9/14 Buster PMPS 46 +3.5 40, +4 52, +5 46, +6.5 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Buster

Member Since 2012
PMPS 88
+4 87
zzz zzz zzzzz
AMPS 111

Buster came to sit by me after his breffis this morning. I went to pet him and realized he had licked his chest/shoulders like a mad man. Gave him some Tramadol. I was trying to see if just the Adequan was going to be enough, but it doesn't appear to be for now. He is trotting down the hallway, whereas before he would just walk. I think things are improving overall.

Glad to see Jupe's pics - doesn't look as bad as I had imagined. Hugs and vines to ailing beans and sweet sugar kitties who need them. HaPPy CAtuRdAY!!!

Previous Condo
 
Re: 9/14 Buster AMPS 111

The improvement with the Aquedan sounds great. I tried Cartrophen for my cats, which is I think pretty much the same thing, and the change was almost immediate.
 
Re: 9/14 Buster PMBG 44 + 20 min PMPS 46 +3.5 40 o dear

Yikes! Really low pre-shot and I went for it! I wanted to meet some friends for bowling so I went out for a couple of hours. Crazy, right? I fed him some high carb food and worried the whole time. Came home to a 40, but now I'm here and he'll be safe. I cannot say that was the right thing to do, but I had a really fun time and Buster lived! Needless to say, I'm on him like a hawk...
 
Re: 9/14 Buster PMBG 44 + 20 min PMPS 46 +3.5 40 o dear

You shot a 46 :shock: ?? Isn't the usual thing "anything OVER 50" can be shot if you are experienced/data ready etc? Good you gave him high carb and are with him now, phew.
 
Re: 9/14 Buster PMBG 44 + 20 min PMPS 46 +3.5 40, +4 52

I'm ok - he is usually not a dramatic cat and I made a not-exactly-the-smartest-safest-idea call. BUT, I know Buster. I have over a year under my belt with this cat. He has been under 40 only once (that I know of) and I cannot recommend my decision as being right for everyone. I am with him every step of the way now. He will be safe.
 
Re: 9/14 Buster PMBG 44 + 20 min PMPS 46 +3.5 40, +4 52

Ooh Tara....I know you know him but Sienne knows Gabby really well, too, and she won't shoot below 50. You're doing a good job of managing him but there's not much room as a safety margin.

Hope you aren't up all night ;-)
 
Re: 9/14 Buster PMPS 46 +3.5 40, +4 52, + 5 46 - decrease??

Thanks for checking in Marje - I am not so proud of myself for this decision. Anyone voting for a decrease in the morning? He has been in low blues, high greens until tonight when he decided to get all dramatic. I know protocol says we should wait for 3 under 40 but I am having trouble getting him back up tonight. Thoughts?
 
Re: 9/14 Buster PMPS 46 +3.5 40, +4 52, +5 46 - decrease?

I'd take him down if he were mine. It's three times between 40-50 on separate days or once under 40 for a reduction in a long term diabetic. But I'm a firm believer in getting ahead of the depot if they are giving you a clue. And a clue to me is having to work to keep the numbers up.

When I've had to do that with Gracie (feed to keep her up) and I've taken her dose down, the depot has sometimes caused her to be in the 30s the next cycle even though I reduced.

He's doing really well but I'd go for safety. Do you need any company or will you be ok?
 
Re: 9/14 Buster PMPS 46 +3.5 40, +4 52, +5 46 - decrease?

We will be fine, thank you so much Marje! Such a sweetheart! I was thinking of decreasing since this is out of the norm for him. I appreciate your input so late at night! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/14 Buster PMPS 46 +3.5 40, +4 52, +5 46

You're welcome ;-) I was just night stalking :lol:

Good luck with the reduction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top