Penelope and Mačka
Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-regarding-vacation-dose.219061/#post-2438905 Thank you to all of you who helped me during my trip!
Hi all,
I came back from my 5 day trip and all seemed fine at home. We had a huge flight delay and when I got home, I gave Macka some Tiki velvet mousse in the middle of the night as a snack. FYI He was doing just fine with his pet sitter. I could see him on the camera and he was greeting her, walking around happily, all looked normal and she said he was eating well.
The next morning, he ate only half of his usual breakfast, but I thought it was because he ate later that night. He had a pre-dental appointment at 8am, we went and he looked grumpy but okay. We came back home, he finished his raw food, and then felt sick. He stopped eating and became quite lethargic. He has had diarrhea since.
That was 3 days ago, and he is still feeling very lousy. The only food he will accept to eat sometimes and in very small quantities are baby food and dry food (low carb). I took him to his regular vet yesterday and here are the blood results that are weird are:
BUN 53 16 - 37 mg/dL HIGH
AST 11 16 - 67 U/L LOW
TRIGLYCERIDE 237 20 - 90 mg/dL HIGH
AMYLASE 3906 2 623 - 2239 U/L HIGH
WBC 20.6 3.9 - 19.0 K/uL HIGH
RBC 7.06 7.12 - 11.46 M/uL LOW
CREA and SDMA are normal. Lipase too.
fPL is normal.
T4 normal.
Urine normal.
I just don't understand what happened between the moment we got home and the next morning. I was thinking that maybe:
- the raw food gave him a gastro enteritis,
- or because he licked some water on the bathroom floor?
- Or he caught a very fast acting bug at the dentist vet (that would have been a matter of 2 hours).
- I weaned him off the steroids and last 1/2 dose was the day before I came back (I am giving a token dose right now for safety, but the vet said I could stop altogether): would stopping steroids make any IBD symptom happen in 24 hours? I wouldn't think it'd be so fast, and also he didn't have these symptoms before taking them
- Pancreatitis? happening overnight?
My vet does not think it's pancreatitis because of normal fPL results. She also thinks the triglyceride and amylase are consistent with diabetes. So what's left? I am confused and ultra worried.
Right now he's having odansetron, buprenorphine, and just got fluids this afternoon because I suspected he was dehydrated with the diarrhea.
His BG is still elevated despite the fact that he does not eat much (ketones were okay until this morning, I still have to catch an evening stream).
3 days ago, I asked the pet sitter to reduce his dose in the PM because he had blue numbers that same day and the pet sitter was going to leave right after his PM shot, and would not come back anymore, and we were told our flight was not taking off at all because of bad weather. I got really scared that he would have a potential dangerous curve without anyone around the whole night.
In addition, with steroids weaning, I didn't want to risk a huge dive the next day. After that, he lost his appetite and the vet said it could influence the BG, so I kept the dose at 2.75 for 2 days. I never saw the dive, so I increased again this morning (please do not shame me for all that, I tried to keep him safe). It might have been a bad move, but I wouldn't think it's the cause of his sickness right now.
Please send good vines to Macka, as he really need some right now. It breaks my heart to see him so down and sick and with no appetite. I am so worried. I am not sure what the next move is.
Have you had good results with Mirtazapine? Thank you.
PS: I switched to human meter today.
Edit: Just read that steroids stay 36 hours or more in the body, so it's unlikely weaning them off is the cause
Hi all,
I came back from my 5 day trip and all seemed fine at home. We had a huge flight delay and when I got home, I gave Macka some Tiki velvet mousse in the middle of the night as a snack. FYI He was doing just fine with his pet sitter. I could see him on the camera and he was greeting her, walking around happily, all looked normal and she said he was eating well.
The next morning, he ate only half of his usual breakfast, but I thought it was because he ate later that night. He had a pre-dental appointment at 8am, we went and he looked grumpy but okay. We came back home, he finished his raw food, and then felt sick. He stopped eating and became quite lethargic. He has had diarrhea since.
That was 3 days ago, and he is still feeling very lousy. The only food he will accept to eat sometimes and in very small quantities are baby food and dry food (low carb). I took him to his regular vet yesterday and here are the blood results that are weird are:
BUN 53 16 - 37 mg/dL HIGH
AST 11 16 - 67 U/L LOW
TRIGLYCERIDE 237 20 - 90 mg/dL HIGH
AMYLASE 3906 2 623 - 2239 U/L HIGH
WBC 20.6 3.9 - 19.0 K/uL HIGH
RBC 7.06 7.12 - 11.46 M/uL LOW
CREA and SDMA are normal. Lipase too.
fPL is normal.
T4 normal.
Urine normal.
I just don't understand what happened between the moment we got home and the next morning. I was thinking that maybe:
- the raw food gave him a gastro enteritis,
- or because he licked some water on the bathroom floor?
- Or he caught a very fast acting bug at the dentist vet (that would have been a matter of 2 hours).
- I weaned him off the steroids and last 1/2 dose was the day before I came back (I am giving a token dose right now for safety, but the vet said I could stop altogether): would stopping steroids make any IBD symptom happen in 24 hours? I wouldn't think it'd be so fast, and also he didn't have these symptoms before taking them
- Pancreatitis? happening overnight?
My vet does not think it's pancreatitis because of normal fPL results. She also thinks the triglyceride and amylase are consistent with diabetes. So what's left? I am confused and ultra worried.
Right now he's having odansetron, buprenorphine, and just got fluids this afternoon because I suspected he was dehydrated with the diarrhea.
His BG is still elevated despite the fact that he does not eat much (ketones were okay until this morning, I still have to catch an evening stream).
3 days ago, I asked the pet sitter to reduce his dose in the PM because he had blue numbers that same day and the pet sitter was going to leave right after his PM shot, and would not come back anymore, and we were told our flight was not taking off at all because of bad weather. I got really scared that he would have a potential dangerous curve without anyone around the whole night.
In addition, with steroids weaning, I didn't want to risk a huge dive the next day. After that, he lost his appetite and the vet said it could influence the BG, so I kept the dose at 2.75 for 2 days. I never saw the dive, so I increased again this morning (please do not shame me for all that, I tried to keep him safe). It might have been a bad move, but I wouldn't think it's the cause of his sickness right now.
Please send good vines to Macka, as he really need some right now. It breaks my heart to see him so down and sick and with no appetite. I am so worried. I am not sure what the next move is.
Have you had good results with Mirtazapine? Thank you.
PS: I switched to human meter today.
Edit: Just read that steroids stay 36 hours or more in the body, so it's unlikely weaning them off is the cause
Last edited:


