9/14 CRYSTAL AMPS 115 +4 151 +7.5 193 PMPS 185 +4 198

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
yesterday

Another lovely start to the day for Crystal. She's gradually going higher now coming up to PMPS so I'm thinking of a 0.5u increase in the R, to 15u tonight, unless she has come down significantly from her +7.5. It's still raining and the cats are still sitting under the terrace but we have fish for dinner tonight, so that might lure them all back indoors! Crystal had another Zoom Groom this morning, loved it.

Hope all is well with everyone, haven't had a chance to catch up but sending vines and wishes to all those in need. Have a good start to the weekend.
 
I'd say you're good either holding or the slight increase. She seems to like inverted curves, but part of that is the food spike and late nadir. No concerns. She really looks good!
 
Just looked at Crystal's sheet and all I can say is WOW!! I thought Hyde was getting to a high dose at 5u. I do understand that she has Acromegaly. Been researching it since I fear that we are headed in that direction since 5u is having so little effect on her. Are there other symptoms that might be noticeable at this point? Any suggestions/pointers? What is involved in getting her tested? Is it a blood test that any vet can order?

Anne
 
@Fatcalico , Anne, if you look in the New to the Group sticky,near the bottom is a long to a couple of posts on Acromegaly. The What we Know post has lots of good stuff in it. In North America, we send blood to Michigan State University to test for acromegaly. I would also suggest a test for IAA, but wait til you get to six units. As both Suki and I found out, your vet may not be familiar with doing the tests.

And isn't Crystal's SS amazing. In spite of the size of the dose, Crystal now meets the definition of well regulated. :cool:
 
@Fatcalico @Wendy&Neko , Hi Anne, thanks for looking in on Crystal. I see Wendy has answered your query on acromegaly and pointed you in the right direction. I do hope that Hyde isn't suffering from acro, but if she is, then you have found the right place for a wealth of experience and knowledge. Wendy also has a paper somewhere that lists all the sympthoms of acro, which I also passed on to my vet in the hope that it may help other kitties in the future. Crystal is the first cat my vet has seen with acro, so she has no experience so I don't take any advice from her, just go for bloodtests etc as and when required. She was horrified at the large dose Crystal was receiving but you can't go against the evidence that it works. I haven't been able to get the IAA test done here in France, but in all probablility Crystal has that as well. It's been a very long slog to get her to these numbers and not a journey for the faint hearted, and there has been many occasions when I felt like giving up as she was just so resistent to the insulin, but at long last we are seeing the rewards of lower numbers. I am also a great fan of the R insulin which I use in conjunction with Levemir and which I was persuaded to use by a couple of members here, Julie and Suzanne I think if I remember right and I think it has been this that has finally brought her down into an acceptale range, together with some fairly aggressive dosing of Levemir. I wish you lots of luck with Hyde, and hope you find some answers to her resistance soon.

Crystal is running a bit higher this cycle, gave her a slightly increased 15uR and paws crossed this will bring her down a bit. Certainly can't blame the heat today, more like a winter's day with wind and lashing rain, horrible. @Grayson & Lu Thanks Lu-Ann for looking in too on Crystal, and for your recommendation on my post a few days ago, I will be putting it into practice on Monday evening when we have a dinner date out.:nailbiting:
 
Lucky girl.....fish for dinner!
Still giving you lovely numbers .....you are doing an amazing job with her Suki.
Sending many continue to do well vines to dear Crystal
 
160 @ AMPS so continuing with the 15uR as she's starting to creep up, and we don't want that now do we Crystal. She's just had a big breakfast as she seems hungry, quick wash of her face and whiskers and settling back down for a nap, sounds a good idea to me so BTB for a couple of hours.
 
Yes, Suki. You are such an inspiration to other acro beans. A model of persistence and dedication. Pretty fine payback with those amazing numbers Crystal has. I applaud you....

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top