9/12 Obie Pm +9 85, Amps 337

Status
Not open for further replies.

Obie

Member Since 2014
Well, This makes a little sense now.
Obie Almost always shows higher numbers in the Am reading than the PM reading. Usually by about 100 points.
I don't believe he went too low last night since I gave him a small portion of his food while I was testing him.
I have no Idea what to do at this point but to keep giving him the same shot and hope his body gets used to lower numbers
 
Re: Obie amps 489 on the alphatrak 2 and 405 on the relion

As far as the ears go, most of us use neosporin w/ pain relive. Does wonders on my charlie.
 
Re: Obie amps 405, +7 379 Poor fellow is having a high day

Just purchased and used it.
Thank you. Obie thanks you too.
 
Re: Obie amps 405, +7 379 Poor fellow is having a high day

picgifs-welcome-2-566738.gif
to TR!!!!!


As for the meters, we are looking for trends and not necessarily EXACT numbers, so that is why the human meters works so well....and the strips are MUCH cheaper than for the AT...

Again, I would suggest when posting in here choosing either to post the human meter OR the AT numbers, but not both.....as long as your signature line says which one you are using, we will be able to tell the difference in the numbers. I think if you are using the AT, they suggest you make it a little bigger on your signature line, so it stands out more.....

As for our vets, they are so well meaning, but they do not have the time to be able to dedicate to FD like the people here do....the people here eat/sleep/dream FD 24/7/365....While it can be scary/weird to go against what the vet is saying, just remember, the peeps here have helped almost 300 kitties go OTJ.....

I am very lucky and blessed as my vet actually sent me to this site and said to go by what they say......

Hopefully Obie decides to make a trip the yellow floor soon!
 
Re: Obie amps 405, +7 379 Poor fellow is having a high day

I took the one link down. I only kept them both for shortcuts to my google docs.
Thank you!
 
Re: Obie amps 405, +7 379 Poor fellow is having a high day

it's good you're giving us the relion meter numbers. most of us use a human glucometer - they are entirely fine to use for cats. Yes, they read lower than pet-calibrated meters, but the TR Protocol guidelines take that into account. We ask those who are using pet meters to flag it big and bold for us so that the suggestions are appropriate for those meters.

If i were you, I'd stick with only the relion and only use the pet meter to do the minimum number of tests your vet wants to see.

what is the acarbose listed in your signature line?

Looking at his spreadsheet, i think you're off to a great start. You took the appropriate reduction when he hit 37, so that's great. You're likely right that he was diabetic for a while before you knew. Are you familiar with Bouncing? Obie's body is reacting because it looks like he's gotten used to being in high numbers. Take a look at the second post in that link to see an explanation of bouncing.

The best thing to do at this point is to try to make sure and get at least one test in the pm cycle every evening - they can be extraordinarily revealing. So many cats go lower at night, and since Lantus dose adjustments are based upon how low a cat gets with a particular dose, it becomes really important to know how low he's getting to in each cycle. I don't mean you have to stay up all night poking him, just grab a before bed test. Just like that sweet little 90 on the night of sept 5th. must be some sort of revenge that they give us their lowest numbers at night! :lol:
 
Re: Obie amps 405, +7 379 Poor fellow is having a high day

Thank you. :) The acarbose is a carb blocker. I don't really think he needs it being he only eats low carb wet food, by my vet put him on it.
I don't really believe that the Alpha Trak 2 is that much better than the human ones at all. If my vet wouldn't freak out I'd stop using it.
I am only going to test with the AT2 twice a day for my vet. Hell, I already poked him, so I may as well check the same poke.
I wish I would have bought the neosporin a long time ago. I think it's going to help a lot.
I wouldn't be surprised if he hit green tonight. I'm going to try and get him in the 4th hour after shot tonight. Also, when I got that 90 I woke up early at 3am and
fed him a tiny bit of food. I think that maybe helped him a lot that day he hit 37.
 
Re: 9/12 Obie Pmps +9 85, Amps 337

Not sure yet how this place works, but I edited the last post of mine for new readings and I guess I'm going to kick it this way
 
We actually start a new condo each day and link our previous day's condo in the current day's condo, if that makes sense....

Great +9! Most cats do tend to go lower at night....a bounce can occur not only with low numbers, but if a cat decides to cliff dive and has a really fast drop at any point in a cycle as well.....I haven't had a chance to look at Obie's spreadsheet in a couple of days, so not sure if that is the case or not....

Now Mr. Obie....come on out of the pink zone.....slide nicely into the yellows for your daddybean!
 
Gotcha! For now on I'll do that. Obie is a cat who was bred for animal testing, so he is a pretty big and healthy boy. He was a reserve kitten for a project and was never tested on. So I've been told.
I do know that he loves his carrier and just walks in it on his own, and he doesn't care much for Aerosol cans . So, who knows.
At least I know that he is spending some time in healthier zones. :)
 
great job catching that 85 - what's with Obie giving you all his low numbers at night? :lol:

actually, that's really common for cats to do that. it sure plays havoc with the sleep, but it's good to know how low he's going. Looks like he's having his lowest numbers at night and the day cycles are bouncing cycles.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top