Staci & Ivy
Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-82-7-155-10-373-pmps-400-3-400-5-252.281525/
Day 3 on increased 3 u today. Ivy bounced high last pm cycle after her am drop.
I anticipate a bounce break today (do you think I’m correct?)
I decided to slow down transitioning her food to lower carbs while she settles into this higher dose. Will keep feeding what has already been lowered to 9.25% and once she stabilizes, I will add more lower carbs every few days to get entire diet lower from her 12.5% recipe (hind cooked).
On another subject, I have to take Ivy next Tuesday to the hospital to have her leg x-rayed as follow up from her broken leg earlier this summer. She will be sedated with gabapentin & trazodone (her norm) and they will sedate her more to manipulate the leg.
They are also going to do some labs while we are there. It’s been 4 months since labs.
I am then going to drive her over to her primary vet because she has a spot on her nose that looks crusty, and I want them to look at that while she’s sedated (to save another sedated day.)
Here’s the question:, she hast to be fasting for the first appointment at +3, (9 am) to do the x-rays and will have a half a dose of insulin at her normal am time, given about three hours before the appointment.
Her second appointment for the nose is not until +5.5 (11:30 am)
Should I feed her before the second appointment to get some food into her, since she will have been fasting since the prior night at +4 (10 pm)?
She will be more than 12 hours without food by the time she goes to the second appointment and I’m concerned that she will need some food in her system by that point even though giving 1/2 dose of 1.5 units Lantus.
Plus she normally gets snacks at +1,2,3 in am cycle. She can’t have that either.
What do you think?
Day 3 on increased 3 u today. Ivy bounced high last pm cycle after her am drop.
I anticipate a bounce break today (do you think I’m correct?)
I decided to slow down transitioning her food to lower carbs while she settles into this higher dose. Will keep feeding what has already been lowered to 9.25% and once she stabilizes, I will add more lower carbs every few days to get entire diet lower from her 12.5% recipe (hind cooked).
On another subject, I have to take Ivy next Tuesday to the hospital to have her leg x-rayed as follow up from her broken leg earlier this summer. She will be sedated with gabapentin & trazodone (her norm) and they will sedate her more to manipulate the leg.
They are also going to do some labs while we are there. It’s been 4 months since labs.
I am then going to drive her over to her primary vet because she has a spot on her nose that looks crusty, and I want them to look at that while she’s sedated (to save another sedated day.)
Here’s the question:, she hast to be fasting for the first appointment at +3, (9 am) to do the x-rays and will have a half a dose of insulin at her normal am time, given about three hours before the appointment.
Her second appointment for the nose is not until +5.5 (11:30 am)
Should I feed her before the second appointment to get some food into her, since she will have been fasting since the prior night at +4 (10 pm)?
She will be more than 12 hours without food by the time she goes to the second appointment and I’m concerned that she will need some food in her system by that point even though giving 1/2 dose of 1.5 units Lantus.
Plus she normally gets snacks at +1,2,3 in am cycle. She can’t have that either.
What do you think?

