9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +4 29 +4.50 65 +5.25 OTJ trial PMBG 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

jucova30

Member Since 2014
Oh Boy, Here we are one more time, but this time I am freaking out
AMPS 122
+5 29

Gave him 2 drops of karo + HC food. When should I call the vet?
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 120 +5 29

How long now since you gave him the Karo? Retest 15 to 20 minutes from there. Is he acting okay? Any signs of hypo?
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +5 29

It has been 15 minutes, getting ready to test, He was depth sleeping, when I woke him up, I noticed because his pink nose was very light pink.
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +5 29

Shelly's given you good advice.

please don't shoot any insulin tonight. if he got to 29 on one drop, even with his higher numbers, he may be ready for an otj trial. i'll get back to you.
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +5 29

Fantastic! Remember, we're looking for two consecutive tests now that are flat or rising - and that aren't being influenced by food. I would test again in 20 minutes.

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +5 29 +5.50 62

Thanks, Shelly, He is acting normal now, but early he was a bit week in his back legs
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +5 29 +5.50 62

I'm so glad he responded so well to the Karo. Are you going to be able to be home today to keep testing? That was a scary low number! :shock: I'm so glad you caught it!
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +5 29 +5.50 62

Shelly & Jersey said:
I'm so glad he responded so well to the Karo. Are you going to be able to be home today to keep testing? That was a scary low number! :shock: I'm so glad you caught it!
Yes I will be at home, my schedule during weekends is around Bobby's BG schedule, Yes indeed that was a very scary #, that made me wonder, during week day when I am not at home and no one is monitoring him how low he was getting.
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +5 29 +5.50 62

I know exactly what you mean - I wondered that with Jersey, too. It's amazing what just a tenth of a unit can do to the numbers when the pancreas finally kicks back into gear.

I'm guessing you won't have to worry much longer; I see an OTJ trial in the near future. :mrgreen:

Are you going to be okay? I'm supposed to go to lunch at the in-laws in about 30 minutes, but I can stay if you need me to. It won't be a problem at all.
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +5 29 +5.50 62

Shelly & Jersey said:
I know exactly what you mean - I wondered that with Jersey, too. It's amazing what just a tenth of a unit can do to the numbers when the pancreas finally kicks back into gear.

I'm guessing you won't have to worry much longer; I see an OTJ trial in the near future. :mrgreen:

Are you going to be okay? I'm supposed to go to lunch at the in-laws in about 30 minutes, but I can stay if you need me to. It won't be a problem at all.

Thank you so much Selly, I think we are going to be Ok
+ 6.25 75

Have a great time!
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +5 29 +5.50 62

Okay. If you run into trouble, you know what to do (911).

It's a b-day celebration for DH, so I am anticipating cake. That's always a good time in my book. :lol:

I'll check back in later to see how things went. Good job this morning!
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +5 29 +5.50 62

Shelly & Jersey said:
Okay. If you run into trouble, you know what to do (911).

It's a b-day celebration for DH, so I am anticipating cake. That's always a good time in my book. :lol:

I'll check back in later to see how things went. Good job this morning!

Enjoy your day!

Judy and Bobby :-D
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +5 29 +5.50 62

nice job handling that 29, judy! and yay for all the help from Shelly! she's an angel!

Dyana, Wendy & I all think it's time for a trial for Bobby. :mrgreen: Here's the directions - i think you should ignore the "start on a green preshot" because he went so low today. Just go for it and let's see how he does.

Start the trial on his next green preshot. (ignore for Bobby's circumstances)

If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck!

If he gets through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic, but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low-carb food and small meals for the rest of his life. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood sugar weekly for the next few months and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him monthly. His weight should remain stable. If he seems "off" or sick, or is showing symptoms of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss) test his blood sugar right away. Keep the teeth clean; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission.

If you see rising blood sugar numbers, post here before you restart insulin and ask for advice on how to proceed.

Congrats! We're cheering mr bobby on!
woot.gif
woot.gif
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +5 29 +5.50 62

Yahoo! We've got another trial going. :mrgreen: Good job catching that 29 today. :shock: Bobby looks like he is so DONE with insulin.
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +5 29 +5.50 62

Just got back - so glad to hear about the OTJ trial! :mrgreen:

When I got home, I realized I probably sounded heartless in my earlier post - "Oh, DH's b-day celebration. It's no big deal if I skip it." ohmygod_smile His b-day is actually on Thursday, and we have three b-day celebrations coming up with his family in the next few days because not everyone can get together at once. Quite the logistical nightmare....Anyway, today was just a quick lunch....with cake! Yum.

Hope Bobby is still surfin' safely!
Shelly
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +5 29 +5.50 62

cake. mmmmm. i wish i had cake. :sad:

perhaps i'll need to make a little trip to the local bakery today. i can say it's to celebrate Bobby's graduation from insulin - well at least his trial to see if he's graduated! :-D
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +4 29 +4.50 65 +5.25 75 +8 70

Thank you so much to all of you who help us to get this far, we couldn't make it if it wasn't for all of you. You are God's helpers, my family and I are deeply thankful.
I did some corrections in the times, I just checked the meter and I realize I did some mistakes in the times,
So are we starting the OTJ trial now? (I steel can't believe I am saying that)
@ Shelly and Julie, thank you so much for your help just to let you know today is my DH birthday and we decided not to go out because weekends day Bobby runs our schedule. I think he will be happy to know that we can go out to eat this evening or tomorrow without me freaking out to get home.
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +4 29 +4.50 65 +5.25 75 +8 70

Yep - you're officially starting the OTJ trial today. No shot for Bobby tonight! :mrgreen:

BTW - you'll have a new format for your daily posts now. Your title will read: 9/xx Bobby OTJ Trial Day X: AMBG # (Just insert the correct dates/numbers where needed.)

Congrats! We're so very excited for you!!!!
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +4 29 +4.50 65 +5.25 75 +8 70

Shelly & Jersey said:
Yep - you're officially starting the OTJ trial today. No shot for Bobby tonight! :mrgreen:

BTW - you'll have a new format for your daily posts now. Your title will read: 9/xx Bobby OTJ Trial Day X: AMBG # (Just insert the correct dates/numbers where needed.)

Congrats! We're so very excited for you!!!!
Thanks! we are so excited here too. dancing_cat
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +4 29 +4.50 65 +5.25 75 +8 70

julie & punkin (ga) said:
what a nice birthday present for DH!
Yes he is thrilled too. No cake here (we didn't have plans) but we may go out tonight to celebrate! drinking24
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +4 29 +4.50 65 +5.25 OTJ trial PMBG

And a green bg number to start the trial - that's even more to celebrate! :mrgreen:

Be sure to wish DH a happy birthday from us. Hope you enjoy your night out!
 
Re: 9/13 Bobby AMPS 122 +4 29 +4.50 65 +5.25 OTJ trial PMBG

Thank you Shelly, you are so kind, Yes we are waiting for the game to be over, so we can go to celebrate!. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top