9/13 River AMPS:263 +2:196 +4:104

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good morning Lara! River is doing really well at this dose, and looks like he's having a nice blue morning after the greens last night. It was considerate of him to start going up after +4 last night so you could get some shut-eye I-)
 
Hi Lara,
It looks like River is headed for another beautiful day!!
And no bounce!!!
When Lucy started having more green cycles, she seemed to feel sleepy and a little tired, until she got more used to it. :smile:
So maybe River is the same way.
I used to suspect low # when she acted all sleepy, but now I suspect low # when she is perkier and hungry! :-D
 
Thank you for your messages, Amy and Mariko.

Amy, I could have held off on feeding him, as I gave him LC and MC to steer his numbers. But I wonder if he was heading towards a reduction, and I should have held off.

Mariko, thank you for mentioning this. At first I would think, "Oh no, he's sick again!" but now I interpret it that his body is working towards repairing itself and resting = healing. I hope Lucy continues to feel better. It sounds like you've had a lot to worry about this week, but you are doing all the lovely caring things that make sense, and give you clarity about Lucy's health.
 
But beautiful numbers, Donaleen, and Ozy will bounce less high and for not as long the more time he spends in blue and green. So I'm looking forward to seeing him come down.
 
<vent>

I'm incredibly annoyed with my vet, who won't give me B12 injections for my cat, as she says he doesn't need them. And if he did, she would require me to come to the clinic for his injections; she wouldn't prescribe me a vial so I can give the injections myself.

Yesterday, she had her vet tech phone me out of the blue to ask me whether I wanted B12 injections. I said yes, but I'd requested them last month and the Dr. said no. The vet tech said, OK, I'll discuss this with the vet. A few moments ago, the vet phoned me to say that she doesn't think he needs B12. I asked why she got her vet tech to call me yesterday and ask if I want it, as this wastes everybody's time, and is annoying.

</vent>
 
Nice slide to blue today for River. I'm sorry about the B12 injections. It sounds like someone wasn't paying attention.
 
Nicely done, River! Great to see him standing on the shore of the lagoon so quickly. :-D Time for a new vet? Why do you want B12 injections? Is there an alternative? We give zobaline to Zener for peripheral neuropathy. It's non-prescription.
Liz
 
Hi Carla and Liz,

I'm reading a lot about pancreatitis these days, as I want to make sure I manage this well for River. Supposedly, B12 injections are good for panc. What he doesn't need, he pees out. I'm not so worried about neuropathy, as he's regained a lot of strength thanks to being on TR. New vet time indeed, as if I didn't already know this. I just find it odd that they call me up and say, "Hey, do you want some B12?" and then the next day say, "Nope, we're not giving that to you."

I know what this is all about, though. It's about getting me to bring my cat into the clinic. They're aggressive about saying he needs this test or sonogram or biopsy or bloodwork or recheck in three weeks. Three weeks later it's the same story. $$$.

/vent #2.

And how are you? :smile:
 
Yes, I noticed you'd commented on the B12 for Ozy's panc. I have bupe, which is great, but I'm interested in preventive treatment, which the B12 would provide.
The vet didn't get that at all. (Head : desk).
She's also the one who brushed me off when I was concerned that he would have a hypo, which he did, and then told me there was no way it was a hypo; he must have a brain tumor.

/vent #3, with some rant thrown in.
 
Maybe a new vet... what good is one like that?

I have two I really like now (brag, brag). They are both open to new ideas and also knowledgeable. I haven't always been so lucky.

You had a hypo, with symptoms? When was that. Here this is for your frustration....
 

Attachments

  • HeadBangComputer_avatar.gif
    HeadBangComputer_avatar.gif
    168.3 KB · Views: 401
Hi lara,
Yep, sounds like new vet time. Good luck!
Rivers numbers are looking good! Interesting about the B-12 shots for the panc...hmmmmm. More info please ;-)
Have a great night!
 
Nice blues today and on into the night. ;-)

Do you know what vet school your vet went too? Just curious, there aren't that many in Canada. And FWIW, Neko's FD is caused by a brain tumour. Technically acromegaly is a benign tumour on the pituitary that causes it to send out excess grown hormone which causes the higher blood sugar (after a few other steps). The pituitary gland is up near the eyes, so part of the brain. I don't think that is River, because his SS doesn't look like an acrocat and he's not on high doses. Just saying that the vet might not be too far out of the ball park because some types of brain tumours can cause FD. But the hypo thing is nuts. Not sure what town you live in - hope there's a few other vets to choose from.

Wishing you a nice quiet, Peace Train kind of Blues tonight.
 
Hi again Lara,

Lucy is a pancreatitis kitty too, and I give her B12 injections.
My vet suggested B12, but she did want to test her B12 before starting this treatment.
The initial blood test indicated that her B12 was at the lower end of the "normal" range.
So we decided to go ahead with injections, 0.05ml per week for the first 6 weeks, and then every other week for the next 6 weeks, at which time we tested her again.
The 2nd test result indicated that her B12 was well above the reference range (you can see the result in Lucy's lab&ultrasound link if you are interested), so she is down to 0.05ml once a month.
I haven't tested her since then but I'd like to at some point. Just to see if her dose is right.
This test was rather expensive and required fasting, so I don't like doing it often, but I really should soon.
I think as her 2nd test indicated, you could have TOO MUCH of B12, even though B12 is water-soluble.
I don't know if too much of B12 does anything harmful, though.
I've read someone else mention it on LL before, that she found out that she (not the cat) had too much of B12 in her system, so had to stop B12 supplements.
(Maybe not exactly like this but something along this line, I think it was Ella the Rusty's bean, but I can't remember for sure.)

Since Lucy's dose is soooo tiny, if I buy a bottle of B12, I'd be throwing away probably 80% of it before it expires, so I now buy pre-filled syringe every month.
I just go pick up on the day or the night before I plan to give a B12 shot, so it won't be kept in a syringe for long.
And it costs me whole 50 cents per month. :lol: :lol: :lol:

But to be honest with you, I myself don't really see it doing much for Lucy.
I just continue it in case it's helping, but haven't seen a drastic change I was hoping for.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top