9/14 Doodle amps= 160, +7 = 29 (Need advice!!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle and Doodle

Member Since 2009
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24817

Okay I suck - let's get that out of the way.
I haven't updated Doodle's Spreadsheet in a really long time - But I'm hoping you can help us anyway.

Just as a reminder, since I also haven't been posting very often :roll: Doodle was diagnosed almost 3 years ago and has almost always needed a custom plan with 3 or 4 shots a day. But for the last month or so he's been getting shots every 12 hours - just like a normal cat. And now we're down to a dose of 0.05u and he's dropping down low enough (everyday!) that I'm not comfortable.
I obviously can't reduce the dose any more - but this isn't a clear cut case of OTJ either (at least I don't think )
He's on antibiotics so his appy is a little off and he's still bouncing from these lows - he even bounced up to 320 a couple of days ago - though he only stayed there a few hours.
I could swear that Jojo once said in one of Janie's condos that a healthy pancreas doesn't do that.
I'm just not sure I should stop giving him insulin. ?? --- but I'm also not sure I should keep giving it to him either.

Any body have any advice. I feel like I'm in an alternate universe at this point.
 
there have been cats here who have leveled out after OTJ. Remember Riggs? He could bounce to 300's without any insulin, but then came back down. Can you put at least a couple of weeks worth of data on your spreadsheet? I'm leaving for home now but will take a look later.

What are you feeding, and on what schedule? Maybe some carb manipulation would help too, but I think you already do that to some degree.
 
welll.... ummm...... all I have for you is hugs and scritches for Doodlebug.

You think maybe he needs a super duper extra strength custom plan where he gets insulin on an as needed basis? it's the antithesis of all that is good with Lantus protocol, but Doodle has never been a fan of the typical protocol anyway.

Did he have any symptoms with the 29? did you retest?

ps. you do NOT SUCK. if YOU suck, then I must be a vacuum of horribleness in terms of being a good bean.
 
Glad Libby answered....the only suggestion I have after the .05u dose the the imaginary shot where you wave the magic syringe over their back after showing it to them, and then walking away without shooting! :lol:
Libby will come up with something...meanwhile...i wish you luck.... :razz:
 
it's MY Doodle, we'll find an answer, or two, or three.

And I totally agree with Cyn, there is no possible way that you suck.
 
Thanks you guys!!
yes, I will try to put together some data tonight - I always kick myself for not keeping track. ohmygod_smile

I really don't think I'll get it done early - I have a vet appt for Abbey (like now) and tonight is Brielle's dance class.

I really appreciate your help! -- and yeah Cyn I did think maybe he needs another crazy custom plan! Cause you know, he just can't be normal. :roll:

And since I don't see you ask the vacumn of horribleness :lol: - then I guess I officially don't suck ;) (thanks)
 
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Glad Libby answered....the only suggestion I have after the .05u dose the the imaginary shot where you wave the magic syringe over their back after showing it to them, and then walking away without shooting! :lol:
wait, you skipped a step. between the 0.05u and the imaginary shot is the one where you wave it under his nose and let him sniff the insulin. once he graduates from that, then the next step is waving the magic syringe over his back. one step at a time! :razz:
 
ahhh yes... the sniff. Why did I not remember the next dose was the sniff? ;-)

Okay so I'm going to update his SS so we can all see what this looks like - DH is on duty for Brielle's dance class so I will have a few minutes to at least maybe get the last 2 weeks together.

I got my first ever order of fortiflora in the mail today and DH accidently fed Doodle wellness this evening... so who knows what those two changes will do to his numbers -- I'm hoping the fortiflora perks up his appy a bit... and I always question whether wellness sits well with Doodle.
we'll see.
 
Hey there- not a good advice giver with your situation other than the Fortiflora should be administered 2 hours apart from the antibotics. I learned that today from the vet. Good vibes for Doodlebug :-D
 
DoodleButt!!!!! That's a shameful thing to do to mama today!

As far as Michelle sucking...depends on what. Personally, I suck my water bottle 'cause it's one of those weirdo-ones and every once in a while I suck candy. I'm sure Michelle sucks too. :mrgreen:
 
You do NOT suck!!!

Yeah, I think our Doodlebug needs another custom plan ;-)

Doodle, not nice to do to mommabean when she has so much going on tonight...oh wait, they always do that :lol:

Nice to see you two!
 
Hi Jill! Libby mentioned Riggs (and June) earlier as well -- I very much remember them and I do see some similarities.
But I don't know, you guys - I think I'm too close to this.
It just doesn't seem possible that he's even doing BID and getting numbers like this.
He's definitely bouncing, but I can't imagine he wouldn't go sky high without insulin.

I'm curious what you guys think.
His SS is a mess but if you scroll to the bottom I have at least added 9/1 - 9/14

Libby,
I free feed, so food is always available. I've been feeding Friskies Turkey and Giblets as a staple and I feed one the gravy ones when I need to up the carbs. I'm pretty liberal with dishing out the gravy too - any time he's near 70 in the 1st half of a cyle he gets some gravy.

I'll post again tomorrow.
Thank you guys for helping us!!!

--- :lol: Hey Heather :P
 
will you be able to get any spot checks tonight? I'm curious how low Doodle will go from this 266, especially if you bupe him (spreadsheet says you might). Don't bupe him unless he needs it, I'm not THAT curious. :lol:
 
Looks like I missed the evening sign off, but I had to add that I looked up "suckiness" in the Dictionary, and it said "not Michelle."

I know this isn't 300s, but Barbara's Tuffy shoots up to nearly 200 when the stray cat comes around, then settles nicely back under 100.

Hugs, Michelle!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top