9/14 Buddy AMPS 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa & KitKat

Member Since 2017
Buddy is at 70, this morning I am going to wait 1/2 hr. to see if he comes up, then test again. If he gets any lower I am going to start feeding him. He has been running in the high 200's and mostly in the 300's with this dose of 6.5u, so tomorrow I was going to raise him to 7U. I do not want to lower his dose at this time.
Any suggestions on how I should handle things this morning and if I should give him his regular dose this morning.
 
Nice number but, you have never shot this low before and he is SLGS so he earned a reduction.

I would wait 1/2 hours and see if he comes up above 90 and then feed and shoot the reduced dose as long as you are home to monitor and have plenty of supplies.
 
Nice number but, you have never shot this low before and he is SLGS so he earned a reduction.

I would wait 1/2 hours and see if he comes up above 90 and then feed and shoot the reduced dose as long as you are home to monitor and have plenty of supplies.
Later today I need to run out for a few minutes, but that could be much later. I will update Buddy's SS. When you say a reduced dose, what amount are you talking about.
 
Later today I need to run out for a few minutes, but that could be much later. I will update Buddy's SS. When you say a reduced dose, what amount are you talking about.
After 5 units we increase and decrease by 1/2 units. I would reduce to 6 units.

Did you retest after you got the 70 this AM to make sure it wasn't a wonky number?
 
Whew! I'm glad you have help here, Teresa. I know you're doing SLGS because Buddy eats dry food occasionally. That means, as @Bobbie And Bubba said, a dose reduction is called for. I'd do as she suggested and drop Buddy's dose to 6 u. These folks know more than I do about higher dose kitties! ;)
 
You test enough that you could be following TR. That said, you wouldn't have to take the reduction today.
I took another reading he was at 80, should I wait another 1/2 hr. and test again. Buddy started out on SLGS because he had been eating dry food, he has not had any dry food for several weeks. I am always busy, just did not tale the time to go to TR, but he is going to TR. I talked to his Vet yesterday, she wanted me to up him yesterday because of him staying in the 300's so much, but he is scheduled to have an increase on Friday, so I was waiting till Friday.
 
Whew! I'm glad you have help here, Teresa. I know you're doing SLGS because Buddy eats dry food occasionally. That means, as @Bobbie And Bubba said, a dose reduction is called for. I'd do as she suggested and drop Buddy's dose to 6 u. These folks know more than I do about higher dose kitties! ;)
Buddy, is not eating dry food and has not for several weeks, so right now he is going to TR.
 
Buddy, is not eating dry food and has not for several weeks, so right now he is going to TR.
OK. That's good. That means you keep the same dose right now and you can increase a dose after 6 cycles if you don't get good numbers. The only way to get used to shooting on a low PS is to do it, although it's scarier when they're on a higher dose that has a bigger depot. People here can help you through it. :)
 
Buddy, is not eating dry food and has not for several weeks, so right now he is going to TR.
He is probably going to continue to go upwards in a bounce since he hasn't seen these nice green numbers in a while. If you are going to be able to monitor him today, I would feed and shoot.
 
He just threw up. He is going to get a blood test, either tomorrow or Monday for Insulin Like Growth Factor-1 and Insulin Autoantibody.
 
I think this is going to depend on if he eats well and doesn't threw up again. I am assuming the throw up was on an empty stomach?
Yes, it was liquid. I gave him some Cerenia. He is wanting to play with toys rather than eat. He has ate about 1/4 can of FF, he probably will come back and eat. But I am not sure if I should give him his 6.5 this morning, or wait a while to see if he eats anymore.
 
Yes, it was liquid. I gave him some Cerenia. He is wanting to play with toys rather than eat. He has ate about 1/4 can of FF, he probably will come back and eat. But I am not sure if I should give him his 6.5 this morning, or wait a while to see if he eats anymore.
With Lantus, the onset is around +3 so you have time to get more food into him. Some peeps here say that if they eat as much a 1 tbsp they will shoot.

Playing is good! :cat:

It's your call, you need to be comfortable with it.
 
Yes, it was liquid. I gave him some Cerenia. He is wanting to play with toys rather than eat. He has ate about 1/4 can of FF, he probably will come back and eat. But I am not sure if I should give him his 6.5 this morning, or wait a while to see if he eats anymore.
With Lantus, the onset is around +3 so you have time to get more food into him. Some peeps here say that if they eat as much a 1 tbsp they will shoot.

Playing is good! :cat:

It's your call, you need to be comfortable with it.
Thank you, I appreciate all the help. I took another reading and he was at 114. He has ate a little more, if he does not pick up with the eating, I will give him an appetite stimulate.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top