? 9/14 Ivy amps 321, +5 209, +7 177, +10 215, pmps 256, +2.25 135, +3.5 109,+10.5 92 vet appt question

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-82-7-155-10-373-pmps-400-3-400-5-252.281525/
Day 3 on increased 3 u today. Ivy bounced high last pm cycle after her am drop.
I anticipate a bounce break today (do you think I’m correct?)

I decided to slow down transitioning her food to lower carbs while she settles into this higher dose. Will keep feeding what has already been lowered to 9.25% and once she stabilizes, I will add more lower carbs every few days to get entire diet lower from her 12.5% recipe (hind cooked).

On another subject, I have to take Ivy next Tuesday to the hospital to have her leg x-rayed as follow up from her broken leg earlier this summer. She will be sedated with gabapentin & trazodone (her norm) and they will sedate her more to manipulate the leg.

They are also going to do some labs while we are there. It’s been 4 months since labs.

I am then going to drive her over to her primary vet because she has a spot on her nose that looks crusty, and I want them to look at that while she’s sedated (to save another sedated day.)
Here’s the question:, she hast to be fasting for the first appointment at +3, (9 am) to do the x-rays and will have a half a dose of insulin at her normal am time, given about three hours before the appointment.
Her second appointment for the nose is not until +5.5 (11:30 am)
Should I feed her before the second appointment to get some food into her, since she will have been fasting since the prior night at +4 (10 pm)?

She will be more than 12 hours without food by the time she goes to the second appointment and I’m concerned that she will need some food in her system by that point even though giving 1/2 dose of 1.5 units Lantus.

Plus she normally gets snacks at +1,2,3 in am cycle. She can’t have that either.
What do you think?
 
Oh man, good luck with the vet appts...I honestly don't know what you would do....I'm eager to see what more experienced members say about that. Please keep me posted on her visits, hope all goes well! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Why are they fasting her for sedation? Typically they only fast for anaesthesia. Neko was never fasted for sedation. She could be a bit, umm - spicy?:p, at the vet, depending on what they were doing. Can you call the vet and double check the fasting instructions. Ask the front desk to speak to the vet about it, and remind them she is diabetic. The no feeding after 10 is also something for non diabetic cats. At worst Neko could eat until midnight, but with dentals she was allowed to eat until 6AM, and that was when she was having full on anaesthesia.

And yes, bring food with you and feed that girl when she's finished her first appointment. No need to starve her. Don't gorge her, but give little amounts spaced out in time.
 
Why are they fasting her for sedation? Typically they only fast for anaesthesia. Neko was never fasted for sedation. She could be a bit, umm - spicy?:p, at the vet, depending on what they were doing. Can you call the vet and double check the fasting instructions. Ask the front desk to speak to the vet about it, and remind them she is diabetic. The no feeding after 10 is also something for non diabetic cats. At worst Neko could eat until midnight, but with dentals she was allowed to eat until 6AM, and that was when she was having full on anaesthesia.

And yes, bring food with you and feed that girl when she's finished her first appointment. No need to starve her. Don't gorge her, but give little amounts spaced out in time.
Hi Wendy, yes I did discuss with them the diabetic situation and they told me to give a 1/2 dose that morning prior to the X-rays.
They said they need to give her more sedation because they have to stretch out and manipulate the healing leg and I guess they want her easier to handle.

This is their normal procedure but of course we have the diabetic situation.

I did follow this procedure for the last set of X-rays 6 weeks ago, but we came right home and I fed her. (Even though it was several hours we were gone)

This time I’m adding on another appointment to have her nose looked at from my primary doc.

I guess the only thing I can do is fed her asap once she’s awake enough (probably in the car!)
Just what I need, more to worry about!
 
135 at +2.25 (Libre) fast drop tonight in this hour. Ivy could use a set of brakes.
Fed 1 tsp 12% lambs diet.
Am cycle was relatively flat blue and yellow. Now she seems to want to hit green. could be active night. :coffee:
 
Ivi is very red today, isn't he? could something happen to him? Do you have any ailment? Do you think he could be sick?
 
Back
Top