9/13 Jenks AMPS 307 PMPS 193 +7 60

Status
Not open for further replies.
wow did he clear that bounce fast!

Neko is another kitty that has done what Jenks is doing right now, having most of their low numbers in the night cycle:

Neko - look beginning Feb 2013

Wendy switched her to Levemir and you can look at her 2014 ss to see the change in cycles. She still gets a lot of her low numbers in the night cycle.

If I were you, I might try holding this 5.5u dose and carbing him before he goes under 50, if it looks like he's headed under 50, so you can stay at this dose for a little bit longer. Sometimes doing that for even a few cycles can make a difference by bringing down the higher numbers. We had a discussion yesterday in Darin's Charlie's 9/12 condo about a similar issue.

Jen&Eddie said:
Hi Darin,

Here's another of my favorite bouncy kitties. Leo's SS.

I think I get what you're saying about propping up his numbers with food to try to keep him in higher numbers, aiming for a higher nadir, to try to help with the bouncing. This is exactly what many folks will do in terms of food manipulation. If feeding the curve holds up the lowest of the numbers, you can often hold onto a dose for a longer period of time without a reduction, which in turn (at least in theory), will help bring down some of the higher numbers. Some kitties cooperate with this plan, some don't. :lol: Keep copious notes of exactly what and when you fed and experiment with different timing and carb levels to see what happens.

julie & punkin (ga) said:
What jen describes is a method I think works really well. Preventing a dose reduction by keeping a cat above 50 can make an improvement fairly quickly. The caveat is that it needs to be done by someone like you who is great about monitoring and understands how your own cat responds to insulin,. You also want to only do it for a short time, as long as it is fairly easy to keep the cat above 50 so you don't have a situation where the depot is too big for what the cat needs. If you're working hard to hold the cat above 50, it's time to take the reduction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top