9/13 Cinco PMPS 122 +2 83 +4 42 +4.5 48 +5.25 57 +6 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
9/12 Recap:
1.5 units bid
AMPS: 209 Furshot! :sad:
AM+3.5: 261
AM+6: 311
PMPS: 281
PM+2: 218
PM+4: 169
PM+6.5: 173
PM+8: 176

Yesterday's Breaking Momentum Condo

Cinco didn't recover from the furshot as dramatically as he did the last time (darn it!), but he is slowly recovering, I think. I'm trying not to let it bother me too much - just disappointed that we lost all that progress we were making. :sad: Reminds me of my diet! :roll: :lol:

Not much new going on. Sasha is still doing amazingly well - appy is fine and she seems perfectly comfortable. :-D :-D :-D I know I shouldn't expect this after every chemo session, but it sure is a relief that I didn't do something that made her miserable! My DFIL thinks we should have sent her across the bridge after her diagnosis, and he keeps telling us we shouldn't be putting her through "all this". I have to walk away from the computer (we skype) when he starts with that. If he could just see her sweet face when she looks at me, and the way she jumps up on the bed and snuggles next to me at night, he wouldn't think that - or maybe he would - this is a man that has hunted all his life and while he cares about animals, doesn't view them the way I do. We don't agree on a lot of things. Sorry. I get fired up just thinking about it, and I just read an e-mail from him that reminded me. I think I'll go upstairs and get some kitty cuddles to put me in a better frame of mind.

Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG: Prayers for Amy's DF, Lyresa's DF & DH, Elise's DM and Wendy's DM.
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco AMPS 257 +3.75 217

OK Cinco, let's slide down to some nice blues again. Mommabean was getting quite fond of them and misses them.

Great news on how well Sasha is doing. So many people thinking animals will react to chemo like people did. I used to go with a friend to her dogs chemo sessions and he knew when we were getting close to there. Standing up, wagging his tail - he loved it there. Of course, the lovely staff and treats didn't hurt.
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco AMPS 257 +3.75 217

Aww, I'm sure that Cinco is planning a nice slide...probably at night (anti jinx, lol). Come on Cinco, give your beans some more blues and greens:) I hear you on the diet:P

I'm so glad Sasha is feeling fine! It's so encouraging to see. I know so many people don't understand, these are our kids! I feel like asking, would you put your kid down when they get a bad diagnosis or try help them if possible? I know it's not always possible with QOL and $ etc; and of course it's a bit different...but still. I got a lot of that from people with Chyna with her allergies/CKD/diabetes, and I'm so glad to have other animal lovers from this boards support. So hugs from me, and I hope the kitty cuddles will help:)

Well, I hope you have a great weekend, Tricia! Give some scritches to all the furbabies from me, too!
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco AMPS 257 +3.75 217

Hi Tricia,
I hope Cinco gets back on track soon, and I'm glad Sasha is doing so well!

I'm sorry your DFIL's comments are bringing you down.
I think many of us have similar experience.... I had some people say things like that too.
Don't let these comments affect you.
They live in a different world and I just went um-hum-yeah-yeah, and never took anything they said to heart.
Only with my own mother, I bothered to explain.
I told her I was doing all these things (BG management, finger-feeding, not going away, acupuncture, reiki, etc.) not only for Lucy but for myself too, so when it's really time, I'd have no regret, and that was important to me.
And she understood that right away and became supportive after that conversation.
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco AMPS 257 +3.75 217

Okay - memory of an elephant speaking here ( :lol: ). Remember when you guys told me to go to the Cher concert and skip Jersey's shot? And I didn't listen....took her with us....and she got practically no insulin anyway because she refused to eat? She was back on track in a couple of days. I had to go back and find that condo.

Shelly, for what it's worth, Cinco got no insulin yesterday because of his surgery, and today his numbers were right in line with where he was before the skips. Don't forget you have that depot to drain, so you may be able to pick right up where you left off. Besides, beans need a break every now and then.

You gave good advice - this is your break! :YMHUG: (BTW - that was the same day Jersey farted on DH during the bg check. I did forget that one!)

It's wonderful to hear that Sasha is doing so well. I can't imagine trying to juggle all of the issues you're juggling, especially when family members aren't supportive at a time when you need them the most. My MIL and co-worker both told me to euthanize Jersey. I'm sure glad I didn't listen to them. My DH is like your FIL - hunter, cares about animals but not in the same way I do. Fortunately, he's learned that he just needs to keep his mouth shut if he disagrees with me about the cat....and to hold his breath if she happens to be a bit gassy. :lol:

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
Shelly
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco AMPS 257 +3.75 217 +6.5 191

Thanks for the support, Shelly, Wendy, Mariko and Rachel! I'm very lucky in that my DH feels as I do, and really that's all that matters. :-D

Shelly, you just proved my point! I did not remember that conversation at all. Gosh, I sounded wise, didn't I? Must have been a fluke! :lol: I hope Cinco will get right back on track. I was really liking that particular track!

Yes, Wendy, I am fond of those nice blues. We made it to blue today, but it's looking like he's going to stay in the higher blues. That's okay. Maybe he'll get a little lower tonight. We have no plans to go out this week, so he's free to party if he wants to!

Rachel, it's wonderful to hear from you! I saw you posted on my condo the other day, too. Sorry I didn't get back to you. I think of you often. How are your kitties doing? Did you sell your house? Please keep in touch!

Mariko, thank you for your kind words. I knew the people here would understand. I don't usually let it bother me, but it's been hanging in the back of my mind ever since our last conversation, and for some reason today's e-mail (on a totally unrelated subject) brought it to the surface.

Looks like I jinxed Sasha (I knew I should have said anti-jinx!). When I went up to see her, I found she had thrown up her breakfast on my bed. :o She was lying in the hallway, just relaxing, not uncomfortable or upset. I guess I'll have to give her the ondansetron in the mornings for a while, just to be safe. I did give her some just now and I'll see if she wants more to eat a little later. Oh well, that comforter needed washing, anyway!
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco AMPS 257 +3.75 217 +6.5 191

Hi Tricia, looks like a nice slide down for Cinco! He didn't seem too affected by the fur shot, but I know how frustrating it is when that happens! Sorry to hear Sasha didn't feel too well, I hope the ondansetron will kick in soon and help her tummy feel better. Sending feel better vines too all of you!

p.s. RE: the insensitive remarks people make, I am giving you an extra couple of hugs for that one! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: I get that too, from well-meaning people. Last one was at the nephew's wedding, someone said, "isn't it about time to get Tiger put down, she's getting to be a lot of trouble for you!" :roll: I still have a hole in my bottom lip from trying not to say something rude in return! :cry: The important thing is that you and DH feel differently, that's all that matters!!
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco AMPS 257 +3.75 217 +6.5 191

Gosh, I sounded wise, didn't I? Must have been a fluke! :lol: I hope Cinco will get right back on track. I was really liking that particular track!

Good try - I've caught lots of wise advice all across the board from you. Nice slide in progress today; I'm thinking green will be appearing on the ss. Hasn't Cinco been plotting with aliens to deprive you of sleep..or something like that? ;-)
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco AMPS 257 +3.75 217 +6.5 191

Nice slide for Cinco today. I'm sorry Sasha threw up. Maybe it was just a one time thing. It's frustrating when family and friends don't understand and make insensitive remarks. We just have to ignore them. I'm glad your DH feels like you do.
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco AMPS 257 +3.75 217 +6.5 191

Love the Sasha report. The same thing happened with my friends cat that had surgery for lung cancer and then chemo. She sailed right through it. She has a much harder time with IBD. Don't key your FIL get you down. People don't understand how well many cats do with chemo.

Thanks for keeping us in your thoughts.
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco PMPS 122

Thanks for stopping by, Carla, Shelly and Elise.

I am not convinced Sasha's barf was chemo-related. She just doesn't seem like she feels unwell and she has a history of tummy upsets. She used to throw up so often we joked that she was bulimic. She ate her dinner just fine. I'll check on her in an hour to make sure she hasn't lost that, too, but I feel pretty good about her.

So Cinco apparently double dipped. I don't recall his ever having his PMPS be the lowest number of the day, but of course I don't know what I missed in the last 6 hours of the cycle. I meant to get a +10 but got busy in the yard and lost track of time. It'll be interesting to see what he does tonight. Maybe I'll get that green I've been pining for! I don't mind a bit if Cinco is plotting to keep me up - I'm a night owl, anyway! :-D

Shelly, you are too kind. You are better at giving advice than I am. I just try to share my own experiences when I think they are applicable. Mostly, I just try to give moral support. I know how much it helped me to get tons of that when I was new - and still helps lots to this day!!
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco PMPS 122

Nice slide and recovery for Cindo today! Hopefully Sasha's barf was just an odd isolated incident, like most of them have from time to time. Grrrrr on your DFIL....I know far too many people like that, too, so I can totally relate to how fired up you can get over it. I don't understand why some people don't think animals deserve the same chance at health, treatment, and recovery that people do. Very sad indeed. Fortunately you are surrounded by a big group of LL beans who understand YOUR view on things! Have a great evening, Tricia!
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco PMPS 122

It's a Zener slide. :cool: :-D Time for a little dip in the lagoon, Cinco. That's sad about your DFIL, Tricia. I wonder if it has more to do with how he feels about his son taking care of cats. Mariko, that is very cool that your mom was so understanding about your care for Lucy. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco PMPS 122 +2 83

Thanks for visiting, Amy and Liz.

I think my DFIL is thinking of all the "trouble" it is for us to deal with Sasha's issues, and more than that, the expense. We haven't told them how much this is costing, but I'm sure he thinks it's too much. They never went to a lot of trouble over their animals. In fact, the first cat they had ate dry dog food most of it's early life, to supplement whatever it could catch. When she became incontinent in her old age, she was no longer allowed in the house. I never understood that. They cared about their animals, but they weren't part of the family.

It appears that the kitty that looks like Cinco has gotten "back on track"! 83 at +2 - could be an interesting night! I'm game! :mrgreen:

So far, Sasha has held her dinner down and seems to be feeling fine. :-D

DH and I are relaxing in front of the TV with adult beverages, and Cinco is stretched out on his scratching mat in front of the sofa. Hope everyone is enjoying their Caturday night!
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco PMPS 122 +2 83

Yes, Billie is joining Cinco in the lagoon this evening!! I hope they hop on their surf boards.

Sorry to hear that your FIL doesn't get it. That would make me livid. It is very clear that Sasha is happy to be here and so full of life! She is a very tough little lady. Sending tummy vines for her. Maybe it was just a random kitty throw up.
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco PMPS 122 +2 83 +4 42

Okay, Cinco. That's far enough!! Whew! I guess I asked for it! :mrgreen:

Thanks for the kind words about Sasha, Deanna. Sasha is a tough kitty, and the sweetest thing on the planet. Everyone at UCD just loved her, like everyone else that's ever come into contact with her. We'd do anything for her.
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco PMPS 122 +2 83 +4 42

Wow, Cinco. That was quite a quick slide. Time to come up a little and surf.

Tricia, I think it's a good idea to support Sasha with cerenia the first few days after chemo. Better to give a little that isn't needed than for her to be uncomfortable don't you think? Im glad the nausea seems to have subsided.
 
Re: 9/13 Cinco PMPS 122 +2 83 +4 42 +4.5 48

Not necessarily. Ondansetron is a good choice too. Sometimes verdins works better when vomiting. Ondansetron works well for Max. It's sort of a trial and error thing. I'd just use one or the other for a few days after each chemo and if she doesn't get relief then try the other. I just wouldn't skip it because she eats because once the nausea sets in it is harder to get rid of it.
 
Thanks. I guess I was just lulled into a false sense of security, since it took her till day 4 after treatment to get sick.

I just took her a snack, and after eating it happily she threw up again! Apparently she didn't feel ill, or she wouldn't have eaten. I gave her another 1/4 tablet of Ondansetron. The oncologist said to give her 1/2 every 12 hours. I'll start that tomorrow. I wonder how many days I need to continue giving it to her?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top