9/12 SHakespeare - HAPPY DANCE!

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
Ok folks, so over the weekend I was thinking too much insulin,
he had a 359 last night so I reduced and shot a 2.9 (fat 2.8)
last night at 2am he wakes me taklin away (hasnt done that in awhile)
so I get up and there was no food so I fed him took his blood and he was 224.
ok not bad since he was drinkin and eatin like crazy last night!
woke up this morning to a 241amps!! :o
yes!!! :mrgreen:

SOOO , unsure what the hell to shoot since I am thinkin he is changin and I wont be home :sad:
today I shot a 2.4...I know...I was thinkin it might be too much of a decrease but
I dont want him to rebound again....I know he didnt have the usual rebound signs
but ECID!

so hopefully everyone else is having a good day outh there
Denise and Shakes
 
I hate to face decisions like that when no one is going to be home. Glad he got a bettter AMPS today and hope you're on the right track! Someone needs to get some good results!
 
Thank you Sue and Carl for challenging me last night and
making me think about why I should lower the dose...

so his +5 (yes I ran home and checkd at +5 was 182)
Unfortunatley I was one hour late coming home today
so his pmps was 313....doesnt that figure
I shot 2.8 and we shall see what happens tonight!

Thanks as always guys for all the support!
 
Denise,
I'm just glad you folowed your gut after careful consideration and didn't follow my advice! Of course, I didn't really understand the whole +8 nadir thing when I posted that I'd hold with 3.1, and after you explained that to me, I now can follow your logic. What it appears you concluded is that Shakes is pretty much telling you he's too low by demanding more food, which leads you to the assumption (and I think you're right) that he was going too low during parts of the cycle that you had not been testing. He's telling you the only way he knows how "hey Mom, need a little sugar boost here, how 'bout some fudz????"
A perfect example of how nobody knows their kitty like Mom or Dad does. Looking at spreadsheets is a good thing, because there are patterns in numbers and you can eventually make logical sense out of the jumble. But actually being there with your kitty, and understanding and seeing how they act and feel during each day is a million times more reliable than numbers on a piece of paper.
Excellent call Denise. We can ask for a give advice, and that's what makes this place so awesome, but I think it always comes down to following your gut. You just have to trust what it tells you. It looks like you've reached that point!

Go Shakes!
Carl
 
I'm confused though - the numbers are worse...? Yes the PS is lower, but IMO what you are looking for with a dose reduction trial is that they drop to a green nadir. Sometimes with Bix I would see a flattish cycle, and then if I skinnied down the dose, the next cycle he would hit a 50 nadir. So that made me think the slightly higher dose was something he was resisting, b/c his body thought it might put him too low. I'm not 100% sure in hindsight that that interpretation is even correct, could be just variation from cycle to cycle and I read too much into the dose factor.

I get confused though whenever someone tries a dose reduction and the nadirs don't improve, but then there is sentiment on the board that it's improvement. To me, the dose pullback should result in an almost immediate and significant improvement in nadirs and hopefully PSs also (though lack of duration can trump other factors and still leave you with higher PSs).

Don't mean to rain on your parade, I just want to be sure he is getting enough insulin. If it were me from what I see in the data, I would be raising the dose back up. The PSs aren't high enough that I would be focused on that as the issue. Yes if you are getting red and black PSs all the time and steep drops you might need to pull back the dose. But with pinks, I lean more to lack of duration as the culprit than any serious rebound. Could be a little bounciness there, it's certainly possible, but it seems mild if that's what it is.

If it's liver training then the quickest way through it is to keep them in greens and low blues as long as possible til it settles down. If it's actual Somogyi rebound and the drops are steeper than he tolerates well, then I'd be looking at a longer-acting insulin. My approach in theory would be to try to get some extended blues/greens through some long weekends of early shooting or whatnot, and see if that settles the PSs down.
 
Joanna,
I don't think I'd say the numbers are worse.... they might not be a whole lot better, but, she got a lower AMPS and PMPS, and the morning cycle nadir (well +4 vs +5 is a wash), and the pm cycle, she got a lower number at +4 today than yesterday, right? The percentage drop tonight was a better percentage drop than last night.
I'd like it better if the doses were all consistent though. If you dose-hop, it's hard to figure out what is and what isn't working.
I guess I'd ask, with respect to what you posted... would you hope to see the immediate improvement, well, imeediatately? I mean like that day? Does it take a couple three days for kitty to adjust to the new dose? I don't know. That's why I'm asking.

Carl
 
I have found that with Shakes, I need to base a lot off of food.
THe last 2 weeks he was not feelin well
not as active, he was eating way too much and starting to pee more....
NOW I know you are going to say not enough insulin...
BUT wait! because I know he was in the greens and his body was dumping sugar to get
him higher, he was eating more and drinking due to the sugar dumpage
Now that I reduced, he is more active, happy and his eating is not as urgent.
I shot up 2.8 last night and will hold there for awhile.
Shakes does not do well moving around alot, so unless I think I should reduce I will hold ...

this is great that we are making each other think and analyze..

thanks
 
carlinsc said:
would you hope to see the immediate improvement, well, imeediatately? I mean like that day? Does it take a couple three days for kitty to adjust to the new dose? I don't know. That's why I'm asking.

It probably depends :mrgreen: When I saw it with Bix, it was immediate, like the 1st cycle that I tried the lowered dose. I'm not a fan of "adjusting" to a dose, but then I never used ProZinc, and maybe it's something kind of specific to ProZinc. Generally a lowered dose is going to lose momentum over 2 or 3 cycles, so if the dose was too high, I guess depending on how much it was too high perhaps you would see the results on the 2nd day as it gets a little less momentum and then that's where their body likes it.

Denise if his symptoms are better, that is really important. I really think symptoms trump the numbers. With Bix a lot of times I would see his symptoms getting worse before I saw it reflected in higher numbers. It puzzled me (wouldn't it be the other way around?), but it was pretty clearcut, so go figure. If Shakes is feeling better, that is awesome.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top