9/12 River PMPS:112 +3:77 +4:65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Picknickchick

Member Since 2013
Previous condo

He's doing really well these days, spending more time in the beautiful colours, bouncing lower and less often, and feeling fabucatastic. What a difference from the cat who 3 weeks ago wasn't able to walk more than a few wobbly steps before having to rest. He's so happy to be feeling better that he's sleeping with his paw wrapped around me all night, his cheek resting on mine. As I'm typing this he's lying across my wrist and purring...
 
Re: 9/12 River AMPS:176 +2.5:119 +4:90

Aw, kitty snuggles. What an adorable description. I'm glad River is feeling better - he sure didn't waste any time getting into those good numbers. How are YOU doing - not too worried about the lower numbers in view of how great he's feeling, I hope?
 
Re: 9/12 River AMPS:176 +2.5:119 +4:90

Beautiful numbers, and beautiful description of your fur baby and how he is doing! I hope you have a great day :-D
 
Re: 9/12 River AMPS:176 +2.5:119 +4:90

Hey, thanks fellow Canadians.

Amy, I'm not so nervous now that he's not doing big nosedives, from 419 to 49 in a day. (Wishing you the same.)
Raeifo, I see you're using some Astro's supplements for CKD. How are finding these?
I was considering getting some Astro's powder before my cat was diagnosed, because I thought he might have CKD.
 
Re: 9/12 River AMPS:176 +2.5:119 +4:90

What a great whole cat report! River's SS is looking so much better too. It's amazing how much more we can relax and enjoy life when our kitties are feeling better too. :-D

I've been meaning to ask, what is River getting bupe for?
 
Re: 9/12 River AMPS:176 +2.5:119 +4:90

Hi again:) I'm using the Astros oil and the Astros scrub right now (the scrub is supposed to be given with a probiotic but I haven't added one yet, I tried yogurt but think it raised BG so stopped). I started both of them after her last bloodtests, so I'm not sure if either are doing anything. I do have the powder but since she is still on a higher protein food and eating well I haven't been using it yet. The oil is supposed to be good for all animals (it has EPA/DHA/CoQ10/vit E in it) and has "optimal" concentrations for CKD but we will see I guess. It certainly hasn't hurt her any as far as I can tell! We are due for bloodwork right away, once I can figure out how to come up with the $$$ :o Nice +4! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/12 River AMPS:176 +2.5:119 +4:90

Thanks for letting me know, Rachel. I'm from Calgary, BTW, so I find it interesting of course, that you're in Northern AB :smile:
Best wishes for scraping up the cash for the bloodwork. It can get spendy, for sure.

And the +4...the +6 was even better.

Interestingly, I got a call from my vet, asking how my cat's doing. I told them great since I've been using the Tight Regulation Protocol, told them about it, and sent them links to the protocol, the FDMB, and my cat's spreadsheet. They were going, WOW, and another vet emailed me for more info. I asked them to read about this and let other pet owners know about it. After all, the people here are the lucky ones. We found this place. Many won't, and will go by what their vet says.
 
Re: 9/12 River AMPS:176 +2.5:119 +4:90

That's really good news about the vet. The one who started Papaya on Lantus was always very attentive to her spreadsheet and happy to get a printout about TR (he has now moved to another practice far out of town), but the older owner of the practice (who I try to avoid) wouldn't really look at the numbers enough to give an intelligent opinion. It's a real bonus if you have a vet who is open-minded enough to learn from people's experience here! And by sharing that info you're helping other diabetic cats that vet treats which is awesome too. :thumbup
 
Re: 9/12 River AMPS:176 +2.5:119 +4:90

That's great you were able to share the TR Protocol with your vet. I love hearing how well River is doing.

Thanks for the cute picture in Furball's condo.
 
Re: 9/12 River AMPS:176 +2.5:119 +4:90

I'm not sure if any of these vets are open-minded. They gave me some pretty bad advice.
But you are right: if they get encouraged by what's going on here, then we are doing something good for all kitty-kat kind.

Jules.jpg
 
Re: 9/12 River AMPS:176 +2.5:119 +4:90

Woohoo, River! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: At least the vet was asking for more info. That's really positive. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:101 - Stalling 30 mins

Time for more learning how to shoot low, oh boy! nailbite_smile
His PMPS is 101/5.6...clever little dude just edged it out of the green.
So I am going to wait 30 minutes and retest.

Question: Is this too low a number? Or should I inject?
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:101 - Stalling 30 mins

This is a second dip so SHOOOOOTTTTTTTT!!!!! :-D :-D :-D :-D

And then I'd suggest you get a +1 and +2 :-D :-D
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:101 - Stalling 30 mins

I hear and obey, oh Cat Queen!
Actually his 30 minutes later was 6.2, so I felt like he's at least willing to reason with me... ;-)
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:101 - Stalling 30 mins

I had to take a deep breath to shoot Furball's 103. I know if I test her I can keep her safe. We have to learn to shoot low numbers to keep our kitties in normal numbers and get them closer to OTJ. I also have learned I can bring Furball up quickly with HC food if she goes too low.

Good job shooting tonight. Marje is right, make sure you get a +1 and +2 as this will tell you where River is headed.
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:1112

I love your PMPS - 1112. :lol: Sorry to laugh at your typo, but laughing is good if you're nervous about shooting.
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:101 - Stalling 30 mins

Carla, what you've said is so true
carfurby said:
I know if I test her I can keep her safe. We have to learn to shoot low numbers to keep our kitties in normal numbers and get them closer to OTJ. I also have learned I can bring Furball up quickly with HC food if she goes too low.
It's like the first time off a high diving board. No matter how much you read about it, you can't gain any confidence till you actually do it.
And then you know it's going to be okay.

I'm wishing you and Furball a good night tonight!
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:1112

Ha ha ha, I wasn't aware of the 1,112. ohmygod_smile
I wonder if I got extra views because of it.
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:1112

I wanted to clarify my comment about taking a deep breath. I still get nervous about shooting lower numbers, but I know it's best for Furball if I do shoot and am able to keep an eye on her. I've learned how she reacts to HC and where she usually goes after her +1 and +2. As you shoot more lower numbers, you'll learn more and know you'll be able to handle it even if you are nervous. Remember, you can always post and ask for advice or even just support.

ETA: I think I just repeated myself. :lol:
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:112

I would definitely call that a RISING number :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I almost gave you your BOS award but I gotta see you shoot green first :mrgreen: ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:112

Marje, first of all I had to do a search on BOS, and the graphic explained everything. :shock:
But just as well I didn't get them, because in the extra-tight patience pants I'm wearing (I swear somebody put them in the dryer, it's not me),
I would have looked like Mick Jagger.
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:112

Couldn't resist! Great shooting tonight Lara. Surf safely River.
 

Attachments

  • jagger2.jpg
    jagger2.jpg
    24.6 KB · Views: 587
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:112

But just as well I didn't get them, because in the extra-tight patience pants I'm wearing (I swear somebody put them in the dryer, it's not me),
I would have looked like Mick Jagger.

OMG :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:112

Thank you Carla and Wendy and Marje.
Mommy's here, keeping him safe.
And you're all here, keeping me safe.
And I don't want to know how cats interpret "Sticky Fingers" :lol:
Especially given my patience pants, if you happen to remember the album cover.
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:112

WOOT WOOT!!!!
What a beautiful day for River!!!
I LOVE it!!!

And great shooting, Lara!!
River should be proud of his momma!
I hope he will surf safely tonight! :-D
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:112

Thank you ~ Mariko ~
I hope Lucy is feeling great today...I'll go visit.

I don't know what I'll do if River gets so well he goes into remission.
Maybe I'll take up knitting again.

catsweaters-ouch2.jpg
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:112 +3:77

And I don't want to know how cats interpret "Sticky Fingers" :lol:
Especially given my patience pants, if you happen to remember the album cover.
I think the image of "patience pants" just got a whole new look. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:112 +3:77

I've got another tab open with your posts. You're doing super-excellent, Missy! And with helping Laura too.

The first couple of times this is so scary. Then you learn by experience that this is very do-able, and living in those lovely blues and greens makes your cat so much more well, that this becomes a comfort zone.
 
Re: 9/12 River PMPS:112 +3:77

And I don't want to know how cats interpret "Sticky Fingers" :lol:
Especially given my patience pants, if you happen to remember the album cover.

LOL, I remember buying it when it first came out.
 

Attachments

  • the_rolling_stones-sticky_fingers(new).jpg
    the_rolling_stones-sticky_fingers(new).jpg
    18.5 KB · Views: 563
Glad to hear it! I am now going to zzz, thank you for staying up with me.
And for the rest of you who are continuing the PJ party...


eaa7fb8c6366ad2470f62a41727220d1.png
 
Love the profile and all your lovely kitties.

You will get up and check to make sure he's up after nadir? Right? ;-) ;-) ;-)

Sleep tight. Ni ni
 
Marje, I will indeed. I'm setting the alarm. Thank you for all your help! xo
Carl&Bob, this quote is from Amy, as she described how cats pick their BG levels.
 
I think Amy pretty much hit the nail on the head with that. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top