9/14 Doodle AMPS 116 +3/70 +6.5/55 PMPS 113

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
I'm leaving tomorrow morning and will be back Thursday night. My fiance will be home tomorrow and be able to give Doodle his AM & PM shot. Right now that is at 12:30am/12:30pm. On this time schedule he will not be able to get the 12pm shot on Tues, Wed. or Thursday. Any thoughts on what other options I might have to keep Doodle safe and getting the insulin he needs?
 
Re: 9/14 Doodle- Leaving tomorrow ideas on when to give insu

Do you have any interest in changing the shot time permanently? I would think getting PM tests would be challenging on that schedule.

You can always skip a shot or move a shot later in order to change the 12/12 schedule. The reason for my question above is that you'd probably need to do the same thing in order to get back on schedule once you're home.
 
Re: 9/14 Doodle- Leaving tomorrow ideas on when to give insu

I was trying to get back to 11am/11pm but was not able to. That time still won't help for when I'm away but it's a better time for me. I will try to get to it when I get back.

The issue is my DF can shoot at 6 or 7 am each day but the PM is questionable. Sometimes he's home at 6:30, sometimes 9pm. Just depends on what train he's able to get. That's why I was just thinking of having him give the one PM shot per day because then he will be home to get a test or two in also. With him being gone 12 hours during the day it makes me a little nervous to leave Doodle alone. I am having someone come in to feed the cats midday but she won't give shots :(
 
Re: 9/14 Doodle- Leaving tomorrow ideas on when to give insu

what if you skip tonight's shot and have DF shoot Monday morning at 6:30-7 instead? Then if he's home at 6:30-7pm, he could still shoot the pm dose. If he doesn't get home til 9pm, he could shoot then, but then skip the Tuesday morning shot and shoot Tuesday when he gets home.

I'm thinking if you reduce the dose since he won't be monitored, but go with the 6:30am/pm if DF can do it, keeping in mind a 12 hr minimum interval, and skipping if it's less than 12 hrs.

so if he shoots at 9pm, he would skip the following am shot.

another thought - any chance of having a vet tech from your vet's office come in to shoot at 6:30pm for Tues-Wed nights? Then DF could give the am shots and monitor the pm cycle, and Doodle would still be getting 2 shots a day. It's just such a shame to interrupt the momentum he's got going - he's doing incredibly well right now.

i'd go with a reduced vacation dose, though, for all of the shots, since he won't be monitored in the day cycle no matter what. Since he's been earning reductions, I'd probably go with 2.25u or 2.0u depending on what he does between now and when you leave. Same dose am/pm will have best results, and then skip if DF needs to.
 
Re: 9/14 Doodle- Leaving tomorrow ideas on when to give insu

Hi Jenn!
However you decide to handle it, you can always get DoodleBug back on schedule when you get back.

HUGS!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top