9/13: Corduroy, AMPS 132

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone,

I just did Corduroy's AMPS and it is 140, so I'm stalling for 30 minutes to see if it's still dropping. Is this correct? Or should I go ahead and shoot? I'm never sure of what to do in these cases nailbite_smile

Thanks,

Brigitte
 
Re: 9/13: Corduroy, AMPS 140, STALLING

Okay, thanks Sienne and Gabby. I shot .25 just now. His BG was at 132 this time, which makes me a little nervous, but as the others said before, 140 and 132 are considered about the same with the monitors. I will be home all day to monitor him and I have HC food as well as Karo syrup. I need to get used to shooting at low numbers anyway, it's just nerve-wracking nailbite_smile
 
Re: 9/13: Corduroy, AMPS 140, STALLING

Brigitte:

Can you edit your subject line? You would want to remove the "stalling" and since the number you shot was 132, that's your AMPS.

To edit, you need to go to your initial post, click on the "edit" button, make the changes, then click on "submit."
 
Hi Sienne and Gabby,

I edited my subject line as well as Corduroy's SS AMPS. I also included his profile in my signature.

He seems to be doing really well, which I'm surprised at because lately he's been acting very lethargic with these low numbers. And this is the lowest I've EVER shot. I'm checking him at +2 to see what his BG will be.

Thanks so much :smile:

Brigitte
 
His +2=88 and his +4=46. The +4 is a lot lower than I'm used to seeing for him, but he is not acting anywhere near hypo; he seems to be fine. I'm going to feed him now and keep a close eye on him. I'm trying to check him every two hours today to see where his nadir is. Is this correct, or should I check more often?

Until next time, have a great day :smile:

Brigitte
 
With that 46 I would check a bit more often just until you're sure it's coming up, since he's not often that low you won't be sure how much more he wants to dive. It wouldn't hurt to check in 1/2 hour intervals at this point. If it seems to be leveling out, maybe hourly until it's going back up. I'm glad you're able to keep a close eye on him today.

Did you feed him regular low carb or something a bit higher carb? It's a good idea to note that on your spreadsheet or post it here so that next time he goes low you can look back and see how certain food affects his numbers.

Also, that 46 should mean he has earned a decrease, but I'm not actually sure how that works when he's already getting only 0.25 . . . there's a question for your subject line for tonight!
 
Okay, I've checked his BG levels twice in the last hour. At +4.5 it was 63, and now at +5, it is 72. I'm taking this to mean that his nadir was at +4, which was 46. Am I correct in thinking this?

Also, am I correct in assuming that his BG level will only go up from this point? In other words, would it be safe at this point to be out of the house for a couple of hours (at most) without monitoring him?

Oh, and I've been feeding him Fancy Feast Savory Salmon (low carb).
 
OK, it's good to know that he only needed the low carb to bring up his numbers.

Looking at your spreadsheet it seems fairly reasonable to conclude that he does usually have an early-ish nadir around +4, but that can move around a bit from day to day as well (like on 9/9 when he was back down at +7). It looks like he's going back up, but that could be partly from the food hitting his system too. If you're going out for a couple hours, to be on the safe side you might want to leave him a little food (you can mix in a bit of water to the wet food so it doesn't dry out) just in case he does drop down again.
 
Thanks Amy and Papaya for the input. I don't think I'll leave him unmonitored; don't think I'd feel at ease. I DO have a scenario coming up on Sunday that I'm worried about, however. In the morning, my husband and I will be gone from 10-11:30. I'm not sure what to do regarding giving him insulin. I usually give it around 8:30, but that +1, +2 and +3 time (when we'll be gone) is pretty scary. Do you have any opinion on what I could do about this? I thought about moving his AMPS and PMPS times to be a bit later each day, but the 15-minute rule with that still won't get me to be able to give him a shot as late as 11:30.

Thanks again for sitting with me today :smile:

Brigitte
 
No problem, Brigitte - Papaya was keeping me home today!

For Sunday, what if you gradually move the shot later a little, starting now, so you're closer to 9:30 on Sunday? The preshot meal will be taking his numbers up or at least keeping them level for the first while, and you should be back around +2 before he really has a chance to drop much. Plus you can always leave food out just in case you get delayed a little or he wants a snack.

See what the AMPS looks like on Sunday, but the first couple hours of a cycle are usually pretty safe since Lantus takes a while to take effect.
 
Hi Brigitte, I just wanted to say that you did great.
It gets easier, and less scary.
Best wishes to you and Corduroy.
 
Amy and Papaya,

Thanks, I think that's what I'll do on Sunday, keep moving the time up a bit. And thanks for reminding me that it takes Lantus a little bit to take effect. I always forget this.

And thanks Picknickchick for the kind words :smile:

Brigitte
 
Of course, now I've thought of another worry ;-) What if his BG levels are 100 or under tonight at PMPS time? Should I still shoot? I have to work early tomorrow morning and be there all day (I'm a hairstylist and Saturdays are our killer days). Although I would like to be able to, I just can't stay up with him and check on him every hour. However, I know that I should keep him pretty low in order to possibly get him OTJ. What should I do in this case?

Thanks for any advice :smile:

Brigitte
 
I'd like to make a suggestion. If you look at the Board, people will post updated BG test information. With your kitty dropping into the 40s, that would get our attention since Corduroy and you are new here. I checked in and scanned the board while I was at work but didn't take notice of your condo. I assumed you hadn't done any additional tests. For the future, can you edit your subject line so we can make sure all is well? It's the best way that we can have your back!

Also, you may want to take a look at the starred, sticky note, Shooting & Handling Low Numbers. Just in case no one is around, this will walk you through what to do with a low pre-shot or if, like today, you run into low numbers, it will likewise provide you with the information you need.

The next lowest dose is a 0.1u dose.
01unit-1.jpg


With regard to Sunday, I think you have 2 options. You could shoot at your usual time and leave a good deal of food out for Corduroy. This is a reasonable option if you know he'll eat on is own if his numbers are dropping. (My kitty would sleep!) The other option is to shoot late. It's not as much of a problem with shooting late as it is shooting early. (An early shot acts like a dose increase vs. a late shot acts like a dose reduction.) As long as you have the flexibility during the week to move Corduroy's shot backwards either by 15 min. at each shot or by 30 min. once a day, it's fine.
 
Thanks Sienne, I will start editing my posts more often. I'm still a little new at this, so I'm not always sure of what to do. Also, thanks for the link on how to handle low pre-shot numbers. I've read it before, but upon reading it again, I found new information. And lastly, thanks for your input about Sunday. I think I will shoot late, it'll have to be around 11:30 a.m. and then I'll shoot again at 11:15 p.m. that night.

Have a good night I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top