9/14 mocha pmps 198 +3 289

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Member Since 2009
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24844

WCR: was a stubborn cat last night and would not touch her HC gravy while we were all up so we had to go into the bedroom an hour early and she still refused to touch it .. at the point of pure exhaustion/frustration on our end, she walked happily over to the gravy and lapped it up at +2.5. Checked her right after to see what she was at and she was at 37. So we fed her HC gravy w/ karo and she lapped that up as well. Tested at +3 and she was over 100 so we went to bed for awhile and got up to do as needed spot checks. She has only continued to climb since. She did technically earn a dose reduction but we aren't taking it this morning. Shooting through this pink nonsense once again in hopes of getting her to come back down. Yesterday was a depressing day for us as we went to my grandmas and checked out our little ol' pop up camper we saved up for and got to use twice last year ... this year, not even once. Next year it goes up for sale. Kinda depressing to us but such is life! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/14 mocha amps 354

Sounds like you and Sienne had some kitty drama last night w/scuba diving kitties.

Hope Mocha comes down a bit for ya.
 
Re: 9/14 mocha amps 354

I guess Mocha and Gabby are in the same drama class.
Sorry about the camper. I know you have said in the past that you cannot take Mocha with you but do you think she would get used to it? I never thought I would be able to take Putty on vacation with us but we did and it took a little time but he got used to it.
 
Re: 9/14 mocha amps 354

Good Morning Devon. I'm glad I didn't see that mistake yesterday morning. I was depressed enough all day. :lol:
I hope Mocha gives you some beautiful green surfing today....or at least light blue. :-D
 
Re: 9/14 mocha amps 354

Hi Devon, Mocha didn't want Gabby to outdo her, that's for sure!! Neck-and-neck!!
We have friends who take their 3 birds camping in a pop-up camper. I'll bet you could train Mocha to accept the camping experience if you start early enough next spring. Maybe get a pop-up tent and put it up in your apartment and put all the stuff she likes in it so that she'll get used to that type of space. A nice winter project for you!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 9/14 mocha amps 354

Mocha is doing so well..and she is on her way down the dosing scale...
(you might regret selling that little camper if that's what you plan to really do...)
Just sayin...
I guess it's all relative. I mean, Shadow is still on his way UP the dosing scale so things are a little bleak on our horizon right now.
Mocha's success looks awfully good from where I am sitting, KWIM? :lol: If he had a SS like Mocha's I guess I might be stocking that little pop up right about now...flashlights and dish towels...and what else do we need? SO much STUFF! I'd be counting the days till I could take off! :lol:
 
Re: 9/14 mocha amps 354

Well, Mocha has company, Tinkles is up there on the pink floor too this morning! I'm sure they both will clear the bounce and come back down to better numbers soon!

I hope you can find a way to take Mocha and go camping! It seems a shame to give it up.
 
Re: 9/14 mocha amps 354

binks doesnt mind rides in the car as long as it doesnt involve 20+ hours in what we call the U-Hell moving van! he's more interested in a swanky hotel than the woods, tho...preferably one with a Dolce' & Gabano or Macy's in the lobby for those "last minute outfit" purchases that every girl needs on vacation.

mocha...if the camper doesnt work out, maybe you and i can book a room at one of the Hiltons...

Dorothy
 
Re: 9/14 mocha amps 354

My dad had great success with getting his two cats used to traveling in the car. He knew he was going to be moving to California, and would have a several day drive, so he started taking them for short trips to nowhere...just drove for 30 minutes and came home. He did that for a few days, then started to lengthen the trip time. A few weeks later he took a trip to visit my brother, and both cats came along for the 2.5hr ride and did fine. They settled into my brother's basement for the weekend without much fuss too. And when the time came to actually make the move to CA, both cats handled it quite well, with no issues. he did stop every few hours to let them stretch their legs, and he had a disposable litter box on the floor of the backseat in his car. Both cats settled into my grandparents' home just fine, and I think my dad still takes them on car trips to nowhere every now and then just so they freak out less when they go to the vet.
 
Re: 9/14 mocha amps 354 +4 269

well at least she is out of the pinks now ... thanks for all the encouragement on getting mocha accustomed to camping .. but we don't think it will work .. mocha has freaked out here at our house and has ripped through our window screens before .. those were easy and cheap to replace, but having her go through the pop up screen would be much more expensive .. we could keep her caged, but that isn't right for her either ... last night we told each other that when the time comes for us to be able to go camping again, we will get a hard sided camper, just in case for future animals ... even though the camper is an older one ('95) it's in to nice of shape to let it sit and get ruined waiting for us to be able to go camping in .. we'll have to sell it in the spring ... but thanks again for all the encouragement on mochas progress ...
 
Re: 9/14 mocha pmps 198

hopefully her bounce is thinking about clearing already...

Sorry about the camper. I understand finding it hard to leave her. I have access to a great petsitter, but I still only left Lucy once while she was on the juice. So far I haven't left Jazzy at all, though I'm trying to plan a long weekend getaway soon.
 
Re: 9/14 mocha pmps 198

Devon you are a brave woman to try to get Mocha to camp if she has never done it... not that they can't learn....

Would you mind marking the 37 on the table of your SS - I know it's in the notes, but it doesn't jump out as much. Only a suggestion of course.

Also... so no dose reduction this AM... how 'bout tonight? Did you want to make sure the RBC was going out? I know that Mocha is on a special program... but I thought the 30s were pretty clear cut... just saying.

nice to see lots of blues and greens in this SS. :-D
 
Re: 9/14 mocha pmps 198

Helene & Tizon said:
Also... so no dose reduction this AM... how 'bout tonight? Did you want to make sure the RBC was going out? I know that Mocha is on a special program... but I thought the 30s were pretty clear cut... just saying.
i was thinking the same. 30's, especially early in the cycle, warrant a reduction. kwim?
 
Re: 9/14 mocha pmps 198

Nice pmps for mocha - so much better than that bouncy pink. What a night last night.

I too am sorry about the camper - but I understand all too well what you mean. We haven't left Mannie ever - short of my day hikes, but vacation? Can't remember the last one. We've just started making day trips out of what time we have. Not too bad actually....
 
well mocha won't ever be camping with us .. we already know that .. it just isn't possible with her and how she reacts to strays, she's soooo territorial it's unreal ... The last time we left mocha overnight was last year, about two weeks after she was diagnosed and on vetsulin .. in fact, I don't think I have even been more then an hour or two away from home at any time in the last year and a half ...

We meant to give mocha a dose reduction tonight, but a friend stopped by and in the midst of catching up with her, we shot 2.0. Tomorrow morning we will reduce. Although we do have to say we are pretty impressed with the 100 point increase in three hours. Nice one mocha ...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top