Thanks! I had really hoped she would have spent a little more time in the blue before she decided to bounce…clearly not given the +6 readingNice blue today. Hope the increase helps to get rid of those blacks.
Hi BhoomaHi Karen!
Welcome to the LBL forum! Glad you were able to finally make the switch to Lantus.
Link to your first post in the Main Forum: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/introduction-from-long-time-lurker.251964/
Btw, what syringes are you using? 8.5mm on the callipers for 1U??!! It's usually anywhere between 1mm and 1.6mm per unit.
The Lantus depot take a week to build. Is your vet guiding you wrt dosing? These are the dosing protocols we follow here:
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
Since you're feeding LC wet and can get enough tests an aggressive protocol like TR may be better for Millie. Especially with a history of DKA.
Good luck with Lantus.![]()


Let me see if I can simplify it for you:I have been having a read about the two protocols but am still undecided…I keep flip-flopping between the two!
Let me see if I can simplify it for you:
SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90 mg/dl (on a human meter). The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.
TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50 mg/dl (on a human meter). The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.
TR helps you go up the dosing ladder faster and hold doses where the cats sees numbers in the normal range (50-100 mg/dl on a human meter).
Some kitties are bouncier than others. What helps bouncing is for them to get used to lower numbers. TR will help in that, you can increases doses faster to take her to those good numbers.My concern is she bounces…a lot!! Can TR help with that?
The intial Lantus depot takes a week to build. So I would recommend you hold the the 1U dose for 4 days at least (till 16/9) unless Millie earns a reduction before then!Also increasing dosing that fast, does that mean the “ideal” dose can be missed? My understanding is that Lantus takes a while to build up the depot.
Some kitties are bouncier than others. What helps bouncing is for them to get used to lower numbers. TR will help in that, you can increases doses faster to take her to those good numbers.
Oliver used to bounce to blacks - took him 5-6 months - but he's now flat:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...mWq-niJyfTd030_bh2xLOMA0GAk3GgwWzjpzk/pubhtml
The intial Lantus depot takes a week to build. So I would recommend you hold the the 1U dose for 4 days at least (till 16/9) unless Millie earns a reduction before then!
After the initial depot builds, it takes 4-6 cycles to adjust to changes. By increasing in multiples of 0.25U instead of whole units and by getting enough tests to see how low the BG goes at each dose, you ensure that you don't bypass a good dose. With TR, you hold each dose at least 6 cycles - when you start seeing nadirs below 200, you hold the dose for 10 cycles.
Feel free to ask as many questions as you want!![]()

Is this what your vet showed you? Just wondering where you learned this? We heard about a FB group that was telling people to measure from the plunger and I did a few experiments. With the "bounciness" of the plunger when you press it in, I got quite a difference both between syringe manufacturers and within syringes from the same manufacturer, syringe to syringe. I found it a lot less accurate than measuring what is actually in the barrel.I was taught to measure from the thumb plunger end hence the 8mm+ measurement. I have a template syringe set aside to check against if needs be. I know some people measure the barrel, I just find it a bit tricker to do it that way…and a 6.30am with only a few hours sleep I need everything to be as easy as possible
Hello and welcome to you and your bouncy girl.
A note on the spreadsheet, the US tab doesn't translate "Hi" or "High" to anything, so you have to go in and manually change the US tab in that case. I had to do the same with my bouncy one.
Another thing that causes bounces, besides hitting lower numbers than they are used to, is fast drops. Millie seems to like to drop a lot at the beginning of her cycle. What times are you feeding her? Sometimes we can give a small meal or snack 1/2 or so before onset, and slow down those drops which some fresh carbs on board.
Is this what your vet showed you? Just wondering where you learned this? We heard about a FB group that was telling people to measure from the plunger and I did a few experiments. With the "bounciness" of the plunger when you press it in, I got quite a difference both between syringe manufacturers and within syringes from the same manufacturer, syringe to syringe. I found it a lot less accurate than measuring what is actually in the barrel.