Re: 9/13 Charlie amps 210
Good morning, Darin!
Shelly, thanks for then link. Seems like they started to have a good start on the idea then it fizzled out.
That's what I thought, too. There was another discussion that I had read about a similar idea. I tried to find it yesterday afternoon but couldn't. (It was a long time ago when I came across those threads.)
Jersey was definitely a bouncy cat, and I was extremely frustrated. It seemed like we had much better numbers on Humulin (even though I wouldn't shoot it regularly because I was scared of her diving when we weren't around). Once we switched to Lantus, we would hit a good number and then not see any again for days. I told DH I thought we had made a huge mistake going to Lantus and even told him we would switch to something else if we didn't see better numbers by March 21st, which was the beginning of my spring break. I don't think I ever told anyone here that. In the meantime, I scoured the site for anything that might help us with the bounces. That's when I came across the discussion I sent to you yesterday and a few others that I can't find now. It seemed like there was no strong evidence that getting the cat progressively used to lower numbers worked, and I abandoned the possibility of trying it. Perhaps someone has had success with that since then; I just don't know. I'm glad Jen shared her thoughts yesterday; she's been doing a lot of food manipulation to try to prevent the bouncing.
I don't know why I didn't make an insulin switch on my self-imposed deadline. Fate? A higher power? Laziness? (Probably the latter. :lol

It was that following week when we started to see consistently better numbers (i.e., greens); we finally found that magic dose that clicked. After that, it wasn't long before Jerz decided she was done. Things got a little crazy, as Julie said. ohmygod_smile
I know your situation with Charlie is different since he's a longer-term diabetic. In truth, we were extremely fortunate and Jersey ended up being an "easy" case. Due to a bad reaction I had to some dental work, we held the .50 units longer than we should have in February. We also skipped and reduced some shots due to my fear of a hypo while we were gone to work. If we would have adhered more closely to the TR protocol, I wonder if she wouldn't have gone into remission more quickly.
Anyway.....that's our story. I know it doesn't help you much with Charlie. I guess the point I'm trying to make is this - I absolutely know how frustrating the bounces are. I wish I had some wonderful words of wisdom to pass along about how to stop them. Since I don't, I'll just send lots of moral support. Hang in there! :YMHUG:
Shelly