9/13 Trixie AMPS 84 +2 150 +4 160 PMPS 302 +2 222 +4.5 165 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

9/13 Trixie AMPS 84 +2 150 +4 160 PMPS 302 +2 222 +4.5 165

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Very Active Member
Yesterday

I gave Trix Mr Greenie this morning because that AMPS may be the only green we see to day. Even though I hadn't shot that low in quite some time, I wasn't particularly nervous about doing so 'cause I figured she'd do exactly what she did with +2....thus begins the B. Hopefully she won't go too high with it, but in a way it works out OK...I have to open the store at 10:00, and can't get back till around 1:00 to test, so fortunately she did not drop on me.

Thank you everyone, for yesterday's support about Mario. I hate his high BP...I think of all the conditions my kitties have, that one scares me the most, and I'm still so surprised that he read that high despite the meds. Even though the tested him 3 times, I'm praying that it was some sort of fluke. He seems so perfectly fine...but that's the scary thing about "the silent killer."

Anyway, LL is - as always - the greatest. I never feel alone because of you guys!

Have a great day, everyone!

Amy
 
Re: 9/13 Trixie AMPS 84 +2 150

Hi Amy, congrats on the 84 :mrgreen: , and maybe the +2 is a food spike. Sending some vines for your sweet Mario as I know the bp is a worry. How high was Mario when the Vet first put him on the bp meds, if you remember? Have a nice day at the shop.
 
Re: 9/13 Trixie AMPS 84 +2 150

Sounds like you need to get yourself some of that cherry ice-cream :smile: but no sharing with the kitties! Sending lower bp vines for Mario.
 
Re: 9/13 Trixie AMPS 84 +2 150 +4 160

Looks like she's surfing this bounce so far...hopefully she'll keep it level.

Mario's BP was around 180ish before he started his meds. He does tend to run all over the map with it...there are times it was dropping too low, so we had to reduce his dose, then take it back up, then do funky combinations. However, yesterday was the highest he ever read...I don't get it, but have to take it one day at a time.

Serryn - I think that ice cream, brownies, and cheap wine are in order! It's great to see you guys!!
 
Re: 9/13 Trixie AMPS 84 +2 150 +4 160

Thanks Amy on the question I had on Mario's bp. The reason I ask is the last couple times Maggie's bp has been near those numbers or on the high side, and the Vet didn't think it necessary yet to have her on bp meds.
 
Re: 9/13 Trixie AMPS 84 +2 150 +4 160

My vet doesn't like to see anything over 160 in the office...that's just enough to account for "white coat syndrome." I remember Maggie's readings have been close to 180...you might want to consider pushing your vet to get her started on BP meds. Did your vet say why they don't want to start just yet?
 
Re: 9/13 Trixie AMPS 84 +2 150 +4 160

Hi Amy, well Maggie was all over the place. One time she was 165 and the next a little higher, so however they do the averages with checking three times, he didn't feel it necessary yet. I did bring her in several different times. Her senior checkup comes up again soon, so we'll see how she is this time. Yes, then I wonder if they add in the white coat syndrome.
 
Re: 9/13 Trixie AMPS 84 +2 150 +4 160 PMPS 302

Ick... so, yeah....she didn't maintain that nice blue surf.

Back to work for me!!
 
Re: 9/13 Trixie AMPS 84 +2 150 +4 160 PMPS 302

Hi Amy,

Glad to see Trixie saw some green today:) Looks like she also enjoyed the blues for a while beofre the B. Sorry to hear about Mario's high bp. I hope you can help him feel a bit more balanced soon. Hugs!
 
Re: 9/13 Trixie AMPS 84 +2 150 +4 160 PMPS 302

Hi Amy.
Great amps, and those blues look nice to me, but then, I've been looking at yellow all week. :smile:
And then, there's that trampoline again. :roll:

I was wondering something, but was hoping someone else would ask.
Is a cat's bp different at different times of day, like a human's?
Mine reads different each time, depending on how I feel, how much I may have just excersised, etc. Is a cat the same?
 
Re: 9/13 Trixie AMPS 84 +2 150 +4 160 PMPS 302 +2 222

...she's bringing it back down.

I think lots of things can affect a kitty's BP. Naturally, I'm wracking my brain on this one, and soooo wish I could test him at home! For Mario, I take him him at +6 post BP meds, which means the one and only time I can take him in every week is at 11:00 on Wednesdays...super-duper convenient! Technically, that's when his meds should be peaking, so his BP should be at the lowest it would be, which is what made that reading all the more scary.

I'm wondering if he was having pain issues along with usual vetty stress. I know they had to wait with him in the back for a bit before they could take his BP. And, like Checks, he's got some back problems. He can't reach his back end or tail for grooming any more, so I has brushed him in the morning, before taking him. He's not real fond of that, because his back end is just so sensitive. I wonder if I triggered some pain that could have caused a rise in BP...

Anyway...still don't have his thyroid results, but he seems like the same Mario to me....

Just got home from work - time for dinner! If I don't catch condos tonight, I'll visit tomorrow. Not enough hours in the day, that's for sure!!
 
Re: 9/13 Trixie AMPS 84 +2 150 +4 160 PMPS 302 +2 222

Thanks for the answer, Amy.
And yes, pain causes a rise for humans....well, for me anyway.
Have a good evening. :-D
 
Re: 9/13 Trixie AMPS 84 +2 150 +4 160 PMPS 302 +2 222

Wow, Trixie is almost running the rainbow today. Glad she is coming down from the PMPS already.
 
Re: 9/13 Trixie AMPS 84 +2 150 +4 160 PMPS 302 +2 222 +4.5 1

oh wow - a rainbow kitty. I had to do a double take on that pmps. It is nice to see she is coming down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top