9/13 Ebby AMPS 184 +3 83 +5 101 PMPS 148, YES!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelissaEbby

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo

I was a little unsure when to reduce Ebby's dose. I'm treating her as a long-term diabetic so was going to wait to reduce until she goes below 40. Someone else mentioned reducing if she goes below 50 three times. Well, she went below 50 for the third time the other night, but I did not reduce. I now see that following the protocol I probably should have reduced. Although, one of these below 50's was when I shot IM by mistake so I think the absorption was a lot stronger than normal. (Don't know if I should count this time) I guess, I'll just wait to reduce when she goes below 50 again??

Ebby is doing great. Numbers are better, and she gained a pound! She is now at her highest weight (9.2 pounds) since diagnosis! :-D
 
Re: Ebby AMPS 184 +3 83

Hi Melissa! I use the same approach with Papaya, since the reductions don't seem to hold otherwise. It's going between 40 and 50 on three separate DAYS, not times, so if you get two cycles in one day that are low it just counts as one for the reduction count, and if you go below 40 ever even once you are supposed to reduce immediately for safely. Looking at your spreadsheet I see that the three times she has been in the 40s have been spread out over different days, so yes she does qualify for a reduction if you count that first time. Personally I always hate counting a low I get in a cycle right after a reduction because it could still just be the depot, but that may be arguable. Anyways with the way Ebby is going this morning she may make sure she gets that reduction after all!

PS could you put the date in the subject line of your first post of the day just so everybody can be clear on which posts are current? Thanks!
 
Re: 9/13 Ebby AMPS 184 +3 83

Hi Amy! Thanks, that clears it up. You're right, she might make it there today...otherwise I might just wait for the next one. I'm going to get a +5 soon. Thanks for reminding me to put the date in...must have forgotten. :roll: Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/13 Ebby AMPS 184 +3 83 +5 101

Hi Melissa! I don't think I've introduced myself: I'm Kat from Ohio and Gobbles is my diet-controlled sugar boy--an 11 year old neutered gray tabby dix'd 11/17/12 and OTJ 5/16/13. Anyways, regarding that 3rd 40s number that would warrant a reduction: that's up to you, really. In all honesty, I don't think there's a right or wrong answer there. You know Ebby better than anyone and you're the one holding the syringe. I would think that it would be evident soon if you should have given the reduction? Being as cats are so great at being unpredictable, Ebby may surprise you :cry:
 
Re: 9/13 Ebby AMPS 184 +3 83 +5 101

Hi Kat! Very nice to meet you! I must confess, I have stalked Gobbles SS a few times, well a lot of times. In the beginning when I saw that Ebby was bouncing so much, I was looking through spreadsheets to see if ANY bouncy kitties ever go OTJ. Then I came across Gobbles. When I get discouraged with the bouncing I go back and look at Gobbles SS. Yes, Ebby might not have the same outcome, but I like to think there is still a possibility.

As far as the reduction goes....yeah, I might just have to use some intuition. Right now my intuition is telling me to hold the dose because the higher dose seems to counter those bounces a little better. I've also been able to bring her numbers up fairly easy when she does go low, and she's gained weight just in the past 10 days on this dose. I'll probably at least wait for the next low, and then decide what to do. Thanks for stopping by, and you reminded me it's about time to look at Gobbles SS again!
 
Re: 9/13 Ebby AMPS 184 +3 83 +5 101

MelissaEbby said:
Hi Kat! Very nice to meet you! I must confess, I have stalked Gobbles SS a few times, well a lot of times. In the beginning when I saw that Ebby was bouncing so much, I was looking through spreadsheets to see if ANY bouncy kitties ever go OTJ. Then I came across Gobbles. When I get discouraged with the bouncing I go back and look at Gobbles SS. Yes, Ebby might not have the same outcome, but I like to think there is still a possibility.

As far as the reduction goes....yeah, I might just have to use some intuition. Right now my intuition is telling me to hold the dose because the higher dose seems to counter those bounces a little better. I've also been able to bring her numbers up fairly easy when she does go low, and she's gained weight just in the past 10 days on this dose. I'll probably at least wait for the next low, and then decide what to do. Thanks for stopping by, and you reminded me it's about time to look at Gobbles SS again!
Aww...how sweet of you Melissa! I'm glad you stalk Gobbles' SS--he was a very bouncy boy. Another bouncy kitty is Sabrina "milfordcollector" (she's Gobbles' main squeeze). There's a kitty, I can't remember which, who went OTJ after 2 years, not too long ago. And Stella is real close to a Trial--she's been FD for over 2 years. There is always hope, Melissa. Never say never. Mocha Jo Latte is another kitty who went OTJ after being FD for a very long time. I think usually the steroid-induced kitties go OTJ earlier; Gobbles' FD was most likely due to a result of depo-medrol shots. Then for some it just takes a diet change. ECID. Please don't get discouraged. I know that's easier said than done; I was mighty discouraged up until a few weeks before Gobbles' trial. You'll also note, looking at his SS, that prior to him skipping down the dosing ladder in late April/early May, he was earning lots of reductions--which I gave in to, too quickly--then ended going right back up the ladder. I agree with your intuition on holding the dose! So she's gained weight--that's good, yes? I'm thinking that it must be...now in Gobbles case...put it this way--he doesn't look like he's missed any meals. I have to keep a constant eye on the scale with him. Ebby sure is a lucky kitty to have you for her momma cat_pet_icon Please keep your chin up---paws, fingers, toes, hands, feet, eyes and streets crossed that Ebby will, well, you know....!!!
 
TheBowHuntress said:
Ebby sure is a lucky kitty to have you for her momma Please keep your chin up---paws, fingers, toes, hands, feet, eyes and streets crossed that Ebby will, well, you know....!!!
Thank you :YMHUG:

Thank you also for giving me the names of more kitties to stalk. Yes, for Ebby, it's a good thing she gained a little weight. She has never really been heavy, and then when the diabetes kicked back in she lost weight pretty quickly.

Well, I have definitely had my share of discouragement, but in the past month it has gotten better. I have realized I'm doing the best I can, and that some things (bouncing) is just somewhat out of my control.

I did look at Gobbles SS again, and noticed those reductions that didn't hold, and how you had to step right back up.That 2 unit dose at the end seemed to do the trick! You did a great job managing Gobbles diabetes and getting him OTJ! Thanks again for the encouragement!

Maybe Ebby knew I was talking to Gobbles mom, because she just gave me her first two blue preshots in a row! :-D
 
Melissa

You are correct that a little more insulin can often smooth out the bounces as long as you are able to test. And I think you are right to use your intuition.

If you have cycles where you have to work to keep numbers up, it probably makes sense to reduce the dose even if she hasn't been below 40 or between 40-50 three different days.

Lovely day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top