9/13 Ella pmps 387

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
Hello everyone:)

Ella needed assistance with the food this morning but happily ate it through the syringe. I ran out of strips for my contour so am using the Alphatrak until the new ones are delivered. Ella was mellow yellow all night and was dropping steadily (according to the contour at the beginning of the night) so I was surprised to see her in and around the same number on the AT this morning. I recently used both and they gave me similar numbers so the reading on the AT should be accurate...I hope. The new strips should be coming today. I'm really bummed out that I can't come home to check on her at lunch anymore and am worried that I won't be able to follow protocol since she doesn't eat the gravies on her own. Does anyone have suggestions?
 
Re: 9/13 Ella amps 254

So nice that she's happy to have you help her eat :smile: Not sure about still being able to follow the protocol. Thankfully I was always able to come home at lunchtime to check Vyktor but I'm sure there are others that can't, whether any of their kitties have eating issues though I don't know. Bit of a dilema for you :? You're probably already at work but if you access this today don't forget to put the ? icon up so people know you have a query. Hopefully someone will have a satisfactory solution for you and Ella.
 
Re: 9/13 Ella amps 254

What changed?
Did they take away your lunch hour?
Can you negotiate to at least be able to do it on "nervous" days?


How much experimentation with foods and different brands have you done?
There are some others that don't necessarily have gravy that are higher.

Our problem with getting the cat to eat when we aren't home is getting her to go look for it.
 
Re: 9/13 Ella amps 254

Thanks for visiting Rhiannon and Serryn:)

Rhiannon, I'm a teacher so I have to be present when the bell rings. Last year I had some preparation time attached to my
lunch but I'm in a new position this year and have a schedule which can't be changed. Ella will not eat anything other than the Wellness chicken and even then she doesn't tend to go to it when she's low. I need to physically be present to syringe her hc. I've tried so many different canned foods and she turns her nose up at all of them. The only thing she will eat on her own is dry as she was a dry food addict and still is ohmygod_smile Perhaps I can leave her dry on the days that I'm nervous?!
 
Re: 9/13 Ella amps 254

Hi Tamara!!!!

Thank you for all your wonderful support and encouragement while I was "out". I'm trying to start getting back to some of the condos from folks who have been around a bit instead of just newbies. I'm sure you are thrilled to be in the "been around a bit" category now :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

BTW: here's Yesterday's Condo. I know mornings are hectic for you but it really does help us a bunch to have that link to quickly take a look at the last condo. Thank you thank you :YMHUG:

I do really understand the quandary if you no longer have your lunch time this year to check her. What about Greg? If there is a possibility to get a +2 and you know she's headed down, is there any way he can come home mid day and check or is there a relative or friend? I'd really really hate to see you leave her dry food to eat.

I'm glad you fattened her dose for now. If she doesn't do much in the next couple days, it might be smart to take her up to 1.75u on Friday night and see what she does over the weekend.
 
Hi Marje :-D Thanks for visiting and posting the link from yesterday's condo. My mornings have been fairly busy and tiring. I've been trying to get back to bed for atleast 45 minutes to compensate for the beauty sleep I lose in order to get a +2. Ella's numbers are super stinky and I'm not too sure why as she was hitting greens on the 1.50 prior to dental. We bought a new vial today as I was thinking ours might have been compromised by having to take it to and from my parent's house as well as the vet. We've also had it since May so perhaps it's time to kick it up a notch. I'm thinking I will dose her the f 1.50 with the new vial tomorrow morning and then raise her to 1.75u on Saturday morning. It's my understanding that we shouldn't raise the dose while we are trying out a new vial, correct? Or perhaps it's better to raise her dose first before opening the new bottle?! Hmmmmm.....

Unfortunately Greg works even farther than I do so he can't come home and we don't have any family that lives close or that is available to come on a whim. I'd think about hiring a sitter but we just can't afford it right now so I'm not really sure what to do. Would it be really awful to leave dry food out if I felt she was going to go low? I'd hate to see her turn her nose up at the wet but it might be our only solution to keeping her safe...that's if she ever sees green again.

A dosecrease is in her very near future!
 
Hi Tamara, on the food, if that's the only way to keep her safe, it might be your only solution. I know Roni (Moonie) gives her some Temptations to bring her up and keep her safe. You do what you have to do with the circumstances of your schedule. Is Ella carb sensitive? Merricks has a canned food called Grammy's Pot Pie that really causes a spike in Maggie. Interesting the the AlphaTrak and Contour being the same!
 
Hey Tamara--Sometimes we work fairs all day, leaving early & coming home late..
So I leave Moonie a 2 dish auto feeder & feed her 4 temptations each in each section & some LC or MC food so she has both to eat(depending on her number that am)--3-4 temptations(even thought they are tiny) raise her bg's & keep her from dropping--
So if you put out auto feeder(mine is catmate) with a tbs of dry food or a few temptations & some wet food also, she may eat one or the other, or may surprise you both & eat it all :lol: :lol: :lol:
Moonie loves to be hand fed-and coddled, but when we are out she does just fine...
If I can help you in any way, I will try-These cats are so sweet, but nutty!! Hugs & love from us!
 
Hi Tamara - quite the quandary for you. I do like Roni's suggestion - and i know that it works well for her. Maybe give it a try ad see how she responds on a day when you are there? I've also used Merrick like Ann suggests too. It does bring Mannie up, but it sounds like you've tried food after food... These kitties!

I hope Ella is doing well after he dental.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top