9/13 Michael AMPS 310 +5.75 350 PMPS 385 + 2.75 454

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/13 Michael AMPS 310

Hard to say right now, he very well could of went into blues last night. Get a +2 that will give a little idea, +3/+4 will let you know even more.
 
Re: 9/13 Michael AMPS 310

good morning paula!

Looks like Michael dropped 51 points in the hour last night from +2 to +3 (339-288=51). If a cat's blood sugar drops too fast, that can set off another bounce, even if they don't go into low numbers. For many/most cats, 50 points an hour is too fast.

When you can anticipate a bounce might be clearing, it's good to feed him frequent small meals to try to keep his blood sugar from plummeting. We don't know if he continued dropping at that rate or not, but even the one hour of dropping is enough to cause the next bounce.

Next time he's on cycle 5, which for this time is going to be Monday morning, see if you can catch as he's starting to go down and feed him more often. Honestly, I don't see anything last night from the pmps 339 that would've said he was going to drop fast, except that we knew it was the 6th cycle following his blue numbers, so he was likely to clear the bounce by then.

Let me know if you get that Petsafe 5 Compartment feeder, and at that point i'll make the video on how to use it. I don't think there any point in me making it unless you're for certain getting one.
 
Re: 9/13 Michael AMPS 310

Hi Julie,
O.K. Thanks for the info. It gives me an idea of what I'm doing.
Maybe he will get tired of that stinky pink again and decide to come down nice & smooth :smile:
 
Re: 9/13 Michael AMPS 310 +5.75 350

M Still likes the stinky pink grr_red amps +5.75 350. This is getting really frustrating. I hope by these high #'s damage is not being done. I hope soon, that a dose can be found to keep in healthy #'s. I'm beginning to wonder about the insulin. Is it really working :?: It just seems that am playing an experimental game.
I know i need to be patient, but i feel this sugar dance isn't good for my health or Michael's. I have to stay healthy to care for him. If something happens to me, there is absolutely no one to care of him,and that scares
me :!: I'm on pins & needles all the time. (I know i'm not the only one, and I admire all who can cope,)
I am not able to test so frequently. I do try to get the minimum of 4 tests per day. It's hard on Michael and very difficult for me. Now, there is nothing more I would like to see than for him to go into remission. I know it is a lot shot. This is 5 mos. with know great change. I'm getting weaker & weaker and it is getting harder & harder for me to give him his shot in the morning. I can't get my eyes to focus. It takes a long time to wake up due to my health problems. Without you wonderful people I would have never been able to get this far.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/13 Michael AMPS 310 +5.75 350

((((paula))))

we just do the best we can. i can tell you that michael's spreadsheet looks pretty normal for a cat at this phase in the treatment. The trouble with pushing for remission is that you aren't able to test as much as it would take to keep him safe. i'm not trying or wanting to make you feel badly, but if a person is going to push their cat into all normal numbers, testing a lot to keep them safe goes right along with it.

Right now, he's had 9 shots at 1.0u. If you wanted to, you could increase his dose by 0.25u. it's up to you if you want to do that, understanding that lower numbers mean more monitoring.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

when you get a chance, take a look at JD's spreadsheet here. JD is Dyana's sweet boy - he is 19 and has been diabetic for more than 9 years, i believe. He is very bouncy - and yet, you can see that even with some very high numbers, he's still had an incredibly great, long life. I've never had a cat make it past about 16. Punkin might have been 17 - we can't be sure, but somewhere in the 16-17 range, and there is JD - 9 years diabetic and regularly high, still enjoying life at 19.

Cats do seem to be able to tolerate high blood sugar more than you'd think.
 
Re: 9/13 Michael AMPS 310 +5.75 350

I think you're doing a great job Paula, with all you have to go through to help Michael, and you have come a long way in these last 5 months.
Hang in there. (((Hugs))). I worry about what would happen to J.D. and who would care for him, if something happened to me too. I have to remind myself to take care of me, often, or rather the people on this board help to remind me :)
 
Re: 9/13 Michael AMPS 310 +5.75 350

Hi Paula, I am not an advice giver on this forum, I am only an occasional poster(I don't have enough that is interesting to say on a daily basis, I guess :roll: ) But I can definitely empathize with the frustrations of having a bouncy FD kitty! :roll: My Tiger girl bounces to the moon at the slightest drop of 50 or so, and it takes sometimes over the 3 days to clear it! You are also dealing with hyperthyroid as well! I had the same situation, Tiger's numbers were in the 500's prior to her radio-iodine 131 treatment in March. And even still, now her thyroid is non-functioning(hypothyroid) and though she takes Levothyroxin, her BG is nowhere near regulated. I was at the point of asking our vet to switch us to Levemir, but Dr. Rogers convinced me to wait a few more months. I think the problem may be that some of the time the thyroid decides to work and sometimes not!! :?

You are asking if your insulin is still good? I would dare to say it is fine, unless you didn't refrigerate it regularly, dropped it repeatedly, or it was full of floaty thingies. I had the opportunity to put this to the test when I purchased 5 new pens of Lantus. The result is the same.

You are doing a great job with Michael, however, this is a super frustrating disease, and you are also in a compromised health condition yourself, so you have to take care of yourself as well! I know how you feel when you say what would happen to Michael if something happened to you- I am in the same position as the CG! We don't know what the future will bring- none of us knows- all we can do is live in the moment, try to take in and as much as possible. live and breathe each moment and not try to forsee that which has not happened yet! We do the best we can with our DB sugarkitties, that's all we can do! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/13 Michael AMPS 310 +5.75 350

Thanks for replies & encouragement
I know all I can do is the best I can. It is so hard. I'm dizzy(woosy) all the time. Every move I make, everything moves with me.(no balance) That's why it is so hard to test, fill the syringe, & give a shot. Somehow over the mos. I have been able to do this.(Michael is sooo good, he just stays still.) I am so fortunate to have a cat that is so good, otherwise this would be impossible. All I can do is take one day at a time, But the future still remains, and it's hard not to think about it, especially with this sugar dance.
Kudos to all of you for being able to deal with this "D". You have done an amazing job, not only with your cats, but with the care givers too :!:
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/13 Michael AMPS 310 +5.75 350

I am so fortunate to have a cat that is so good
cat_pet_icon

If he holds his bounces for 3 days, which I do see he has done in the past, he may be ready to break that bounce tonight. Please be sure to get a before bed test tonight. If the before bed test is lower than your PMPS test, even if you can't test any more tonight at least you can leave some extra food out for him, or some extra carb food out for him if needed.
 
Re: 9/13 Michael AMPS 310 +5.75 350 PMPS 385

Thanks, Dyana
I will.
I always leave food out for him anyway. (LC wet) The problem is, he eats most of it right away :smile: .
 
Michael is in the red. (PMPS +2.75 454) I even increased his dose .25u @PMPS. He ate about a spoonful of LC wet food about PMPS +1. Could this be a food spike :?: I gave it to him accidentally forgetting I hadn't tested yet.
Good night all,
Thanks again for all the encouragement.
Paula :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top