? - 9/14 Henri PMPS 166, +3 282, +4 269 +5 214, +6 212, +7 168, +8 149 AM hypo, hypo again tonight? | Page 2 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

? 9/14 Henri PMPS 166, +3 282, +4 269 +5 214, +6 212, +7 168, +8 149 AM hypo, hypo again tonight?

Her PMPS was 166 (down from +11 184) but I dosed her with her new lower dose of .75. Her +1 is 271 but she already ate dinner (77 cals) I do have a probiotic treat and an L-lysine treat that she usually gets late night to early morning hours bc it seems to hold her off for breakfast without her getting too upset. I have no idea of the carb content on those.
 
Many of us feed several small meals instead of one large one, for a couple reasons. One, it's easier on the healing pancreas not to have to deal with a huge amount of food at once. Human diabetics (who don't heal), also do more smaller meals. Two, you can use food strategically to influence how the numbers change. If you have a kitty that likes to drop hard at onset (when the insulin takes effect), it can help slow the drop to give them a small meal before onset to slow the drop. See how Henri dropped about 80 points at onset today? A small meal about +1 or +1.5 might have slowed that drop a bit.

Plus with my girl, she would chew my toes off if she had to wait an entire 12 hour before her next meal! :p Even before diabetes, she got multiple meals a day. Cats hunt prey several times a day. I once read that about one mouse worth at a time was good.

Which L-lysine and probiotic treats are you giving? I just give them as powders mixed in with the food.
 
On this forum, we use a preshot value of under 150 as the number where you stop, do not feed or shoot, and post for help, if you are following TR.

Here is a post on Neuropathy, with links to videos.

Note that a cat's insulin needs can vary over time. Their pancreatic beta cells have the unique ability to heal, provided they spend enough time in healing numbers to give those beta cells a chance to recover. That does mean dose needs can change. With healing, the beta cells produce more insulin on their own, and less injected insulin is needed. And if the cat stays at a dose that is just resulting in high numbers for too long, their body gets used to it, and it can cause glucose toxicity that results in beta cell loss. Glucose toxicity is a type of insulin resistance and needs more insulin to break through it.

Printing out the sticky notes is an excellent idea. There could even be a time when the power goes out and you lose connection to the internet. I had to test and shoot a couple times by flashlight.

Thanks for the info on neuropathy! Her back legs are definitely affected and they do slip out from her bit but I think she is still walking up on her toes. I'll have to take a closer look when she wakes up lol
When she was in the ER she was also being treated for low potassium levels which the article said has similar symptoms to the neuropathy. I', going to order some of the Methyl B-12 and also look into a potasium supplement for her. I cant seem to find out if it's water or fat soluble in cats. She has an appointment with the vet tech to get an antibiotic shot and I may also ask for them to check her Potassium levels as well. I have to wait until next week to talk to my vet though since she is away on vacation.

Thanks for all this fantastic info! I've been printing everything out. Im going to have to turn my Henri folder into a Henri binder lol
 
Many of us feed several small meals instead of one large one, for a couple reasons. One, it's easier on the healing pancreas not to have to deal with a huge amount of food at once. Human diabetics (who don't heal), also do more smaller meals. Two, you can use food strategically to influence how the numbers change. If you have a kitty that likes to drop hard at onset (when the insulin takes effect), it can help slow the drop to give them a small meal before onset to slow the drop. See how Henri dropped about 80 points at onset today? A small meal about +1 or +1.5 might have slowed that drop a bit.

Plus with my girl, she would chew my toes off if she had to wait an entire 12 hour before her next meal! :p Even before diabetes, she got multiple meals a day. Cats hunt prey several times a day. I once read that about one mouse worth at a time was good.

Which L-lysine and probiotic treats are you giving? I just give them as powders mixed in with the food.
Eventually I want her to free feed but I'm having a fly problem. She also only recently started eating enough calories regularly...I'm thinking I will continue with the appetite stimulant and anti-nausea for 1 more round just to be on the safe side. So it will be out of her system in about 3 more days. Right now I try to get 70-90 calories into her at 7 am after her AMPS and her insulin dose, then when my husband takes his lunch break at noon, he can usually get about 20-30 calories into her. He usually picks her food up around 2pm bc of the fly problem...so from 12-2 she has access. Then when I get home I do he PMPS, dose her with insulin and try to get 60-80 calories into her. I'll also offer her food around 10 or 11 before I usually go to bed (bedtime...whats that lol) and she'll eat another 20 calories or so. I keep her lysine treat and probiotic near me so when she does he late night nibbling I can just give her those. I use the treats and not the powder bc 1...she loves them and even if she's not hungry she will ALWAYS eat them...so at times when I need her to eat I can crumble one and put it on top of her food and she goes for it every time. I use the "Pet Naturals of Vermont" brand. Even my picky girl with stomatitis bc of the feline herpes virus...will eat these. which is so helpful bc L-lysine is shown to stop the replication of the virus in a flare up event. So dosing daily as soon as you notice a flare up and 4 days until it's gone.
 
Don't give a potassium supplement without advice of the vet. There are dangers for being too high. They should be taking her bloodwork regularly if you start to supplement potassium.
yes, definitely. That why I was trying to find out if its water or fat soluble. If it's water soluble they can't overdose on it. But yes, I'm definitely going to speak to the vet about it and ask that they check her levels before giving anything to her. I would just rather have it on hand in case I need it for some reason.
It would be helpfull to know if her potassium levels were low and that could be whats causing the weak legs, or if it's the neuropathy
 
Have you tried an autofeeder? They should seal in the food from the flies. If you get a rotating one, you can set it to rotate to another empty slot after a period of time.
 
Does bringing her up more slowly like I did today decrease the chance of her bouncing? A few weeks ago was my first low number (66) and I panicked and gave her a ton of food lol I didnt realize at the time that only 1 tsp every 15-20 min was needed. She came up quickly and much higher and then was bouncing like crazy

Sometimes brining them up slowly prevents a high bounce, sometimes it doesn’t. It does allow a better chance to keep them in normal numbers longer which means fewer bounces and quicker clearing. For most. Some cats bounce all the way to OTJ!

You were fine to shoot. I told you to post more for your benefit than his. With TR people shoot with bg of 50 when they have enough data and feel confident.[/QUOTE]
ah...ok lol Yeah total nervous momma here :p

I think she might be bouncing? her +1 was 271 and her +2 was 321. I'm just hoping she doesn't go back into the reds again
 
Have you tried an autofeeder? They should seal in the food from the flies. If you get a rotating one, you can set it to rotate to another empty slot after a period of time.
I do have one that has ice packs for wet food..to keep it fresh. We used to use it for our epi kitty when we traveled bc it made it easier for others to medicate her. unfortunately it doesn't seal tight enough. These flies are tiny like fruit flies but they are something else. My husband turned over an empty can of cat food the other day on a flat dish (so the opening was down) so he could show me what food he fed her. When I picked it up, a swarm of flies came out :( They seem to be attracted to our garbage, sink, the litter box and the cat food. Garbage now has a lid and goes out every night, pooped is picked up throughout the day, no wet food left out unsupervised and no dishes left in the sink at all for any amount of time. I had the exterminator here and he gave us this foam stuff to put in the drains at night to kill any eggs/larvae. Fingers crossed this works bc it's driving me nuts. Other people I know are having the same problem so it must just be a bad year for flies I guess
 
Her PMPS 166, +1 271, +2 321. Is this another bounce bc we reduced her dose back from 1 unit to .75? Is there anything I should expect other than high numbers and bouncing being that she was raised back to 1 unit only a couple days ago
 
She dropped to a lower bg than she is used to, the 47, so her body caused a bounce. It happens either when they drop too quickly or if they see a bg a lot lower than they have seen in a long time. She’s bouncing for sure. It can are as many as 6 cycles to clear. Some cats clear them quicker than others. You won’t have to test more than a before bed test.
 
She dropped to a lower bg than she is used to, the 47, so her body caused a bounce. It happens either when they drop too quickly or if they see a bg a lot lower than they have seen in a long time. She’s bouncing for sure. It can are as many as 6 cycles to clear. Some cats clear them quicker than others. You won’t have to test more than a before bed test.
I just tested her again and she's headed back down again. Her number isn't super low or anything though. It's +3 282. Its a little early I think though in the cycle to be heading down for her...no? Her +3 this morning was a big drop but I don't think she typically hits her nadir until around +6 to +8?
 
Looks like last night. I would get a +4 or +5 and then go to sleep if pink or yellow. If not sure ask. Yes should know by +6 for sure.
 
I'll also offer her food around 10 or 11 before I usually go to bed (bedtime...whats that lol) and she'll eat another 20 calories or so. I keep her lysine treat and probiotic near me so when she does he late night nibbling I can just give her those. I use the treats and not the powder bc 1...she loves them and even if she's not hungry she will ALWAYS eat them...so at times when I need her to eat I can crumble one and put it on top of her food and she goes for it every time. I use the "Pet Naturals of Vermont" brand.

Check the ingredients on those lysine treats. I'm seeing a lot of carbs and sugar... oat flour, maltodextrin, etc. Possibly those treats could be affecting her numbers.
 
Check the ingredients on those lysine treats. I'm seeing a lot of carbs and sugar... oat flour, maltodextrin, etc. Possibly those treats could be affecting her numbers.
Yeah...i wasn't sure how to figure out the carbs in those treats. I was original using them to entice her to eat abd the probiotic she needs right now anyway. Lately I've been using them in the middle of the night when she's begging for food.
 
Freeze dried 100% protein treats work great and no carbs.
Shes a snob lol she turns her nose up at them lol

I use them for the immune boosting properties and the probiotic she needs bc of the antibiotic...for the time being. Im a bit concerned about the covenia shot now though bc of what im hearing about it :-/

We did the injection bc the oral was causing nsusea and vomiting
 
+4 269 shes still headed down.

I was supposed to sleep until her +5 /+6 but of course now I can't lol so I figured I might as well test. She has been sleeping through it anyway lol
 
+5 214 shes still headed down

I guess ill be up all night testing?
Should i be worried about another hypo event tonight?
 
She is likely almost at nadir.. I’d give her a little food and maybe get one more test in an hour. Then go to bed. When she dropped low it was much earlier in the cycle.

Something that will make it easier for you is to get an auto feeder. You can set it to open while you sleep or go to work ad to close 2 hours before shot time.
 
She is likely almost at nadir.. I’d give her a little food and maybe get one more test in an hour. Then go to bed. When she dropped low it was much earlier in the cycle.

Something that will make it easier for you is to get an auto feeder. You can set it to open while you sleep or go to work ad to close 2 hours before shot time.
I do have an automatic feeder but we're having a fly situation at the house right now and the flies can get into it :-(
Hopefully I get it under control...the exterminator came the other day and gave us some stuff to put in the drain that should help
Her +6 was 212 only slightly lower than her +5. Its probably that 20% meter variance
 
She is still dropping though +8 149 should I feed her low carb or let her body handle it herself? This is all new territory for me :/
oh and she is definitely hungry right now
 
Oh my goodness looking at your SS... you must be exhausted! :bighug:
A couple little things I wanted to add: I have had those same weird fruit fly things plenty of times. They move slower don’t they? Like fat dumb fruit flies. They will hang out by the litter boxes or the food if they come visiting my house. They are deeply annoying and I feel your pain! :arghh: Keep your drains covered when not in use, this will help too.


And about the back legs, I know you’re searching for an explanation and maybe a fix from that, but with DKA that means kitty had muscle loss. And where there is the most muscle is where the body will take it from first. It’s true that low potassium can cause hind weakness, I have experienced that with Alice, but that comes with other complexities. My honest guess would be that there is just a bit of muscle loss and therefore hind weakness. Give it some time. Even if it is low potassium, that can improve with feeding, and feeding, and more feeding. So food is your answer either way unless you do bloodwork and find low potassium then. :D Alice was weak on her back legs and couldn’t even crouch to pee, after DKA. It would shoot straight behind her :facepalm: made it easy to catch urine samples to test for ketones though!

I hope you are getting some sleep now. :)
 
Oh my goodness I am tired...she continued to gradually go down until +11 lol

thanks for all that great info.
I'll start a new thread with this link after I get myself together this morning lol
 
Oh my goodness I am tired...she continued to gradually go down until +11 lol

thanks for all that great info.
I'll start a new thread with this link after I get myself together this morning lol

I know you worry and I fully understand, but you could definitely have cut yourself a break over the night! By +4 I would have taken at least maybe a two hour break. I know Henri likes to dive for you but that 269 after a trend of yellow and pink... I would consider that a safe number to skip an hour or two of testing (or more depending on the cat), especially if you have food on board. I’ll keep an eye out for your new post later. :bighug:
 
I know you worry and I fully understand, but you could definitely have cut yourself a break over the night! By +4 I would have taken at least maybe a two hour break. I know Henri likes to dive for you but that 269 after a trend of yellow and pink... I would consider that a safe number to skip an hour or two of testing (or more depending on the cat), especially if you have food on board. I’ll keep an eye out for your new post later. :bighug:
I think I tried to but I cant always fall asleep when I want to :( and I figured, since I was up and she was sleeping through my testing, I might as well
continue lol

My husband did the +11 for me so I got about an our and a half lol
 
I think I tried to but I cant always fall asleep when I want to :( and I figured, since I was up and she was sleeping through my testing, I might as well
continue lol

My husband did the +11 for me so I got about an our and a half lol
Same. I thought I would sleep after my +7 but I just laid there for ages first. I can be dead tired but not sleep on command.

It will get easier as you get things more regulated. :bighug:
 
Back
Top