Re: Obie amps 405, +7 379 Poor fellow is having a high day
it's good you're giving us the relion meter numbers. most of us use a human glucometer - they are entirely fine to use for cats. Yes, they read lower than pet-calibrated meters, but the TR Protocol guidelines take that into account. We ask those who are using pet meters to flag it big and bold for us so that the suggestions are appropriate for those meters.
If i were you, I'd stick with only the relion and only use the pet meter to do the minimum number of tests your vet wants to see.
what is the acarbose listed in your signature line?
Looking at his spreadsheet, i think you're off to a great start. You took the appropriate reduction when he hit 37, so that's great. You're likely right that he was diabetic for a while before you knew. Are you familiar with
Bouncing? Obie's body is reacting because it looks like he's gotten used to being in high numbers. Take a look at the second post in that link to see an explanation of bouncing.
The best thing to do at this point is to try to make sure and get at least one test in the pm cycle every evening - they can be extraordinarily revealing. So many cats go lower at night, and since Lantus dose adjustments are based upon how low a cat gets with a particular dose, it becomes really important to know how low he's getting to in each cycle. I don't mean you have to stay up all night poking him, just grab a before bed test. Just like that sweet little 90 on the night of sept 5th. must be some sort of revenge that they give us their lowest numbers at night! :lol: