9/14 SmokeyD AMPS 155, +1.5 171 Last night's excitment

Status
Not open for further replies.

SmokeyD

Member Since 2011
Morning LLanders!

Well, Smokey and I had some excitement last night. I had to give Smokey's insulin 10 min early last night (at +11h 40 min) and his PMPS was only 117. I didn't think that this was too bad but thought I'd better keep an eye on it later in the evening. +3 was 96- a lovely green number and I set an alarm for +5. When I tested at +5.5 we were at 55/64 (I tested twice to be sure). I broke out the FF gravy lovers and gave him a tablespoon of it (with the chunks). He LOVED it- he just better not start throwing these low numbers just to get yummy fuds...
+6.2 75
+6.8 82

At that point, I put out an addn'l 1/4 can of FF classic and went back to sleep and set my alarm for 2am just to check. Smokey seemed great at 2am- had eaten some more and I didn't test bg- I was pretty out of it.

This morning, AMPS was 155 and I skinnied up the 2U. He ate a good bit for 1 and 2 breffis. +1.5 was 171.

I think we had a good night!

Now for the bad part.... We are using a 10mL vial of Lantus- the one that the horrible vet prescribed. I know that it is only guaranteed to last for 28 days but that most people get way longer out of it. I've been very careful about contamination- wiping the top with EtOH and not introducing anything but air back into the vial once I've pulled into the syringe. I had called the vet to ask him to change the refill from the 10mL vial to the cartridges as they will be the better bet... I got a call back, he asked about Smokey's progress, I told him how we had worked our way up to 2U and what his numbers were- He was not happy with numbers under 100 and wants me to go back to 1.75u (I'm totally fine with disregarding his advice- he wants people to use N so...) but he didn't answer my question about the stability of Lantus and about changing the refill. He wants me to call back in 10 days. I was NOT happy after this conversation.

So, here's my question- how long do I go with this 10mL vial... In theory, I have enough for almost 5mos. I keep it in the fridge, am careful with it and use aseptic technique (without being in a laminar flow hood).

Thoughts appreciated!
 
Hi, I use my vial for at least four months, and I probably could go for five months. If you're careful with it, and it sounds like you are, I'd say it's safe to use longer than 28 days. Vets and Pharmacists will tell you otherwise, but my Vet agrees with 4-5 months. Others here may have differing opinions. Great cycle for Smokey and you did great, too!
 
I got my 10ml vial in June and am still using it. My vet said even though it says to toss it after 28 days to go ahead and use it until the numbers are consistently higher and climbing after each shot.
 
It's good to hear that someone is getting 4ish months out of a Lantus vial! That's my goal. I'm crossing my fingers.
 
Sienne- should I have let him go down to the 40's then fed the high carb? Should I keep the 2U and see if it happens again then reduce?

Edit: Just went back and looked at the more complete regulation protocol on Tilly's page- You're right- no dose reduction for Smokers! I guess I left my big girl pants in the laundry last night :lol: - thanks for the reminder Sienne and for looking out for Smokey!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top