9/13 Sparky PMBG 79 Honeymoon?!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aly & Sparky

Member Since 2010
I didn't shoot this morning... and now his PMBG is 79 at +13. Paws crossed!!! Not sure if I should just wait until the morning to test or if I should stay up and test him again in a few hours. Check out my spreadsheet if you have a second. Can't believe it if it happened this fast!
 
Re: 9/13 Sparky PMBG 79 Honeymoom??!!

We do not decide a cat is in remission in quite this way. We also do not typically reduce from 0.5u to nothing. We also get a lot more spot checks during the cycle -- both AM and PM cycles.

At least here, we give a cat 2 weeks of no insulin and with tests at your usual AM and PM shot times. If the cat stays in normal range for that time we have a party to celebrate that the cat is OTJ (off the juice).
 
Treading lightly. I'm just optimistic that perhaps are luck will turn this way.

Strange to think if I hadn't been forgetful yesterday morning and forgot to shoot... how long would I have continued to give insulin when perhaps he didn't need it that often.

If he's over 120 tomorrow morning I will shoot.
 
In answer to your question (one of the few I know the answer to!), you would not have continued to give Sparky insulin when he didn't need it, even if you hadn't missed a dose yesterday (silly bean trick).

The protocol includes instructions on how to reduce appropriately (my emphasis):

Phase 4: Reducing the dose

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.

If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose. Sometimes, a cat can even manage to keep its BGs low for a day or two, but then the BGs begin to rise again because the beta-cells haven't recovered enough yet. Try to go from 0.25 IU to a drop before stopping the insulin completely. Reducing the dose too quickly generally does not work: most cats do not go into remission with fast reductions.

From http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
found here http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

It's nice to know that it isn't a matter of luck. There's a rule for that! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top