9/14 Harvey AMPS 187 +1.5 154 At UCD

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
9/13 Recap
No shot
AMBG: 37
AM+.5: 40
AM+2: 70
AM+3.75: 44
AM+5: 44
AM+6.25: 58
AM+7.5: 67
PMBG: 90
PM+2: 108
PM+4.25: 111
PM+7: 131
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...0-pmbg-90-2-108-4-25-111.164882/#post-1777323
Yesterday

I dropped Harvey off at UCD for his Oncology appointment. I didn't have time to eat before we left, so I'm sitting in a Jack in the Box eating junk food.:rolleyes: They said to give them a couple of hours, so I'm going to run some errands.

It was a fairly quiet night. Harvey had another episode of liqipoo, dripping across the carpet on his way to the box.:eek: He managed to get out without falling in it (I covered it up quickly ), so he just needed a little personal hygiene help. I dozed on the floor for a while, then he wanted to eat. After that he settled down and fell asleep, so I got about 90 minutes of shut eye in the recliner until DH came down to give Harvey his shot. I was pretty sure he'd eat, so we went with .5. I had to offer a second flavor, but he did eat for me. I caught another 30 minutes of sleep and then it was time to get up and start eyedrops and meds and get dressed.

Harvey was still very wobbly and only gave a few weak meows on the drive. Never thought I'd miss his hollering!:(

I'll update when I know something. Please keep the vines coming. :nailbiting:

 
Tricia, I am so very sorry you are and Harvey are going this right now. Sending lots of vetty vines to Harvey.

Here's hoping you can take a nap and get to bed early tonight. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
9/13 Recap
No shot
AMBG: 37
AM+.5: 40
AM+2: 70
AM+3.75: 44
AM+5: 44
AM+6.25: 58
AM+7.5: 67
PMBG: 90
PM+2: 108
PM+4.25: 111
PM+7: 131
Yesterday

I dropped Harvey off at UCD for his Oncology appointment. I didn't have time to eat before we left, so I'm sitting in a Jack in the Box eating junk food.:rolleyes: They said to give them a couple of hours, so I'm going to run some errands.

It was a fairly quiet night. Harvey had another episode of liqipoo, dripping across the carpet on his way to the box.:eek: He managed to get out without falling in it (I covered it up quickly ), so he just needed a little personal hygiene help. I dozed on the floor for a while, then he wanted to eat. After that he settled down and fell asleep, so I got about 90 minutes of shut eye in the recliner until DH came down to give Harvey his shot. I was pretty sure he'd eat, so we went with .5. I had to offer a second flavor, but he did eat for me. I caught another 30 minutes of sleep and then it was time to get up and start eyedrops and meds and get dressed.

Harvey was still very wobbly and only gave a few weak meows on the drive. Never thought I'd miss his hollering!:(

I'll update when I know something. Please keep the vines coming. :nailbiting:
prayers, purrs vines - you got 'em.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
healing vines.jpg
 
((Tricia)) I'm happy it's not what you feared the most. I hope that after a short spell on the IV they'll get his electrolytes back in balance and that Harvey will start to feel more like himself.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks everyone. First the good news:. They don't think it's cancer-related. :) Bad news:. His kidney values are elevated and his electrolytes are out of whack. :( They are keeping him on an IV overnight and hope to send him home tomorrow. I went home for his insulin, food and eye drops and am waiting to talk to someone now.

Ahhhh. That's a relief. It can be dealt with handily, and leave Harvey with more time, possibly a lot more time. If, in fact, this set of elevated kidney values is simply reflecting a period of dehydration caused by the diarrhea, inappetence, and general stress of the last week, then the kidney values themselves may not reflect any permanent change, rather they may reflect only the result of temporary dehydration.

Purrs and prayers continue.
 
Tricia :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I am so sorry Harvey is unwell. Yay on the good news! Hopefully the IV will get the other values back down to normal.
Sending a plane load of Aussie vines.
 
Yeah for the good news!!!

Hopefully after a night getting his electrolytes back under control, he'll feel a lot better and come home safely to your loving arms

Sending continuing healing vines and prayers for a quick recovery for our dear Harvey!!
 
Could it also be pancreatitis?
No one has mentioned that word, including me. When I talk to the IM tomorrow, I will ask. I do want to know what started this. The Oncologist didn't seem to think it was related to the nose/eye issues. She wanted to blame it on FD, but I'm not buying that, since he was very tightly regulated and nearly OTJ until the nose thing started.

When I was paying the deposit on the estimate for his treatment, one of the ladies at the desk, who has been there a long time and knows my story, said, "You know, a lot of people say "I bought a wing" when they pay their bill, but you really have!" I asked where the sign with our name was going to go. :rolleyes:

I have the labs and will get them posted on his SS.
 
Since thankfully everything else checks out p'itis might be a possibility. You wouldn't do anything more than you already are though. It seems so much more common than they used to think.
 
No one has mentioned that word, including me. When I talk to the IM tomorrow, I will ask. I do want to know what started this. The Oncologist didn't seem to think it was related to the nose/eye issues. She wanted to blame it on FD, but I'm not buying that, since he was very tightly regulated and nearly OTJ until the nose thing started.

When I was paying the deposit on the estimate for his treatment, one of the ladies at the desk, who has been there a long time and knows my story, said, "You know, a lot of people say "I bought a wing" when they pay their bill, but you really have!" I asked where the sign with our name was going to go. :rolleyes:

I have the labs and will get them posted on his SS.
They could at least give you a rosewood bench in the hall...with splashes of color (vibrant cushions), a crystal vase with one perfect rose placed on a mahogany end table, and some upscale mags, like, "New Yorker", "Atlantic Monthly", and a slim volume of poetry by an outre' auteur.
 
Good news that they don't think it's cancer related but I wouldn't be buying that it's his FD either. I hope you get an answer, or better yet he's perfectly perked up by tomorrow and it never happens again so that an answer is unnecessary :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

The flying kangaroos are on their way to UCD for vine delivery
 
Sending get well vines to Harvey and lots of hugs to you and DH. You and DH have been through so much with Harvey and your other kitties GA. They are so lucky to have you both. I know you both must be under a lot of stress.
Hugs and Prayers,:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Glad to hear it's not cancer. Sending tons of prayers and vines for Harvey, I hope he feels better soon! (((Hugs))) :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
They called this morning to say he was doing okay. Not a lot of new info. They are doing an ultrasound today and the IM will call me afterwards. They expect to keep him until tomorrow. :(
 
Awwww.....poor Harvey...I'm sure he misses being home but he's where he needs to be right now to get whatever is going on diagnosed and fixed!

Hopefully the US will either rule out the problem or figure out whatever is going on and he'll be able to come home in tip-top shape tomorrow

Sending more vines and prayers...and virtual hugs for the worried beans
182280d1371649393-who-needs-virtual-hug-today-come-get-one-animehugelephanthug11.gif
 
Tricia, he's getting the very best care (you get what you pay for!) at UCD and he'll get the very best care when he gets home. But it's still so confounding and frightening to not have the answers and solutions plopped down on a piece of paper. We've got a constant stream of vines filling the airways between here and there. And prayers. And hugs for what must be an exhausted bean.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top