMPS 353+7 304

Hi Wendy,
Sorry about the high numbers, but I'm really happy to hear he's so energetic.
I'll trade better numbers with playing peekaboo and running up and down. :-D
 
Re: 9/14 Tiggy AMPS 353+7 304

Sounds good to me. My plan was to keep increasing by 0.5 every three days as long as his low point was over 40.

I have seen quite a few acro cats SS and dont think he looks like most of them, plus his acro diagnosis was borderline to the point the lab said no. But maybe he has a very small tumor.

In my gut though I think its IAA and it was too many decreases in a short time. And I want to outpace it this time. I think a week is too long to hold the dose for him.

Whats the worst that can happen if I push him too hard and too fast? He goes too low? I am testing enough and see his patterns that I think I can catch that.


Wendy

PS Mariko - Lucy doesnt have energy? Her numbers are great!
 
Re: 9/14 Tiggy AMPS 353+7 304

I suspect IAA and "temporary resistance" may look and behave similar on everything but scale.

The dose doesn't matter as much as the numbers (especially when your Lantus is cheap ;-) ) but still that was *big* to make it from 9U down to 5U.

Kind of looked like he was on a mission. Next time perhaps we can consult Libby on when to take those reductions and when not to. nailbite_smile
 
Yep although he earned his decreases.. I wonder too if he dropped again the day we were out and went too too low (lower than 38) or that low too long and his liver is now really panicky.

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top