9/13 Butters PMPS 119/+2 128/+5 76/+7 77/+9 83/

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday Overnight Butters visited the sharks, like so:
86 @+2
63 @+3 fed 2 tsp HC
76 @+3.5 fed 1 tsp HC
47 @+4 fed 2 tsp HC
77 @+5 fed 1 tsp HC...and then surfed for the rest of the night and eventually went to the beach @+10.

This morning, I shaved her dose by .125u. New dose is 1.625u (2.44mm measured with calipers for my syringe type). Also, I think I am still waiting to see the impact on her numbers from the BCS I did seven cycles ago. Or maybe I missed it?

Have a lovely day/evening, all.
 
Congrats on the reducie. The only thing I would have done differently was to not feed hc as soon as you did. Save it for under 50. I would have used lc or mc. The reduction would have been earned a little earlier in the cycle. We’re you trying to avoid a reduction?
 
Congrats on the reducie. The only thing I would have done differently was to not feed hc as soon as you did. Save it for under 50. I would have used lc or mc. The reduction would have been earned a little earlier in the cycle. We’re you trying to avoid a reduction?
Not avoid it but I wanted her to really earn it. I'm on somewhat of a 3x below 50 plan and shaved reductions. Otherwise, she doesn't hold reductions well. @Sue and Luci and I had some discussion about this in a condo recently, too. @Wendy&Neko also weighed in.

Butters has finally been getting mainly green numbers lately and I'm pouring every ounce of energy I have into keeping her in greens. But I have been having to feed her curve with HC (21%) predominantly. Propping her up a lot to keep her from earning reductions, because I'm worried that reductions would send her straight back to higher numbers.

I don't know if there is a better way for her.
 
Very interesting that she needs hc. I also had to use 3 times under 50 starting around 7 months and shaved doses as well I just didn’t use hc. What % is your hc? It’s working as she looks great!
I'm using 20% and 21%. My MC is 13%-15%.

Today I'm starting with a 10% LC and seeing if that makes any difference...maybe she won't drop as fast.
 
There comes a point, when a cat's body seems to get it - and the last 5 days are sure different than the rest of that spreadsheet.:cool: When that happens, the healing is happening. The other thing that can go with that (time will tell), is some quicker changes in doses needed. That means you can get in a situation of an overfull depot if reductions are not taken when earned or if you fight really hard to prevent reductions. Since Butters is still a relatively newly diagnosed cat, her chances for healing are good. For safety's sake, you should not combine the technique of 3 times under 50 plus just shaving the dose when a reduction is earn. Pick one or the other.
 
Last edited:
There comes a point, when a cat's body seems to get it - and the last 5 days are sure different than the rest of that spreadsheet.:cool: When that happens, the healing is happening. The other thing that can go with that (time will tell), is some quicker changes in doses needed. That means you can get in a situation of an overfull depot if reductions are not taken when earned or if you fight really hard to prevent reductions. Since Butters is still a relatively newly diagnosed cat, her chances for healing are good. For safety's sake, you should not combine the technique of 3 times under 50 plus just shaving the dose when a reduction is earn. Pick on or the other.
I misunderstood/misread from my previous condo that it was 3x under 50 OR shaving the dose when a reduction is earned. I will go with shaving the dose when a reduction is earned from a one time drop under 50. Thanks for clarifying that for me.
 
You are right, maybe I wasn't clear, it is 3 times between 40 and 50 and a full 0.25 unit reduction or once under and a shaved dose. This is also for any lurkers, who might not go back and read your previous posts.
 
You are right, maybe I wasn't clear, it is 3 times between 40 and 50 and a full 0.25 unit reduction or once under and a shaved dose. This is also for any lurkers, who might not go back and read your previous posts.
I didn't mean to imply you were unclear.:) I misinterpreted! I hope she'll do better with the shaved reductions.

Normally Butters starts diving lower around +4.5 - +5, but she's been surfing in the 80s thusfar through +5. Maybe giving her the higher carb LC today is helping...or maybe the BCS is finally coming home to roost. lol. Regardless, I'm still not leaving the house today.
I had no idea I would be this good at being a helicopter parent.
 
Last edited:
higher carb LC

She's looking terrific...and for what it's worth to you and those who are watching this miracle unfold, 13-15% is considered Medium Carb.

So when I suggest a bit of MC along with a spoonful of LC that's what I'm referring to...just since we're clarifying thing today.

You and Butters are doing a bang up job here!

I know it's tiring at this point...but I commend you for sacrificing your weekends - and from the sound of it your weekdays AND your staycation too...to get her numbers really looking great.

It's not always fun, but the payoff can be your reward...it's just gonna take a lot of hovering and some sleepless nights. If you get too exhausted you can always reduce and feed her some higher carb food. Caregivers can get burned out too.
 
So mc was given rather than hc. That makes more sense to me. Sometimes a little higher carbs but not as high as hc allows for a nice surf.
I was having to give HC 21% to get her to surf. Occasionally, I would use the odd tsp of MC but it was mostly HC.

ETA: I'm referring to yesterday's cycles being more HC heavy. Previous cycles I did use more of a mix of MC and HC to get her to surf.
 
Back
Top