9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental, +10 306, PMPS 285, +4 227 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental, +10 306, PMPS 285, +4 227

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=52028

Good Morning, Everyone,

Rusty has a good number this morning. Too bad we won't be able to build on it!! But today is dental day, so no shot this morning. He hasn't had any food since 8 P.M. last night and is bewildered this morning, even though I explained it all to him. We are leaving in 15 minutes. Fingers and paws crossed that everything will go smoothly and that Rusty won't have to have another extraction (no dental x ray machines at our vet, or at the other vets in the area). The vet is going to x ray his bladder to see if there is a stone, and I will talk to her about the crystals in his urine and what to do about them.

Back later. Thanks for all the good wishes,

Ella & Rusty

Hey Kitties: Full Harvest Moon party tonight in my barn. All kitties invited. I may not be able to eat easily, but I'll sure try. The grill is all ready. See you tonight.
Rusty
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Sending good vetty vines and keeping Rusty in our thoughts. Hope the dental goes well and routine and he's home in no time feeling good.

Keep us updated when you can.
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Hi Ella, sending lots of good dental Vetty vines to Rusty and you. And also some calming vine for you, as I know we all worry with the dentals, but it sounds like Rusty is in good hands.

Rusty, be brave and all will be okay. Mannie driving the KTSS will gather everyone up and we all will be coming to visit when you return home. Lots of soft fuds, chicken soups, massages, you name it. Love ya, Maggie
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Sending good dental Vines to Rusty! Poor baby, doesn't really understand that he can't eat yet...Good thing you don't have other fur babies at home because they may be a muteny!
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Good luck with the dental and the bladder x-ray today. We'll be thinking about you!!!

Amy
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Sending healing vines and good thoughts your way for the dental and xrays!

Hey Rusty! Yuck on the vetty. We will have to party it up tonight and get all that icky vetty smell off of you. - Tarragon
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Hoping all goes well today - I m sure it will. Good dental vines for Rusty!

Rusty!!! KTSS is all ready - we will fix you up in no time... Party menu is all planned, w have a very special one tonight. What fun to be had! See you later , and don't worry about the vetty! You will be just fine. Remember - tell them you want to keep your chompers!! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Hi guys .. good luck at the dentist today rusty! I'll be hoping for no extractions for you guys and answers to your crystal question ..
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Hoping for a good outcome with the dentist! I know that Rusty will be famished when you folks get home. :lol: His # is looking great, though! Have a good day, guys! :-D
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Good luck at the dental today. Paws crossed and tons of good vetty vines.

Rusty, KTSS will be waiting on the porches for your arrival home. My dessert tonight is a mousse and melt in your mouth thin Moon Wafers so you don't need to worry. And I think Willie said something about Liver Smoothies! -- Tess
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Hope all goes well with the dental today (and the bladder).

Rusty - Mannie gonna picks me up so I be dere wit da ktss when you gets homes! Twy notta be too scared, kay? Lubs, Muffin
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Hoping to hear good news about the dental soon.

((Rusty))

Claudia
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

I hope Rusty's dental goes smoothly and no toofies have to be pulled. I had to laugh at the :
Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
He hasn't had any food since 8 P.M. last night and is bewildered this morning, even though I explained it all to him
poor Rusty.

Rusty!!!! You had to see the dentist?!?!? I have to go soon, and i want to know were you scared? Did it hurt? Did your momma bean get to hold your hand? Was the vet mean? Did you bite the vet? OMG i have soooo many questions, i'll see you later ok? Leo
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Great start for Rusty... I'm sure he'll be back on track in no time, with pretty dental numbers to boot! Fingers and paws crossed and healing vines sent!!

Yup, Miss Tess iz rite! I'z got libber smoothies all mixed up for u! And a pate for tonite! No way we let our frien not enjoy de partee!! See ya soon! --Willie
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Sending Easy dental vines & Prayers to our friend Rusty & hope he gets a clean bill of health at the vet today!! Hope you hear from vetty soon! BIG HUGS & LUBS FROM US!!!!

Rusty hope your toofies are all good & will be shiny clean after vetty today--waiting to hear you are Ok & we are off to bring you chicken soups to eat--LUBS You Rusty! from Moonie
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Hi again,
The vet's office called and everything went well. No extractions! We'll pick him up in an hour. More info. then. Thank you all so much for your support. And, kitties, I just know how much Rusty will enjoy those "dental-friendly" party foods tonight!

Ella
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi again,
The vet's office called and everything went well. No extractions! We'll pick him up in an hour. More info. then. Thank you all so much for your support. And, kitties, I just know how much Rusty will enjoy those "dental-friendly" party foods tonight!

Ella

Fantastic news! I will look forward to the full update.
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Sorry I wasn't up today for the big send off....thus I sent my wishes last night but we're all so happy to hear it all went well!!! YAY RUSTY! Will be anxious to get the xrayed bladder report, too.

Rusty, my friend, I made you some cranberry cooltinis to refresh your sore mouth. And Tobey is ready for the massage with special oils to get rid of the vetty smell. And KTSS!! And a party!!!!
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Hi Ella!

Glad to hear that Rusty's dental went well. I know the waiting can be nerve wracking. Sending speedy recovery vines his way.

Hope you are doing well. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today

Yay for good dental!!!!!! Will be watching for full report......


See ya at the full moon party.....glad you got to keep all your toofus.....I got some nice smelling powder that will help get that icky vetty smell off.....see ya later, Rusty!
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today, +10 306, PMPS 285

Hi Everyone,
Rusty's dental went very well (he only has 6 teeth!). The new vet got all the tarter off and sent us home with a mouth rinse (Dentahex Oral Rinse) to help heal the gingivitis. As far as I can tell from the description of the procedure, the vet used the appropriate pre-anesthesia sedation and anesthesia (as per Sienne's dental list), and Rusty had an IV catheter and IV fluids. He did not need post-procedure antibiotics, nor did he need pain meds.

The x ray of his bladder/abdominal cavity showed no stones. All the organs looked good. She thinks he is in good shape for a cat of his age (and one that has diabetes to boot). We discussed the struvite crystals in his urine and she is not concerned about them at this time, since he is right in the middle of the PH scale. She doesn't think his diet should be tinkered with for crystals. I asked about the "lowish high" (16.0 g/dL) HGB (hemoglobin) and she thinks that he may have been a bit dehydrated when the blood was drawn. She said that since his white blood cells were not elevated, there isn't evidence of infection. (If I am not stating all of this entirely accurately, it's because it is from memory.)

So that's where we are now. I am very happy with this vet and with the answers she gave me (I had looked up a lot of what we talked about and her explanations were consistent with what I had read). We'll do another wellness panel in 6 months.

So now on to more fun things: the Full Harvest Moon Party!!

Ella

Hi Kitties: thanks for thinking of me today. I sure need KTSS for vetty smell. And those teeth-friendly foods sound so good (I am SO HUNGRY still!) The moon is just coming up through the trees. See you all soon!
Rusty
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today, +10 306, PMPS 285

punkin and anya say they are waiting for the Kitty Express to pick them up and are quite excited about the Full Moon Partay! punkin says he'll lick off any vetty smells with his giant old tongue! see ya soon!
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today, +10 306, PMPS 285

What a great report from the vet so happy all went well with the dental and the report for urinary issues sounds like Rusty is doing very well :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/12 Rusty AMBG 121. Dental today, +10 306, PMPS 285

What a relief to hear that the dental went well and glad to hear that you are pleased with the new vet. Hope Rusty has a good night!
 
Hooray for a good report, and a good vet. I am glad you are pleased with her. that is alwyas a good thing!

ouch on the numbers, but they will come down. I so dread Mannie's dental on the 20th. omg - last dental we hit black. It was not pretty...
 
Ni Ni everyone. we are tired!! Rusty is OK. He's eating his FF T&G bedtime snack now (watered down, as always) and then going back to the party. He reeks of vetty smell and we are happy the KTSS is here. He actually drank out of both water bowls and the fountain this evening (I almost never see him drinking). Numbers not bad, considering!

Chef Mannie has prepared much of the same menu that he and Chef Stu made last year for the Full Harvest Moon party. That is so special. I know that Stu is cooking the same menu at the Bridge for all of our GAs. Moonie is getting the Kitty Chorus ready to perform their favorite songs. A wonderful evening is in store. The full moon is brilliant here tonight.

Party on, Kitties!

Thanks to everyone for sending those good dental vines today,

Ella
 
Probably last, but not least. Gus and I are happy to hear of Rusty's successful dental. I really believe that it's harder on us than the kitties.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top