9/13 Chi Chi AMPS 310+2 235+4 89!+6 73+8 153 PMPS 253

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura&Chichi (GA)

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=125156

Good morning! Happy Caturday everyone! Another pink amps today. I dont think she dipped low last night, as she was 284 at pmps and +3 was 293, and at +6 she was 337.She does well during the am cycle, she hits greens and blue, and then goes up at pmps and clears the bounce by the next am cycle. She dropped about 200 points yesterday by +5 but didnt get below 157 by +7.5. I welcome any thoughts on this cuz I dont have a clue. I did give a fat 2.5 this am, so maybe that will be enough to see green today. Im off, so mom is getting her break today :smile:
 
Re: 9/13 Chi Chi AMPS 310

Depending on how quickly she dropped, even in the higher numbers, that can cause a bounce as well......

My understanding is anytime the cat's body has some sort of "shock" to it (whether it be going to lower numbers s/he is not used to or doing a pretty big drop) a bounce can occur....

Now Ms. Chi Chi, you are sooooooooooooooo close to the yellow zone...come on down and visit there for awhile and then slowly make your way down one more floor to the blue zone, k?
 
Re: 9/13 Chi Chi AMPS 310

Good morning, Laura! ~O)

I still think it's so fantastic that your mom is able to test; I bet she's glad you're the bean-in-charge today, though. ;-) You might want to take a look at Jenks' condo/ss. Right now, Jenks is going lower at night and staying higher during the day - the opposite of the trend you're seeing. Although ECID, it might be interesting to hear what others have to say about that situation. Maybe some of it could apply to Chi Chi, too???

Hopefully that extra fat will help level out the numbers!
Shelly
 
Re: 9/13 Chi Chi AMPS 310+2 235+4 89!

She has dropped 220 points in 4 hours. I didnt think a teeny increase from 2.5u to 2.5f.u would be effective so soon, and so much! I know 89 isnt that low, its just the size of her drops lately. Im sure we will see high pmps :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 9/13 Chi Chi AMPS 310+2 235+4 89!+4.75 70+5.25 83

Nice greens - sorry about the probably impending bounce. That lower +2 was a warning that ChiChi had something up her sleeve. Do you feed her at +2 or +3? I think if you are seeing that kind of large drop early, I'd add a little food to try to slow down the freefall. Maybe even higher LC.
 
Re: 9/13 Chi Chi AMPS 310+2 235+4 89!+4.75 70+5.25 83

Hi Laura,

In the fairly near past, Clare has had a similar pattern to Chi Chi's with more activity in the green zones during the day and bouncing at night. Also, it seems like we have a similar signature: use the same foods and glucometer. Clare is about 12 now, so our kitties' ages are close, too.

We just increased Clare's dose back to the 0.25 which had that pattern before, so maybe it will happen again. Since she's been on the lower 0.1 dose (which we had put her on because (a) we were away part of this past week and (b) she earned a reduction from a "fat" 0.25 last Saturday) her BG's have moved progressively higher and have also seemed to flatten out -- less bouncing. Unfortunately, I have no idea what that means! @-)

Just touching base, in case something occurs to one of us that can help the other.

Wishing Chi Chi some lower surfs and fewer bounces,

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 9/13 Chi Chi AMPS 310+2 235+4 89!+4.75 70+5.25 83+6 73+8

Thanks for the visits everyone! Yes Wendy, I feed her at +2.5 and +3.5 in the am( 1/4 can ff lc), and also 1/2 can ff lc at amps+5 and 1/4 can ff lc at pmps +3 usually, but it isn't always exactly those times, as mom is testing/feeding most days, and sometimes she will not feed if her numbers are high.She also gets her regular 1/2 can ff lc at amps and pmps, so a total of 2 1/4 cans a day. She weighs 15.45 lbs, so I hope I'm feeding her properly! Georgette, thanks for the info on Clare, and yes, they have quite a few similarities don't they! And I agree, sometimes I am confused too..well..most of the time really, when it comes to bouncing :? And Shelley, you have no idea how glad mom is that she gets a break when I'm home(although she wont admit it..she still offers to test :smile: ) and she was crying today because she thinks she is getting everything wrong with the feeding and testing..and I guess I'm to blame since I always have questions about her testing/feeding times and I don't mean to but I guess I make her feel inadequate sometimes unintentionally. Its very stressful on us both, and my goodness I don't know what I would do if she wasn't here to test when I'm at work, and I told her that today, and not to worry about getting everything just right...breaks my heart really..she is 79, and has health issues, CHF(congestive heart failure), and Afib(atrial fibrillation), and a few other issues. She gets out of breath so easy too. If everything was cut and dried with FD, it would be so much easier on us all wouldn't it!! But, alas, it is a dance, and the steps change alot..Hugs and scritches to all the beans here and I wish your kitties well. :smile:
 
Re: 9/13 Chi Chi AMPS 310+2 235+4 89!+4.75 70+5.25 83+6 73+8

Laura, to avoid the big drops I have tried feeding Max 9%early in the cycle and it seemed to be helping. I have drops at night more than days. A tiny increase and decrease have an effect on Max as well.
 
Re: 9/13 Chi Chi AMPS 310+2 235+4 89!+4.75 70+5.25 83+6 73+8

and she was crying today because she thinks she is getting everything wrong with the feeding and testing..and I guess I'm to blame since I always have questions about her testing/feeding times and I don't mean to but I guess I make her feel inadequate sometimes unintentionally. Its very stressful on us both, and my goodness I don't know what I would do if she wasn't here to test when I'm at work, and I told her that today, and not to worry about getting everything just right...breaks my heart really..

(((Laura)))

Do me a favor and give your mom a giant hug for me. She's doing a fantastic job and so are you. Which means you have to give yourself a hug, too. Unless a person has a diabetic cat, they just don't understand the stress that goes along with it. I'm ashamed to say now that my DH and I fought a lot before Jersey went into remission. We were both so exhausted, and we kept feeling like we were doing something wrong. The thing is....I don't think you can get everything just right. FD is simply too unpredictable. We can follow every "rule" in TR and sometimes that still doesn't work. I don't know why Jersey was one of the fortunate kitties to go into remission so quickly, but I really don't believe it's because of something we did "right." And I don't think Chi Chi hasn't gone into remission because you and your mom have done something "wrong."

Lots of lots of hugs! :YMHUG:
Shelly
 
Thank you Shelly, that means alot to me, and I will give mom a hug from you, and heres one for you too :YMHUG: I appreciate and admire you for continuing to post here and give such good advice to others, even after Jersey went otj. That says alot about you in my eyes. There are such great people on here, and I know I should be posting more in the condos,( :oops: ) I try when Im not so dead tired..which seems like all the time lately. It is an effort just posting in my own most days, as I know it must be for others that work all day too. I try to at least follow most condos, so when I do post I know something about whats going on. Thanks again dear..you made my day.. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top