9/13 Lando AMPS 247; +4 62 +4.25 111; +5.25 115; +8 162; PMPS 195 ( no shot)

Lando demando

Member Since 2021
Yikes! Do i need to give syrup if he is not showing hypo signs?
I just gave him 20 carb food and some treats
I guess test in another 15m?
Also a reduction tonight to 1.75 u?
 
Last edited:
62 is lower than you want him to be on the AT. Test again 20 minutes after the food, to make sure he's come up. It takes 20-30 minutes for the carbs to go from the plate to the blood stream.
 
62 is lower than you want him to be on the AT. Test again 20 minutes after the food, to make sure he's come up. It takes 20-30 minutes for the carbs to go from the plate to the blood stream.
Ah! Perfect, thank you. I will test again in 25 m from feeding! Thanks for the reply ( that extra cup of coffee made me JUMP) this am!
 
The "take action" number number where we break out the higher carbs is 68 on the AT.
I did remember that much luckily, just wasnt quite sure anout the “big guns” syrup ;)
My rookie move of throwing carbs at lando for a 90s number already happened last week :banghead:
 
Excellent. Please test again in an hour to ensure he stays up after the carbs have worn off.

I am going to tag @tiffmaxee about dosing. Considering you have changed from HC kibble to LC wet and he dropped below 68 today despite a token shot last night, I wonder if a larger reduction may be in order. Maybe 1.5U?
 
Excellent. Please test again in an hour to ensure he stays up after the carbs have worn off.

I am going to tag @tiffmaxee about dosing. Considering you have changed from HC kibble to LC wet and he dropped below 68 today despite a token shot last night, I wonder if a large reduction may be in order. Maybe 1.5U?
Would love everyones opinion on that. But yes he seems to be knocked over by 2 u now that its no kibble
 
Typically when we feed carbs to bring them up, we think in terms of a couple tsps. We want to make sure they are still hungry, in case you need them to eat again later.

If you haven't already, this Sticky Note is a good one to print off. In case of power outage. Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers
It suggests a sooner test than an hour, to make sure he's staying up. You want two consecutive tests flat or rising.
 
I am off to bed!

Please change your title to add the latest numbers and remove the OMG etc. You can add it again if you need help later in the cycle :-)
(Otherwise people will not know that you need help again.)
 
When I switched Chloe's food and the Lantus started breaking through, we cut her dose in half (3 down to 1.5) and never looked back. I don't know if a 50% reduction would be too harsh in one go for Lando. But I bet you'll be coming down the dosing ladder pretty quickly!
 
Typically when we feed carbs to bring them up, we think in terms of a couple tsps. We want to make sure they are still hungry, in case you need them to eat again later.

If you haven't already, this Sticky Note is a good one to print off. In case of power outage. Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers
It suggests a sooner test than an hour, to make sure he's staying up. You want two consecutive tests flat or rising.
Ah i will paste the info in my notes program too! Ty
 
I would reduce to 1.5 if my cat. You have given a few token doses and you cut out carbs. It’s a bigger reduction than we usually take but safety first in my opinion

I missed the drama while on my Peloton. Has your heart stopped racing yet?
 
I would reduce to 1.5 if my cat. You have given a few token doses and you cut out carbs. It’s a bigger reduction than we usually take but safety first in my opinion

I missed the drama while on my Peloton. Has your heart stopped racing yet?
Haha! Thank you i concur ( re dosage). haha the extra coffee this AM did NOT help my alarm bells ;)

my poor guy is hiding ( not sure if he feels cruddy, or is in pain or just wants away from nurse ratchett)
 
Aaarrrggggg! So frustrated Lando wont eat. He had a good preshoot number 195 :( @tiffmaxee i think i am going to token dose if he wont eat by 830. He could be queasy or his stuffy nose could be ruining everything
 
What are you giving for the stuffy nose? I’ve used Zyrtec regular strength allergy, 1/4 a pill and it also acts like an appetite stimulant. Poor baby.
 
OH! I had no idea! My vet didnt suggest and last time he had stuffy nose 2 wks ago the vet gave him antibiotics. I can go out and get some tonight for tomorrow am. But for tonight… he is really being stubborn ( maybe a teaspoon licks). That means too dangerous to shoot yes?
 
OH! I had no idea! My vet didnt suggest and last time he had stuffy nose 2 wks ago the vet gave him antibiotics. I can go out and get some tonight for tomorrow am. But for tonight… he is really being stubborn ( maybe a teaspoon licks). That means too dangerous to shoot yes?
If he won’t eat I would not give the full dose. I didn’t realize he had a uri. Is he sneezing? Has this happened before? The Zyrtec might not help his symptoms but often makes them hungry. My vet said it’s fine. Max had it and one of my girls had it a few times for her scratching. It made her very hungry!
 
If he won’t eat I would not give the full dose. I didn’t realize he had a uri. Is he sneezing? Has this happened before? The Zyrtec might not help his symptoms but often makes them hungry. My vet said it’s fine. Max had it and one of my girls had it a few times for her scratching. It made her very hungry!
Well he had a uri two weeks ago and my other two have mild symptoms. Lando sneezed yesterday, seemed a bit better today but still a bit congested. He has NOT been diagnosed for this episode. I have a humidifier going and will likely give him som zyrtec tonight if he does not eat and i give the token. Thank you elise, poor lando has not had a smooth ride ( even tho his numbers have been more encouraging)
 
Are you giving L-Lysine for the stuffy nose? Paws crossed he feels better in the AM.
Its taking a little while to arrive in the mail. I ordered it a few days ago! Thanks for the well wishes. I really hope my poor guy feels better, he is being such a good boy :(
 
@Bandit's Mom wondering if i can ask you if you have experience with extreme vomiting. Lando is having an episode and the 10 local emergency clinics wont/ cant see him. Understand if this is beyond the scope of advising
The vomiting has stopped. Sorry for the alarm
 
Last edited:
Not a whole lot of experience with vomitting. Was it a scarf and barf (eating too much or too quickly?)? Hairball? Bile? Undigested? Food? Multiple rounds?
What is extreme?

Do you have Ondanestron?
 
Not a whole lot of experience with vomitting. Was it a scarf and barf (eating too much or too quickly?)? Hairball? Bile? Undigested? Food? Multiple rounds?
What is extreme?

Do you have Ondanestron?
Hi Bhooma i was able to catch a few hours sleep. Vomiting was foamy then bile. Maybe 15xs in an hr. He was in distress crying out in pain and hiding. He calmed down after two hours. I woke up now and then to him drinking some. But still seems worn out.
I guess i thought it may be a common Pancreatitis or keytone symptom situation that someone could identify.

regardless, im reluctant to give more medication on such a raw stomach
 
Hi Bhooma and Elise thank you so much for checking in. Yes last night / this am was scary. I thought Lando was having a life threatening episode. Elise as you know emergency vets are at capacity in LA so they all turned me away. my vet saw him and treated his dehydration, pain and nausea. We are hoping for a turn around ( again) but sadly NS this am. His BG at the vet 10 am was 275 i believe
 
I feel so bad for my guy. I was was questioning whether i was putting him through too much :( i dont want him to suffer for me). But it looks like he still has years left! I needed the vet to reality check me.
 
Pancreatitis? Sounds like it to me but what did your vet say? I’m glad you got in to see your vet. The ER recently refused a cat when my office called.
 
Pancreatitis? Sounds like it to me but what did your vet say? I’m glad you got in to see your vet. The ER recently refused a cat when my office called.
Yes! Its really terrifying out there right now. I guess its horrible for all vets and vet techs ( not to mention scary for pets and their caretakers). Ugh last night…
Yes my vet said the same a bad Pancreatitis flare up. But clear lungs, no temp, no uti or keytones. So i guess nausea is the monster lando is battling. I wont wean him off of cerenia, keep it rolling for him
 
Back
Top