9/14 Blackie pmps 149 +1 156 +1.5 142 +2 126 +3 106

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning, LL
I don't know if we emptied Blackie's shed or if this is just a bounce, but it's the first time I wasn't unhappy with pink. We are now at 4.25 units, but I don't know if this was too much or too little of a decrease. We'll hold it here and see. You can also see that the fluids did cause a little drop from the +1 to the +1.5, so at least we're getting some better information.

WCR: Blackie is feeling good. He has been such a good boy through all of the testing lately. He went outside before breffis and he was a hungry boy this morning. All P's are in place.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24872
 
Re: 9/14 Blackie amps 306 +1 333 +1.5 303 +2 277

Your SS said you shot 4.0u last night, is that correct? With the lower shot last night I guess Blackie needs to catch up now ...come on Blackie...you can do it! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/14 Blackie amps 306 +1 333 +1.5 303 +2 277

hey, blackie...i'm doing the slow descent thing too, today...hope we get to the lower floors

binks
 
Re: 9/14 Blackie amps 306 +1 333 +1.5 303 +2 277 +3 189

Hi Blackie! Nice steady descent today so far. Keep up the good work and have a good evening. And thanks for your words of encouragement about Stu, Ele. We'll keep you posted.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 9/14 Blackie pmps 149 Big Bubbles??

I have been having problems with huge air bubbles in the syringe. Since I just opened a new pen yesterday, I wondered if that was the problem, so I took out an old pen and used a syringe from the same bag of syringes and it didn't get any big bubbles. The bubbles I'm getting now are 2 to 3 units big! So I'm having to go way past where I need to be and pushing the air out, then pulling in more insulin and repeating the process several times. Has anyone had this happen? And what can I do about it? I'm afraid I'm not giving the right amount of insulin.
 
Re: 9/14 Blackie pmps 149 Big Bubbles??

Blackie is coming down already, nice. :smile:

Can you see the bubbles in the pen? I had a bubbly one once, and I was able to flick the side of the pen (just like you do the syringe) and make the bubbles float to the top out of the way. If there is a big bubble in the pen, you can do it the other way and flick the bubbles toward the stopper end and try to draw the air out with a syringe.
 
Re: 9/14 Blackie pmps 149 Big Bubbles??

Hi again, Ele, Sometimes I get those huge bubbles, but they are usually vertical: down one side of the syringe. A technique I have used with success lately is to work the plunger in and out several times, then push it all the way in and forcefully hold it there while I put the needle in the rubber gasket of the cartridge. Then I draw out the insulin. This works about 98% of the time.
It sounds like the pen/cartridge you are using has lost its pressurization.

Nice PMPS for Blackie.

Ella
 
Re: 9/14 Blackie pmps 149 Big Bubbles??

I always do exactly what Ella does with the plunger...back and forth quite a few times to spread the tiny bit of lubrication around. That may sometimes leave a bubble along one side of the syringe.
I flick that and it goes to the top. I then turn the plunger to the right a few times to express one or two drops.

Or,you can pull some insulin in and the take the need out of the pen.... pull the plunger down allowing air into the syringe to about the .5u mark....and leave a big air bubble at the top by the needle. Flick the syringe to get any other little bubbles up to the top where the air is.
Then, push up to get the insulin back to the top and then turn the plunger clockwise and get the little air out and make sure the insulin is way up at the top.
Insert the needle back into the pen and withdraw the rest of the insulin to make up the dose you need.
 
Re: 9/14 Blackie pmps 149 +1 156 +1.5 142

Thanks for the ideas. Pat & Ella, I already do what you suggested - I learned it here on LL. :mrgreen: I'm going to check out the pen and see if there are bubbles in it and then do what Libby suggested if I can.

So far it looks like the fluids had little/no effect on his bg's tonight. Go figure! I'm still glad to see him come down from the pink.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top