9/14 Elmo AMPS 515, +2 328, +3 252, +4 215, +5 192, +6 172, PMPS 364, +1 585, +3 401

Beth 73

Member Since 2016
Yesterday


Good morning everyone :) Elmo is on watch-Cat duty this AM . The air is a bit cooler and his nose is working the outdoor smells . Ate a lot overnight . Gave his ears a break after yesterday :bighug:
 
Last edited:
I hope Elmo sides down for you today. Sometimes a pokie break is nice for the cat and the bean.
Good morning, Carla :bighug: And yes , I see it as a mixed blessing ....but still have to be diligent as he has started high and then goes for a cliff dive :woot: Awesome start for Furball :):bighug:
 
Now Elmo, one of these days, you need to flatten our your numbers! I think he loves all his buddies who help him out. At least Elmo is on watch cat duty instead of attack cat duty!
Have a great day Beth:)
 
+1. No pokie ...ears sore....going to feed some LC and test at +2 to see if/where he's headed ...effort to abort/minimize any cliff diving activity for this day :)
 
Right...Elmo needs to come back from that moonshot! Don't tell him about Luci the lunatic with her dives...she really caught DH off guard last night - from her high perch on the lemon tree nest - alllllll the way down to the very edge of shark territory...it's exhausting watching her do her free falls...silly girl!
 
Right...Elmo needs to come back from that moonshot! Don't tell him about Luci the lunatic with her dives...she really caught DH off guard last night - from her high perch on the lemon tree nest - alllllll the way down to the very edge of shark territory...it's exhausting watching her do her free falls...silly girl!
Exhausting is a perfect description, Sue ! Praying for flatter, calmer day today . Taking it one step / hour at a time :)
 
+2. 328 ....222 point drop in 2 hours :woot: Giving 1t LC 5 plus 1/4 t MC 14 ....also thyroid meds and SQ
 
Last edited:
Learned my lesson ...+1 will contain some MC 14 gravy ....this high early then dive seems a pattern ...just need to give him at least a partial pokie break today :bighug:
 
Might give him a smidge more MC given the size of that drop.

He's still in safe (actually, quite high) numbers. The main thing lost by not getting that +1 and some MC intervention is a possible lessening of tomorrow's bounce, but if he has sore ears, maybe a bounce day tomorrow is just what the doctor (vet?) ordered!
 
Nan, that's what I hope for today is trying all I can for less pokies.... he is starting to give me sad eyes and he never does that ...I'll give little more MC14 now ...may test at +3 as biggest drops seem to occur early ...is that what you are seeing @Nan & Amber
 
+ 3 252. 76 point drop...Gave him the EP ( aka Elmo Potion:D)..... 1 t LC 5 plus 1/2 t MC 14....upped the MC to 1/2....test at +3
 
Last edited:
From your vantage points please weigh in if you see I need to increase or decrease MC14....kinda challenging fun to tweak and fine tune his potion :)
 
+5. ...192...23 point drop....gave 1 t LC 5 plus 1/4 ish t MC 14 gravy ( wish I'd shaved it to 1/8 MC cos only dropped 23 points ..live and learn )
 
Looking good-- after a fast start out of the gate, he's gliding down now!

Don't drive yourself too crazy with fine-tuning. Not like Elmo is going to rigorously follow rules anyway, right???
 
Looking good-- after a fast start out of the gate, he's gliding down now!

Don't drive yourself too crazy with fine-tuning. Not like Elmo is going to rigorously follow rules anyway, right???
Nan, should I stop feeding this next test and see what happens ? Thanks for encouragement to not get too crazy with fine tuning . I tend to enjoy the puzzling it out too much some times :rolleyes: @Nan & Amber
 
Let's see where he is at the next test before making any decisions. I just remember that night a few nights ago where he was floating in the 200's until about +5, you backed off feeding, I said goodnight and logged off, and that's when he started diving :woot:.
 
Let's see where he is at the next test before making any decisions. I just remember that night a few nights ago where he was floating in the 200's until about +5, you backed off feeding, I said goodnight and logged off, and that's when he started diving :woot:.
:woot: :woot: :woot: You are absolutely correct ! What a blessing to have you as a second brain:bighug:
 
Wow, he is really putting on a clinic today for a nice gentle curve, isn't he? (famous last words!) Doing great!

Looking at his spreadsheet, I see several nadirs around +7, so let's assume he's planning on dropping a little more. He's probably fine as-is, but go ahead and give him a yummy snack for being such a good boy today.

Thinking about his ears, I think we should start strategizing an approach that lets you back off more during a cycle-- the hourly testing is rough. Maybe give larger amounts, with the same percentage of MC, early in the cycle? We're always trying to be careful about filling them up early, but maybe it would be better in the long run in Elmo's case-- save him some extra testing mid-cycle. If we could just make it so that he's only dropping a few 10s of points in the first few hours, rather than 100+/hr, so you wouldn't feel like you had to keep such an eagle eye on his hourly progress.

Just thinking aloud here. Linda is the feeding wizard, she will probably have ideas on this.
 
Wow, he is really putting on a clinic today for a nice gentle curve, isn't he? (famous last words!) Doing great!

Looking at his spreadsheet, I see several nadirs around +7, so let's assume he's planning on dropping a little more. He's probably fine as-is, but go ahead and give him a yummy snack for being such a good boy today.

Thinking about his ears, I think we should start strategizing an approach that lets you back off more during a cycle-- the hourly testing is rough. Maybe give larger amounts, with the same percentage of MC, early in the cycle? We're always trying to be careful about filling them up early, but maybe it would be better in the long run in Elmo's case-- save him some extra testing mid-cycle. If we could just make it so that he's only dropping a few 10s of points in the first few hours, rather than 100+/hr, so you wouldn't feel like you had to keep such an eagle eye on his hourly progress.

Just thinking aloud here. Linda is the feeding wizard, she will probably have ideas on this.
Thanks , Nan , for input ....feel the same way ab trying a way to slow that huge initial dive ...he can't take the hourly pokes for days on end . And tomorrow I will be gone from little before +1 until ab + 4.5....strategizing for that as well ....scritches to Amber ...she is our role model and goal to shoot for
 
@Nan & Amber Going to give small LC plus smidge MC ....should I test at +7 or give him a break...so glad you were able to decipher a possible nadir ...it's craziness to my eyes :eek:
 
Let's give him a break. He isn't close to danger, and he's been munching steadily all day, so he's got a good stable food base.

Hear that, Elmo? No sudden moves, all right?
 
Let's give him a break. He isn't close to danger, and he's been munching steadily all day, so he's got a good stable food base.

Hear that, Elmo? No sudden moves, all right?
And Elmo says " thank you , Auntie Nan ❤️"..... just in time for Alabama football game ! Hey, I grew up with all brothers ...never stood a chance :)
 
Regarding nadirs, he had his lowest point at +7 or later on several occasions: 8/25, 8/31, 9/2, 9/3, 9/5, 9/8, 9/9 (PM), 9/11, and 9/12 (PM). Some of these, he might have dipped around mid-cycle, and then done the famous L+L second dip later on. In any case, he does seem to be a cat who likes to nadir late in the cycle.

Given this... maybe on days when he starts really high, the approach should be to test at +1, feed any falling numbers very generously with MC, then give him a break on testing until maybe +4, while still doling out periodic snacks. Might be a little nerve-wracking for you to not know what he's doing during his speed-drops, but I'm not sure how else to balance this and save his 19-yr-old ears some punishment. The fast drops in the beginning are scary, but it's the later testing periods that are critical for keeping him away from the sharks.

Again, just thinking aloud here!
 
I think we should start strategizing an approach that lets you back off more during a cycle-- the hourly testing is rough.
And tomorrow I will be gone from little before +1 until ab + 4.5....
First off I am by no means a feeding wizard. All I tried to do is keep Elmo from deep diving without shooting him to the moon.

It seems Elmo is not overly carb sensitive.....he doesn't get any food bump from LC alone and hardly any when it's higher range LC (LC with MC mixed in) . Beth, the medium carb you've been using is about 14%. Do you have any MC higher (up to 16%)? What HC % do you have that Elmo likes? Need to figure out what to do with him tomorrow AM given you won't be there to monitor for a few hours and he may or may not be on a mission.
 
Last edited:
Fifth cycle after the skip, depot is fulling and we are seeing what this dose can do. Plus it’s the sixth cycle after the green, looks like the bounce may be fading. You can see later nadirs when bounces break.

I think I would ease off any additional food now. The insulin is starting to slow down. Additional carbs at this point may shorten duration, which an lead to higher preshot. Then bigger drops early on, causing a bounce, and the cycle repeats. Elmo is still high enough and safe, drops are slowing down, I would give him a break until maybe +10.
 
First off I am by no means a feeding wizard. All I tried to do is keep Elmo from deep diving without shooting him to the moon.

It seems Elmo is not overly carb sensitive.....he doesn't get any food bump from LC alone and hardly any when it's higher range LC (LC with MC mixed in) . Beth, the medium carb you've been using is about 14%. Do you have any MC higher (up to 16%)? What HC % do you have that Elmo likes? Need to figure out what to do with him tomorrow AM given you won't be there to monitor for a few hours and he may or may not be on a mission.
Just got some higher carb from chewy today ...may be 17 ..will have to check ...having trouble finding hi carb foods as listed on Dr Lisa list ....either 14-15 or 20....please let me know what you all use for MC and HC because I'm having trouble finding it.
 
PMPS 364....and Linda I would definitely say you are food intuitive :) Both you , Nan and Gill are able to look at big picture and trends that give you a window into what may be going on ...of that skill I am forever indebted :cat:
 
Giving 1 t LC 5 plus 1 t MC 14 with shot... he won't eat much more than that at a time cos he is a grazer ...
 
And he free feeds overnight ..will not use auto feeder....would it be good idea to put less down for him overnight and not feed at all after a certain time ????
 
Just realized I can shift my time tomorrow and not leave until + 2.5 and be back ab 4.5 ....which would be better cos I can do either ???
 
I think your timing tomorrow could be either according go what you prefer and what Elmo is up to in the morning. You decide your preference then work with Elmo around that. It's generally a good idea not to be feeding in the latter half of the cycle so I'd keep food to a minimum if at all after +6/7 unless he really needs it.
 
Hmmm.... I think it's a six of one, half dozen of the other situation, you should just do whatever is more convenient for you. Given his past patterns, I think Elmo is unlikely to get into real trouble in either time period.

If you can wait until tomorrow to decide, you can also make the choice depending on where he is at AMPS.


And he free feeds overnight ..will not use auto feeder....would it be good idea to put less down for him overnight and not feed at all after a certain time ????

Hmmm, I don't know about that. I'm a bit of a chicken on these things, but I wouldn't want him to go low and be out of food when you're asleep.
 
Thank you both , for your time , your attention , your care that you so freely share :bighug: It means the world to Elmo and I . I'm praying he has a nice quiet time tonight so I can get to bed at a decent time . Have a civvie who is needing extra attention too so my lists taped to the kitchen cabinets are getting involved, remembering who gets what meds when ....they all seem to be getting old at the same time :oops:
 
Nan , I mentioned the feeding overnight cos was wondering if it has any correlation to the high AMPS ....although his PMPS tonight had nothing to do with food. Just got me thinking .
 
It's tough when you have more than one needing extra attention. Do you use a cell phone/tablet to set alarms? I could write lists till the cows come home but unless there was an alarm, I'd forget to check the list. LOL!!
 
It may have factored in a bit but I'm guessing this is just his extreme bouncing again. He seems to do both ups and downs rather abruptly., No more MC food tonight. Stick with LC and retest before bed. I doubt there is going to be any major excitement tonight.
 
Back
Top